Impulse Theater Festival

Cologne, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4–14 June 2020

UNGEBETENE GÄSTE: KÖLN


Every year in Cologne hundreds of people are buried with no relatives present. Who were these people? Were they lonely? And can we feel close to someone who we never met? DARUM invite us to join them on an investigation that takes us out of the theatre to the cemetery in Deutz.

05.06.20 17:00 – 19:30 Schedule
06.06.20 17:00 – 19:30 Schedule
07.06.20 15:00 – 17:30 Schedule
11.06.20 19:00 – 21:30 Schedule
12.06.20 18:00 – 20:30 Schedule

Tanzfaktur, Untergeschoss
Language: German

© Alexander Gotter
© Alexander Gotter
© Alexander Gotter
© Alexander Gotter

Believing that every person deserves some continued existence in fictional form, the artists have researched the lives of people who have been buried alone in Cologne: they have attended lonely funerals, knocked on doors, spoken to neighbours and examined the traces that the departed have left behind them in this world.

On the lower floor of the Tanzfaktur the audience will enter a multimedia collage made from the results of this research. Photos, notes, maps, items of furniture, songs and news reports offer some sense of the life that they are immersing themselves in. The viewers become the survivors of a person they never knew, visit a grave together and attempt rituals of farewell and of memory.

In its genuine attempt to gain a closer knowledge of someone who has died, UNGEBETENE GÄSTE repeatedly switches between reality and fiction. However, even if the evidence left behind is slight and the image of the dead person remains unclear the audience and the artists replace forgetting with an image they have created together that will continue to exist. A calm and deeply moving experience that encourages us to reflect on loneliness, death and the impenetrable nature of human existence.

Credits

Artistic Direction: DARUM (Laura Andreß, Victoria Halper, Kai Krösche)
Performance: Laura Andreß, Victoria Halper, Nora Jacobs, Kai Krösche
Design: Johannes Weckl
Music and Sound Design: Kai Krösche
Video: Victoria Halper
Vocals: Laura Andreß
Sound and Music, Audio Walk: Arthur Fussy
Contact for touring enquiries: DARUM (Laura Andreß, Victoria Halper, Kai Krösche), mail[a]darum.at

Production

UNGEBETENE GÄSTE is a production by DARUM in co-operation with WERK X-Petersplatz (Wien). Funded by SHIFT, der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien as well as Bezirk Innere Stadt.

UNGEBETENE GÄSTE: KÖLN is an adapted version commissioned by the Impulse Theater Festival 2020.

Biographies

The collective DARUM. Darstellende Kunst und Musik (Performing Arts and Music), founded in 2018, operates at numerous intersections between artistic disciplines. It is made up by Laura Andreß, Victoria Halper and Kai Krösche, who have operated in between independent and institutional structures in the performing arts for several years. This core team bring together expertise in numerous artistic disciplines including film and theatre direction, dramaturgy, music, literature, video and media arts, acting and performance. Der Formensuche von DARUM’s search for form is always preceded by the big question “why?” However, questions prove to be the best answers: as a result in its artistic projects DARUM attempts to fail productively in its quest for answers. UNGEBETENE GÄSTE (UNINVITED GUESTS) is DARUM’s debut performance. The performative installation ‘Ausgang: Offen’ was presented in Vienna in April 2020.

Laura Andreß studied Theatre, Film and Media Studies in Vienna. After working as an intern and assistant at several theatres, performance venues and festivals and for independent theatre productions in Vienna she completed a Masters in Dramaturgy at the HfS Ernst Busch in Berlin. In 2018 her graduation project was given its world premiere as part of the Berlin Performing Arts Festival. Laura Andreß has since worked as a freelance dramaturg and production manager (for artists including Florentina Holzinger). Her work has been presented at venues including the Volksbühne Berlin, Festspielhaus Hellerau and the Münchner Kammerspielen. In 2019 she was awarded a Starting Scholarship for the Performing Arts by the Austrian Federal Chancellor’s Office.

Victoria Halper studied Acting and Directing at the University of Toronto. She emigrated to Austria in 2010 in search of her roots in the Burgenland and worked as an Assistant Director at numerous theatres. From 2013 to 2016 she worked as a director and editor for several films including the detective story ‘Kommissar Taler’, for which she was awarded the City of Traun Prize for Culture in 2015. Since 2016 she has operated as a freelance director in an experimental field between different forms of the performing arts: contemporary circus, essay-performance, video art installations and ludification theatre in public spaces. In 2018 she was awarded a Starting Scholarship for the Performing Arts by the Austrian Federal Chancellor’s Office.

Kai Krösche is a director and musician. He studied Theatre, Film and Media Studies and Philosophy in Vienna. Since 2005 he has worked as a director, musician and video artist on his own theatre projects as well as in the fields of music, video, dramaturgy and performance at venues including Schauspiel Köln, Landestheater Niederösterreich, WUK Vienna, Volkstheater Vienna, WERK X in Vienna and HochX in Munich. As a screenwriter and director he has produced numerous short film projects since 2002. In 2018 he was awarded a Starting Scholarship for the Performing Arts by the Austrian Federal Chancellor’s Office. Between 2010 and 2016 he worked as a theatre and film critic for outlets including nachtkritik.de and the Wiener Zeitung.

Impulse Theater Festival

Köln, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4.–14. Juni 2020

UNGEBETENE GÄSTE: KÖLN


Hunderte Menschen werden jährlich in Köln ohne die Anwesenheit Angehöriger bestattet. Wer waren diese Menschen? Waren sie einsam? Und können wir uns einem Menschen nähern, den wir nie kennengelernt haben? DARUM laden zu einer gemeinsamen Spurensuche, die aus dem Theater auf den Deutzer Friedhof führt.

05.06.20 17:00 – 19:30 Tagesprogramm
06.06.20 17:00 – 19:30 Tagesprogramm
07.06.20 15:00 – 17:30 Tagesprogramm
11.06.20 19:00 – 21:30 Tagesprogramm
12.06.20 18:00 – 20:30 Tagesprogramm

Tanzfaktur, Untergeschoss
Sprache: Deutsch

© Alexander Gotter
© Alexander Gotter
© Alexander Gotter
© Alexander Gotter

Ausgehend von der Überzeugung, dass jeder Mensch ein Fortbestehen in Form einer Fiktion verdient hat, haben die Künstler*innen zu den Leben einsam begrabener Menschen aus Köln recherchiert: Sie haben einsame Begräbnisse besucht, an Türen geklopft, mit Nachbar*innen gesprochen und die Spuren zusammengesucht, die die Verstorbenen im Diesseits hinterlassen haben.

Im Untergeschoss der Tanzfaktur betritt das Publikum eine multimediale Collage aus den Ergebnissen dieser Recherche. Fotos, Notizen, Stadtpläne, Möbelstücke, Lieder und Nachrichtensendungen lassen das Leben erahnen, in das sie hier eintauchen. Die Zuschauer*innen werden zu Hinterbliebenen einer nie gekannten Person, besuchen gemeinsam ein Grab und erproben Rituale des Abschieds und der Erinnerung.

UNGEBETENE GÄSTE schwankt in dem Versuch, der verstorbenen Person wirklich nahezukommen, immer wieder zwischen Realität und Fiktion. Doch seien die hinterlassenen Spuren noch so gering, das Bild der Verstorbenen noch so unscharf – Publikum und Künstler*innen ersetzen das Vergessen durch ein gemeinsam geschaffenes Bild, das fortbesteht. Ein stilles und zutiefst berührendes Erlebnis, das dazu einlädt, über Einsamkeit, Tod und die Undurchdringbarkeit menschlicher Existenzen nachzudenken.

Credits

Künstlerische Leitung: DARUM (Laura Andreß, Victoria Halper, Kai Krösche)
Performance: Laura Andreß, Victoria Halper, Nora Jacobs, Kai Krösche
Ausstattung: Johannes Weckl
Musik und Sounddesign: Kai Krösche
Video: Victoria Halper
Gesang: Laura Andreß
Sound und Musik /Audiowalk: Arthur Fussy
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: DARUM (Laura Andreß, Victoria Halper, Kai Krösche), mail[a]darum.at

Produktion

UNGEBETENE GÄSTE ist eine Produktion von DARUM in Kooperation mit WERK X-Petersplatz (Wien). Gefördert von SHIFT, der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien sowie dem Bezirk Innere Stadt.

UNGEBETENE GÄSTE: KÖLN ist eine adaptierte Version im Auftrag des Impulse Theater Festival 2020.

Biografien

Das 2018 gegründete Kollektiv DARUM. Darstellende Kunst und Musik bewegt sich an entsprechend vielen ästhetischen Schnittstellen. Es formiert sich um Laura Andreß, Victoria Halper und Kai Krösche, die sich seit Jahren im Spannungsfeld zwischen freier und institutioneller darstellender Kunst bewegen. Dieses Kernteam vereint das Know-how aus zahlreichen künstlerischen Disziplinen, darunter Film- und Theaterregie, Dramaturgie, Musik, Literatur, Video- und Medienkunst, Schauspiel und Performance. Der Formensuche von DARUM geht stets die große Frage des „Warum?“ voran. Doch Fragen sind die besseren Antworten: Entsprechend versucht DARUM in seinen künstlerischen Projekten, am Anspruch auf Beantwortung produktiv zu scheitern. UNGEBETENE GÄSTE ist die Debütperformance von DARUM. Im April 2020 kam die performative Installation „Ausgang: Offen“ in Wien zur Aufführung.

Laura Andreß studierte Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft in Wien. Nach Hospitanzen und Assistenzen an verschiedenen Theater- und Performancehäusern sowie -festivals und in der Freien Wiener Theaterszene absolvierte sie ihren Dramaturgie-Master an der HfS „Ernst Busch“ Berlin. Ihr Abschlussprojekt wurde 2018 im Rahmen des Berliner Performing Arts Festivals uraufgeführt. Laura Andreß arbeitet seither als freie Dramaturgin und Produktionsleiterin (u. a. für Florentina Holzinger). Ihre Arbeiten wurden u. a. an der Volksbühne Berlin, im Festspielhaus Hellerau und an den Münchner Kammerspielen gezeigt. 2019 erhielt sie das Startstipendium für darstellende Kunst des Bundeskanzleramts Österreich.

Victoria Halper studierte Schauspiel und Regie an der University of Toronto. Auf den Spuren ihrer burgenländischen Herkunft emigrierte sie 2010 nach Österreich, wo sie als Regieassistentin an verschiedenen Theaterhäusern tätig war. Von 2013 bis 2016 arbeitete sie als Regisseurin und Cutterin mehrerer Filme, darunter der Kriminalfilm „Kommissar Taler“, für den sie 2015 den Kulturpreis der Stadt Traun erhielt. Seit 2016 bewegt sie sich als freie Regisseurin in einem Experimentierfeld zwischen verschiedenen Formen der darstellenden Kunst: zeitgenössicher Zirkus, Essay-Performance, installative Videokunst und ludification theatre im öffentlichen Raum. 2018 erhielt sie das Startstipendium für darstellende Kunst des Bundeskanzleramts Österreich.

Kai Krösche ist Regisseur und Musiker. Er studierte Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft sowie Philosophie in Wien. Seit 2005 arbeitet er als Regisseur, Musiker und Videokünstler an der Realisierung eigener Theaterprojekte sowie in den Bereichen Musik, Video, Dramaturgie und Performance u. a. am Schauspiel Köln, am Landestheater Niederösterreich, am WUK Wien, am Volkstheater Wien, am WERK X Wien sowie am HochX München. Als Drehbuchautor und Regisseur realisiert er seit 2002 zahlreiche Kurzfilmprojekte. 2018 erhielt er das Startstipendium für darstellende Kunst des Bundeskanzleramts Österreich. Zwischen 2010 und 2016 arbeitete er als Theater- und Filmkritiker u. a. für nachtkritik.de und die Wiener Zeitung.