29.5.–9.6.2024 Cologne, Düsseldorf and Mülheim an der Ruhr
DE / EN
Programme-PDF
Newsletter
Contact

Marga Alfeirão with Mariana Benengue, Myriam Lucas and Shaka Lion
LOUNGE

Two dancers, snug insdie a cocoon of light and fog. Pulsating sound. This erotically charged duet is fuelled by a delight in giving and taking, at times explicitly, at times tenderly, always with a shared vibe.

05.06., 21:00–21:50 Ticket Schedule 07.06., 22:00–22:50 Ticket Schedule 08.06., 20:30–21:20 Ticket Schedule

Language: none

Physical introduction
5.6., 20:00, with Ada Sternberg
8.6., 19:30, with Bettina Nampé
One hour before the performance begins, the audience is invited to tune in to the performance in a "physical introduction".
This takes place in cooperation with the Centre for Contemporary Dance at the Cologne University of Music and Dance. No registration or prior knowledge required.

Tickets for all Impulse events are also available from our ticket shop.

© Mayra Wallraf
© Mayra Wallraf
© Mayra Wallraf
© Mayra Wallraf
© Mayra Wallraf
© Mayra Wallraf

LOUNGE is a place where opposites – movement and rest, giving and receiving, the private and the public – meet and merge into a transitory space not ruled by frantic comings and goings but encounter and recovery. Marga Alfeirão, whose work has been greatly influenced by the dances and sounds of the African diaspora, understands relaxation – lounging – as a way of reclaiming female eroticism and in her “lesbian lap dance duet” has managed to create a choreography of hypnotic care and beauty.

“A sort of ode to the sexual relationship between people in its purest form, with no expectations, refined and reduced.” Richard Pettifer, tanzschreiber.de

Credits

Concept: Marga Alfeirão
Performance: Mariana Benengue, Myriam Lucas
Mixing: Shaka Lion
Scenography: Yoav Admoni
Costume Design: Nani Bazar
Light Design: Thais Nepomuceno, Jette Büchsenschütz
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Giulia Messia, email hidden; JavaScript is required

Production

A production by Marga Alfeirão in co-production with the Sophiensæle, Berlin.

Biography

Marga Alfeirão (Lisbon,1994) uses media to create safe spaces for the exploration of intimacy and sexuality through dance and performance. Heavily influenced by dance genres and sound textures from the African diaspora disseminated through Lisbon’s social fabric, she attempts an active claim of womanhood, making room for lesbian sensualities. In 2023 she premiered LOUNGE, a lesbian lap dance duet, at Tanztage in Sophiensæle (Berlin). Last year together with Camila Malenchini, she premiered ‘Wet Eyez’, a work on emotional bodies and fantasy. She has worked with choreographers Tamara Alegre, Antonja Livingstone, architect Afaina de Jong, among others. She is active in the Portuguese ballroom scene as a founding member of the Casa das Musas. In Berlin she started ‘COYOTE PRETTY UGLY’, a 4-member 10-minute act to perform at lesbian queer nights in the city. Having graduated with a BA in Dance and Choreography from HZT Berlin (2017–2021), she initiated ‘Lapdances to Ringtones and Lullabies’, a research project into erotics and rest. She is currently developing a new work on cheesiness, grief and queerness with Myriam Lucas, Mariana Benengue and herself working as dancers, the DJs Nidia and Shaka Lion and the writers Duygu Agal and Candice Nembhard.

29.5.–9.6.2024 Köln, Düsseldorf und Mülheim an der Ruhr
DE / EN
Programm-PDF
Newsletter
Kontakt

Marga Alfeirão mit Mariana Benengue, Myriam Lucas und Shaka Lion
LOUNGE

Zwei Tänzerinnen, geborgen in einem Kokon aus Licht und Nebel. Pulsierender Sound. Dieses erotisch aufgeladene Duett lebt von der Lust am Geben und Nehmen, mal explizit, mal zart, immer im gemeinsamen Vibe.

05.06., 21:00–21:50 Ticket Tagesprogramm 07.06., 22:00–22:50 Ticket Tagesprogramm 08.06., 20:30–21:20 Ticket Tagesprogramm

Sprache: keine Sprache

Bewegte Einführung
5.6., 20:00, mit Ada Sternberg
8.6., 19:30, mit Bettina Nampé
Eine Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn sind die Zuschauer*innen eingeladen, sich in einer „bewegten Einführung“ körperlich auf die Performance einzustimmen. Dieses niederschwellige Format findet in Kooperation mit den Master-Studiengängen „Tanzvermittlung“ und „Tanzwissenschaft“ des Zentrums für Zeitgenössischen Tanz der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln statt. Keine Anmeldung oder Vorkenntnisse erforderlich.

Tickets für alle Impulse-Veranstaltungen sind auch über unseren Ticketshop erhältlich.

© Mayra Wallraf
© Mayra Wallraf
© Mayra Wallraf
© Mayra Wallraf
© Mayra Wallraf
© Mayra Wallraf

In LOUNGE treffen sich Gegensätze – Bewegung und Ruhe, Geben und Nehmen, Privatheit und Öffentlichkeit – und vereinigen sich in einem Zwischenort, in dem kein hektisches Ein- und-Aus herrscht, sondern Raum ist für Begegnung und Erholung. Marga Alfeirão, deren Arbeit stark von den Tänzen und Sounds der afrikanischen Diaspora geprägt ist, denkt in ihrem „lesbian lap dance duet“ das Ausruhen – das Loungen – im Kontext weiblicher Selbstbestimmung und Erotik und schafft dabei eine Choreografie von hypnotischer Sorgfalt und Schönheit.

„Eine Art Ode an die sexuelle Beziehung der Menschen in ihrer reinsten Form, erwartungslos, verfeinert reduziert.“ Richard Pettifer, tanzschreiber.de

Credits

Konzept: Marga Alfeirão
Performance: Mariana Benengue, Myriam Lucas
Mixing: Shaka Lion
Szenografie: Yoav Admoni
Kostüme: Nani Bazar
Lichtdesign: Thais Nepomuceno, Jette Büchsenschütz

Produktion

Eine Produktion von Marga Alfeirão in Koproduktion mit Sophiensæle, Berlin.

Biografie

Marga Alfeirão, geboren 1994 in Lissabon, verwendet verschiedene Medien, um Safe Spaces für die Erkundung von Intimität und Sexualität durch Tanz und Performance zu schaffen. Stark beeinflusst von Tanz-Genres und Sound-Texturen aus der afrikanischen Diaspora in Lissabons sozialem Gefüge versucht sie eine aktive Behauptung von Weiblichkeit, die Raum für lesbische Sinnlichkeit schafft. LOUNGE hatte 2023 als lesbischer Lapdance bei den Tanztagen an den Sophiensælen in Berlin Premiere. Im vergangenen Jahr brachte Alfeirão gemeinsam mit Camila Malenchini „Wet Eyez“ zur Premiere, eine Arbeit über emotionale Körper und Fantasie. Sie hat u. a. mit den Choreografinnen Tamara Alegre und Antonija Livingstone und der Architektin Afaina de Jong zusammengearbeitet. Als Gründungsmitglied der Casa das Musas ist sie in der portugiesischen Ballroom-Szene aktiv. In Berlin hat sie „COYOTE PRETTY UGLY“ entwickelt, einen zehnminütigen Act für vier Personen, der bei lesbischen, queeren Abenden in der Stadt gezeigt wird. Als Absolventin des Bachelor-Programms für Tanz und Choreographie des HZT Berlin (2017–2021) hat sie „Lapdances to Ringtones and Lullabies“ initiiert, eine Forschung zu Erotik und Ruhe. Zurzeit entwickelt Alfeirão eine neue Arbeit zu Cheesiness, Trauer und Queerness mit Myriam Lucas, Mariana Benengue und sich selbst als Tänzerinnen, den DJs Nidia und Shaka Lion und den Schriftstellerinnen Duygu Ağal und Candice Nembhard.