Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Cologne and Mülheim an der Ruhr

13— 23 June 2019

White Limozeen

The history of opera is full of stories that deploy faraway places and foreign people as exotic sensations. Using Puccini’s opera ‘Madama Butterfly’ and their own personal experiences, a soprano and a percussionist lead us through the tense history of a genre that operates in between racism and a casting practice that has no interest in performers’ origins or ethnicities.

14.06.19 19:00 – 20:00 Tickets

SOLD OUT

Schedule
15.06.19 21:00 – 22:00 Tickets Schedule
16.06.19 18:00 – 19:00 Tickets Schedule

Botschaft am Worringer Platz
Language: German and English with translation into English and German

Special on 14.06. after the performance:
Audience discussion with the artists and Dr. Azadeh Sharifi, theatre scholar, Ludwig Maximilians University Munich / Postdoc project ‘(Post)migrant Theatre in German Theatre History — (Dis)Continuity of aesthetics and narratives’. Chaired by: Dr. Christian Esch, music theatre dramaturg and Director of the NRW KULTURsekretariat

© Philine Rinnert
© Philine Rinnert
© Philine Rinnert
© Philine Rinnert

‘Madama Butterfly’ received its world premiere in 1904 at La Scala, Milan. The piece tells the story of a young Japanese geisha who is married off to an American officer at the turn of the century. Soon after the wedding, he leaves her behind in Japan. Butterfly waits three years for him to return while being consumed with love for him. When he returns with his new American wife to take their son back to America with him, Butterfly takes her own life.

WHITE LIMOZEEN presents photos and film recordings of historical productions of the opera while the two performers reproduce Butterfly’s poses and perform Puccini’s arias. Here it becomes clear how much the performance tradition is dominated by clichés that turn the faraway into the foreign. This examination of ‘Madama Butterfly’ is a consistent theme in the production and the starting point for excursions into the history of classical music and the everyday routines of contemporary opera. The long tradition of black artists appearing on the world’s great stages meets their disappearance from the consciousness of opera history and the current fashion for “colour-blind” casting meets the performers’ experiences of racism. An evening of music theatre that analyses its genre unsparingly without any form of denunciation.

Credits

Concept and research: Johannes Müller, Philine Rinnert
Director: Johannes Müller
Design: Philine Rinnert
With: Sarai Cole (Soprano), Sabrina Ma (Percussion)
Contact for touring enquiries: contact[a]jm-pr.org

Production

Produced by BAM! — Berliner Festival für aktuelles Musiktheater. BAM! is an intiative of ZMB — Zeitgenössisches Musiktheater Berlin e.V., made possible by funding from the Hauptstadtkulturfonds, the Schering Stiftung and the Rudolf Augstein Stiftung.

Biographies

Johannes Müller studied Music Theatre Directing at the Hochschule für Musik “Hanns Eisler” in Berlin. Philine Rinnert studied Stage Design at the Universität der Künste Berlin. Since 2009 they have been creating hybrid forms of music theatre together that examine opera’s past, its effects and techniques while at the same time conducting an archaeology of the present, of entertainment and queer culture. Their projects combine classical music with contemporary discourse and archaeological or pop cultural artefacts. Their works include ‘Operation Spirituelle’ (2013), ‘Herculaneum’ (2014), ‘Reading Salomé’ (2015/16, winner of the Jury Prize at the Favoriten Festival), ‘Mean Greene Mother from outer space’ (2017) and ‘AIDS Follies’ (2018, in collaboration with the composer Genoël von Lilienstern).

Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Köln und Mülheim an der Ruhr

13.— 23. Juni 2019

White Limozeen


Die Operngeschichte ist voller Stücke, die das Ferne und Fremde als exotische Sensation verkaufen. Anhand der Puccini-Oper „Madama Butterfly“ und ihrer eigenen Biografien führen eine Sopranistin und eine Schlagzeugerin durch die spannungsreiche Geschichte eines Genres zwischen Rassismus und einer Besetzungspraxis, die sich nicht für Herkunft und Ethnie der Darsteller*innen interessiert.

14.06.19 19:00 – 20:00 Tickets

AUSVERKAUFT

Tagesprogramm
15.06.19 21:00 – 22:00 Tickets Tagesprogramm
16.06.19 18:00 – 19:00 Tickets Tagesprogramm

Botschaft am Worringer Platz
Sprache: Deutsch und Englisch mit englischer und deutscher Übersetzung

Extra:
14.06. im Anschluss an die Vorstellung Publikumsgespräch in deutscher Sprache mit den Künstler*innen und Dr. Azadeh Sharifi, Theaterwissenschaftlerin, Ludwig-Maximilians Universität München / DFG-Projekt „(Post)migrantisches Theater in der deutschen Theatergeschichte — (Dis)Kontinuität von Ästhetiken und Narrativen“. Moderation: Dr. Christian Esch, Musiktheater-Dramaturg und Direktor des NRW KULTURsekretariats

© Philine Rinnert
© Philine Rinnert
© Philine Rinnert
© Philine Rinnert

„Madama Butterfly“ wurde 1904 an der Mailänder Scala uraufgeführt. Das Stück erzählt die Geschichte einer jungen japanischen Geisha, die um die Jahrhundertwende mit einem amerikanischen Offizier verheiratet wird. Kurz nach der Hochzeit lässt er sie in Japan zurück. Drei Jahre wartet Butterfly auf seine Rückkehr und verzehrt sich nach seiner Liebe. Als er mit seiner neuen amerikanischen Ehefrau zurückkehrt, um den gemeinsamen Sohn nach Amerika zu bringen, nimmt sich Butterfly das Leben.

In WHITE LIMOZEEN sind Fotos und Filmaufnahmen aus historischen Inszenierungen des Stücks zu sehen, die beiden Darstellerinnen stellen Butterflys Posen nach und interpretieren Puccinis Arien. Dabei wird deutlich, wie sehr die Darstellungstradition von Klischees geprägt wird, durch die das Ferne überhaupt erst zum Fremden wird. Diese Auseinandersetzung mit „Madama Butterfly“ ist der rote Faden der Inszenierung und Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge in die Geschichte klassischer Musik und den Opernalltag der Gegenwart. Die lange Tradition schwarzer Künstler*innen auf den großen Bühnen dieser Welt trifft auf deren Verschwinden aus dem Bewusstsein der Operngeschichte, die heute gängige „farbenblinde“ Besetzung trifft auf Rassismuserfahrungen der beiden Darstellerinnen. Ein Musiktheaterabend, der sein Genre fern jeder Denunziation schonungslos seziert.

Credits

Konzept und Recherche: Johannes Müller, Philine Rinnert
Regie: Johannes Müller
Ausstattung: Philine Rinnert
Mit: Sarai Cole (Sopran), Sabrina Ma (Percussion)
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: contact[a]jm-pr.org

Production

Eine Produktion von BAM! — Berliner Festival für aktuelles Musiktheater. BAM! ist eine Initiative von ZMB — Zeitgenössisches Musiktheater Berlin e.V., realisiert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds, der Schering Stiftung und der Rudolf Augstein Stiftung.

Biographies

Johannes Müller studierte Musiktheaterregie an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ in Berlin. Philine Rinnert studierte Bühnenbild an der Universität der Künste Berlin. Seit 2009 entwickeln sie gemeinsam Musiktheaterhybride, die die Vergangenheit der Oper, ihre Wirkung und Techniken ins Visier nehmen und gleichzeitig eine Archäologie der Gegenwart sind, von Entertainment und Queer Culture. Die Projekte verbinden klassische Musik mit aktuellen Diskursen und archäologischen bzw. popkulturellen Artefakten. Zu ihren Arbeiten zählen „Operation Spirituelle“ (2013), „Herculaneum“ (2014), „Reading Salomé“ (2015/16, Jurypreis des Favoriten-Festivals), „Mean Greene Mother from outer space“ (2017) und „AIDS Follies“ (2018, in Kollaboration mit dem Komponisten Genoël von Lilienstern).