Impulse Theater Festival

Cologne, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4–14 June 2020

UNTERSCHEIDET EUCH!


People are different and that is quite normal. But what about the difference between rich and poor? Does it have to be this way? And is it fair? An interactive game based around the question of who or what determines which paths remain open to children and which do not.

Tanzfaktur, Halle
Language: German
For children aged between 9 and 14 and adults

© Christian Brachwitz
© Christian Brachwitz
© Christian Brachwitz

In the audience there are people with stripes, flowers and writing on their clothes. „I can’t make out any order!“ shouts one of the actors. Or do people get categorised anyway? Turbo Pascal play out social order together with the public and try to create disorder. The young members of the audience can choose which heading they feel happiest under — the shy kids, the cool kids, the football fans or the horse fans.

But is it also acceptable to separate rich and poor? And when is someone poor, or someone rich, or someone in the middle? Is someone who lives in a house with its own garden on the fringes of the city rich? Or only if they own five million Euro worth of shares? How does someone become poor, how does someone become rich? Does it depend on how much work someone does? Or was it already decided right from the start? And how did the people who appear here actually get involved in the theatre? One drew out theatre fans in the parental lottery, another tells us that, for his parents, money did not matter — he simply had to choose a profession he enjoyed. And a third had parents who owned very few books. Not all people have the same starting conditions, the same chances. And if you don’t recognise the differences, then you won’t be able to change them.

Winner of the IKARUS Theatre Prize 2019 awarded by the JugendKulturService Berlin.

Credits

Performers: Friedrich Greiling, Hanni Lorenz, Wolfgang Boos and alternating: Eva Plischke, Angela Löer, Frank Oberhäußer
Direction: Turbo Pascal
Stage Design, Costumes: Janina Janke
Music: Friedrich Greiling
Dramaturgy: Karola Marsch
Assistant Director, Stage Manager, Prompter: Melina Archipoff
Stage Technician: Henning Beckmann
Lighting: Rainer Pagel
Sound and Video Technician: Max Berthold
Make-Up: Karla Steudel
Props: Jens Blau
Contact for touring enquiries: Axel Möbius, axel.moebius[a]parkaue.de

Production

Production: Junges Staatstheater Berlin — Theater an der Parkaue.

Biography

Turbo Pascal is a theatre and performance collective from Berlin. They are interested in how people organise and imagine living together. They have made a name for themselves in the area of „theatrical audience experiments“: they devise interactive stage plays and performative installations which the audience may follow, address, involve themselves in and become independent of in different ways each time. In this way the theatre becomes a public space of assembly and negotiation for social processes. Turbo Pascal includes the founding-members, conceivers and performers Angela Löer, Frank Oberhäußer, Eva Plischke, Veit Arlt, Luis Pfeiffer, the performers and productions managers Margret Schütz and Kathrin Feldhaus, the musician Friedrich Greiling, the stage designer Janina Janke, the video artist Gernot Wöltjen and the sonic artist and programmer Georg Werner.

Impulse Theater Festival

Köln, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4.–14. Juni 2020

UNTERSCHEIDET EUCH!


Menschen sind verschieden, und das ist ganz normal. Aber was ist mit dem Unterschied zwischen Arm und Reich? Muss das so sein? Und ist das gerecht? Ein interaktives Gesellschaftsspiel über die Frage, wer oder was bestimmt, welche Wege Kindern offenstehen und welche nicht.

10.06.20 10:00 – 11:15

Schulvorstellung ++ ABGESAGT ++

Tagesprogramm
11.06.20 19:00 – 20:15 Tagesprogramm
13.06.20 19:00 – 20:15 Tagesprogramm

Tanzfaktur, Halle
Sprache: Deutsch
Für Kinder von 9 bis 14 Jahren und Erwachsene

© Christian Brachwitz
© Christian Brachwitz
© Christian Brachwitz

Im Publikum gibt es Gestreifte, Geblümte und welche mit Schrift auf der Kleidung. „Ich kann da keine Ordnung erkennen!“, ruft einer der Schauspieler. Oder werden Menschen doch sortiert? Turbo Pascal spielen mit dem Publikum gesellschaftliche Ordnungen durch und versuchen, Unordnung zu stiften. Die jungen Zuschauer*innen können sich selbst aussuchen, unter welcher Überschrift sie sich wohlfühlen — bei den Schüchternen, den Coolen, den Fußballfans, den Pferdefans.

Aber ist es auch okay, die Armen und Reichen auseinanderzusortieren? Und wann ist man arm, wann reich, wann in der Mitte? Ist reich, wer in einem Haus am Stadtrand mit eigenem Garten wohnt? Oder erst wer Aktien im Wert von fünf Millionen Euro besitzt? Wie wird man arm, wie wird man reich? Hat das damit zu tun, wer wieviel arbeitet? Oder ist das von Anfang an vorbestimmt? Und wie sind die Leute, die hier auftreten, eigentlich zum Theater gekommen? Die eine hat in der Elternlotterie Theaterfans gezogen, der andere erzählt, dass Geld für seine Eltern kein Thema war — er sollte sich einfach einen Beruf aussuchen, der ihm Spaß macht. Und ein Dritter hatte Eltern, die kaum Bücher besaßen. Nicht alle haben dieselben Startbedingungen, dieselben Chancen. Und wenn man die Unterschiede nicht kennt, dann kann man auch nichts daran ändern.

Ausgezeichnet mit dem IKARUS-Theaterpreis des JugendKulturService Berlin 2019

Credits

Darsteller*innen: Friedrich Greiling, Hanni Lorenz, Wolfgang Boos sowie in wechselnder Besetzung: Eva Plischke, Angela Löer, Frank Oberhäußer
Regie: Turbo Pascal
Bühne, Kostüm: Janina Janke
Musik: Friedrich Greiling
Dramaturgie: Karola Marsch
Regieassistenz, Inspizienz, Soufflage: Melina Archipoff
Bühnentechnik: Henning Beckmann
Lichtgestaltung: Rainer Pagel
Ton- und Videotechnik: Max Berthold
Maske: Karla Steudel
Requisite: Jens Blau
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Axel Möbius, axel.moebius[a]parkaue.de

Produktion

Produktion: Junges Staatstheater Berlin — Theater an der Parkaue.

Biografie

Turbo Pascal ist ein Berliner Theater- und Performancekollektiv. Sie interessieren sich dafür, wie Menschen ihr Zusammenleben organisieren und imaginieren. Dabei haben sie sich auf dem Gebiet des „theatralen Publikumsexperiments“ einen Namen gemacht: Sie entwickeln interaktive Bühnenstücke und performative Installationen, die das Publikum jedes Mal anders mitdenken, ansprechen oder involvieren und sich potenziell verselbstständigen können. Das Theater wird so zum öffentlichen Versammlungs- und Verhandlungsraum gesellschaftlicher Prozesse. Zu Turbo Pascal gehören die Gründungsmitglieder, Konzepter*innen und Performer*innen Angela Löer, Frank Oberhäußer, Eva Plischke, Veit Arlt, Luis Pfeiffer sowie die Performer*innen und Produktionsleiter*innen Margret Schütz und Kathrin Feldhaus, der Musiker Friedrich Greiling, die Bühnenbildnerin Janina Janke, der Videokünstler Gernot Wöltjen sowie der Audiokünstler und Programmierer Georg Werner.