Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Cologne and Mülheim an der Ruhr

13— 23 June 2019

Natalie Ananda Assmann / Rana Farahani: SEX DRIVE – WHO OWNS THE STREET?!

14.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
15.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
16.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
19.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
20.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
21.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
22.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00

Close to tram stop “Ebertplatz”, exact address will be given upon registration.
Duration: 30 minutes
Language: German
Register through stadtprojekt[a]impulsefestival.de or +49 (0)211 87 67 87-18. Please leave a contact number for us to call you back.

23.06. 16:00–17:00 Artists‘ talk with experts
Bruch & Dallas, Ebertplatzpassage, tram stop “Ebertplatz”

Streetwalking in Cologne used to be most prevalent north of the main station. Around the turn of the millennium the centre of the city was declared off limits and a safe space for sex workers was established on the northern edge of the city in the middle of an industrial area. What had caused residents fear and concern disappeared from view — and along it an object of fascination. Natalie Ananda Assmann and Rana Farahani have traced what was repressed. They invite the public on a car journey from the former red light district to a range of locations and stories of sex work in Cologne. Get in and find out more about your fears and desires!

Concept, direction: Natalie Ananda Assmann; music, sounddesign: Rana Farahani; video design: Ian Purnell; performer: Nicole Schulze; assistance: Lisa Polster

© Robin Junicke
© Robin Junicke
© Robin Junicke

Natalie Ananda Assmann has worked as a freelance artist, director, performer, actor and cultural creator since 2006. Residencies in São Paulo, Tel Aviv and New York influenced her artistic approaches. Assmann works at the intersection of performative interventions, theatre in public spaces and activist strategies in art and culture. In recent years she has worked increasingly in queer-feminist collectives, focussing on a range of resistant artistic practices. Natalie Assmann became Co-Director of the festival Wienwoche earlier this year. She lives and works in Vienna.

Rana Farahani alias Fauna is a producer of avantgarde pop and club music and has been a fixture in the Viennese music scene for many years. Her dystopian- futuristic and at the same time highly personal tracks are informed by contemporary political arguments, impressions of the everyday and her identification as a technological self. She came to the field of electronic music quite late after classical piano and vocal training and uses it to experiment with her precise and multi-dimensional sound. Her musical activities have recently expanded into the areas of film, theatre, art and fashion. Fauna’s second studio album ‘Infernum’ was released in May 2018.

Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Köln und Mülheim an der Ruhr

13.— 23. Juni 2019

Natalie Ananda Assmann / Rana Farahani: SEX DRIVE – WEM GEHÖRT DIE STRASSE?!

14.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
15.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
16.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
19.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
20.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
21.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00
22.06. 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00

In der Nähe der Haltestelle „Ebertplatz“, Adresse wird nach Anmeldung bekannt gegeben. Dauer: ca. 30 Minuten
Sprache: Deutsch
Anmeldung unter stadtprojekt[a]impulsefestival.de oder +49 (0)211 87 67 87-18. Bitte geben Sie eine Rückrufnummer an.

23.06. 16:00-17:00 Künstlerinnengespräch mit Expert*innen
Ebertplatz, Brunnen in der Platzmitte, Haltestelle „Ebertplatz“

Früher befand sich nördlich vom Hauptbahnhof Kölns wichtigster Straßenstrich. Um die Jahrtausendwende erklärte die Stadt das Zentrum zum Sperrgebiet und richtete stattdessen ein geschütztes Gelände für Sexarbeiterinnen ein — am nördlichen Stadtrand, mitten im Industriegebiet. Was den Anwohner*innen Angst und Sorgen bereitete, verschwand aus ihrem Blickfeld — aber damit auch ein Faszinosum. Natalie Ananda Assmann und Rana Farahani sind den Spuren des Verdrängten gefolgt. Sie laden das Publikum zu einer Autofahrt ein, die vom alten Straßenstrich zu verschiedenen Orten und Geschichten der Kölner Sexarbeit führt. Steigen Sie ein und kommen Sie Ihren Ängsten und Ihrem Begehren auf die Schliche!

Konzept, Regie: Natalie Ananda Assmann; Musik, Sound: Rana Farahani

© Robin Junicke
© Robin Junicke

Natalie Ananda Assmann arbeitet seit 2006 als freischaffende Künstlerin, Regisseurin, Performerin, Schauspielerin und Kulturschaffende. Prägend für ihre künstlerischen Zugänge waren Aufenthalte in São Paulo, Tel Aviv und New York. Assmanns Arbeiten bewegen sich im Crossover von performativer Intervention, Theater im öffentlichen Raum und aktivistischen Ansätzen in Kunst und Kultur. In den letzten Jahren arbeitet sie vermehrt in queer-feministischen Kollektiven und legt ihren Fokus auf unterschiedliche künstlerische Praxen des Widerstands. Seit diesem Jahr ist Natalie Assmann Co-Leiterin des Festivals Wienwoche. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Wien.

Rana Farahani alias Fauna ist als Produzentin avantgardistischer Pop- und Clubmusik seit Jahren fester Bestandteil der Wiener Musikszene. Ihre dystopisch-futuristischen und gleichzeitig sehr persönlichen Tracks speisen sich aus zeitgenössisch-politischer Auseinandersetzung, Alltagseindrücken und der Identifikation als technologisches Selbst. Nach einer klassischen Klavier- und Gesangsausbildung fand sie erst spät ins Feld der Elektronik und experimentiert dort seither mit ihrem ebenso präzisen wie vielschichtigen Sound. So weitete sich ihre musikalische Arbeit zuletzt auch in die Bereiche Film, Theater, Kunst und Fashion aus. Faunas zweites Studioalbum „Infernum“ erschien im Mai 2018.