9 – 19 June 2022 in Mülheim an der Ruhr, Cologne and Düsseldorf
DE / EN
Programm-PDF
Newsletter
Contact

The Kids are Alright

“Our children should have a better life” is what their parents said when they came to Germany – and then saw their children grow up with racism. This video installation brings together the voices of six people with different migrant heritages who provide accounts of generational conflicts, political struggles and visions of the future.

CANCELLED

Tanzfaktur, Halle
Language: German with Enlish subtitles (partly)

© Mayra Wallraff
© Mayra Wallraff
© Mayra Wallraff

A large room, video screens, a stylised playground roundabout, a rocking horse. Members of the audience sit on it and hear the family stories of young people whose families came to Germany as refugees from persecution, war and need. They talk about their parents’ hopes and ambitions, racially-motivated exclusion and violence and about the work they do for future generations as a psychologist, an antifascist activist and a researcher studying migration: “We are the children of the Nineties. And we still live in Germany. Our parents had to explain Solingen, Mölln and Rostock-Lichtenhagen to us. We talk to our children about Halle and Hanau.”

Credits

Concept: Simone Dede Ayivi
Video: Jones Seitz
Stage Design: Theresa Reiwer
Sound Design, Music: Katharina Pelosi
Light: Frieder Miller
Production Assistance, dramaturgical advice: Selma Böhmelmann
Assistance Design: Chris Erlbeck
Camera: Thomas Machholz
Experts: Nabila Bushra, Fatma Kar, Lenssa Mohammed, Dan Thy Nguyen, Kadir Özdemir
Production Management: ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro
Technical Production: Gefährliche Arbeit

Production

A production by Simone Dede Ayivi und Kompliz*innen in co-production with the Sophiensæle, Berlin. Funded through basic funding from the Senate Department for Culture and Europe and subsidy from the Capital Cultural Fund.

Biographies

Simone Dede Ayivi studied Cultural Studies and Aesthetic Practice at the University of Hildesheim. In 2016 as part of the akademie der autodidakten at Ballhaus Naunynstraße she devised the theatre project ‘JETZT BIN ICH HIER!’ together with post-migrant young people, in which they examined their current situation living in Germany. As part of FIRST BLACK WOMAN IN SPACE Ayivi spent three weeks with the entire production as Artist in Residence at Künstlerhaus Mousonturm. She has been working with a range of different Accomplices since 2012.

Katharina Pelosi studied at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen and works as a sonic artist in the fields of performance, choreography, audio drama and installation. She is a co-founder of the feminist performance collective Swoosh Lieu. From 2015–17 Katharina Pelosi was a member of the Graduate College Performing Citizenship with her practice-based doctoral thesis on “Sound as a medium of cultural memory in post-colonial Hamburg.” She has been awarded fellowships by Casa Baldi in Rome for 2021 and the Tarabya Cultural Academy in Istanbul for 2022.

Jones Seitz is a trained audio-visual media designer and has studied Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen and Porto. In addition to personal artistic research into resistance, she* also provides technical direction, lighting and video design for independent projects, such as for Simone Dede Ayivi, Helge Schmidt, Quast&Knoblich and Swoosh Lieu. Jones is a member and co-founder of the group LUKAS UND that produces its own stage plays at the FFT Düsseldorf. Since 2017 Jones has lived and worked mainly in Berlin.

Theresa Reiwer studied Film and Theatre Studies and Stage/Costume Design in Berlin and Istanbul. She works as a scenographer and costume designer for independent theatre productions and feature films. In her own works Reiwer creates VR films and experiments with augmented reality. SLOW ROOMS, her narrative spatial installation with AR elements, was awarded the Mart Stam Preis in 2019 and also helped her secure the Elsa Neumann Scholarship for 2020/21.

Selma Böhmelmann studied Cultural Studies and Political Sciences at Leuphana University. She completed assistant roles in a range of disciplines at institutions including the Schaubühne Berlin, the festival Augenblick mal! and the Volksbühne. In April 2020 she started her Masters in Theatre Studies at the FU Berlin. Since 2020 she has supported Simone Dede Ayivi as a production assistant and dramaturgical associate.

9.–19. Juni 2022 in Mülheim an der Ruhr, Köln und Düsseldorf
DE / EN
Programm-PDF
Newsletter
Kontakt

The Kids are Alright

„Unsere Kinder sollen es einmal besser haben“, sagten die Eltern, als sie nach Deutschland kamen – und sahen ihre Kinder mit Rassismus aufwachsen. Die Video-Installation versammelt die Stimmen von sechs Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Migrationserbe, die von Generationenkonflikten, politischen Kämpfen und Zukunftsvisionen berichten.

ENTFÄLLT

Tanzfaktur, Halle
Sprache: Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln

© Mayra Wallraff
© Mayra Wallraff
© Mayra Wallraff

Ein weiter Raum, Videoleinwände, ein stilisiertes Spielplatz-Karussell, ein Schaukelpferd. Darauf sitzen die Zuschauer*innen und hören die Familienerzählungen junger Menschen, deren Familien in den Nachkriegsjahrzehnten nach Deutschland kamen – auf der Flucht vor Verfolgung, Krieg und Not. Sie sprechen über die Hoffnungen und Ansprüche ihrer Eltern, rassistische motivierte Ausgrenzung und Gewalt und über die politische Arbeit, die sie als Psychologin, antifaschistische Aktivistin oder Migrationsforscher für zukünftige Generationen machen: „Wir sind die Kinder der 90er Jahre. Und wir leben immer noch in Deutschland. Unsere Eltern mussten uns Solingen, Mölln und Rostock-Lichtenhagen erklären. Wir sprechen mit unseren Kindern über Halle und Hanau.“

Credits

Konzept: Simone Dede Ayivi
Video: Jones Seitz
Bühnenbild: Theresa Reiwer
Sound, Musik: Katharina Pelosi
Licht: Frieder Miller
Produktionsassistenz, dramaturgische Mitarbeit: Selma Böhmelmann
Ausstattungsassistenz: Chris Erlbeck
Kamera Außenaufnahmen: Thomas Machholz
Expert*innen: Nabila Bushra, Fatma Kar, Lenssa Mohammed, Dan Thy Nguyen, Kadir Özdemir
Produktionsleitung: ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro
Technische Produktion: Gefährliche Arbeit

Produktion

Eine Produktion von Simone Dede Ayivi und Kompliz*innen in Koproduktion mit Sophiensæle, Berlin. Gefördert durch die Basisförderung der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa und durch Mittel des Hauptstadtkulturfonds.

Biografien

Simone Dede Ayivi studierte Kulturwissenschaften und ästhetische Praxis an der Universität Hildesheim. 2016 entwickelte sie an der akademie der autodidakten am Ballhaus Naunynstraße gemeinsam mit postmigrantischen Jugendlichen das Theaterprojekt „JETZT BIN ICH HIER!“, in dem sich diese mit ihrer aktuellen Lebenssituation in Deutschland auseinandersetzten. Im Rahmen von FIRST BLACK WOMAN IN SPACE war Ayivi mit der gesamten Produktion für drei Wochen Artist in Residence am Künstlerhaus Mousonturm. Seit 2012 arbeitet sie mit unterschiedlichen Kompliz*innen zusammen.

Katharina Pelosi studierte am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen und arbeitet als Audiokünstlerin in den Bereichen Performance, Choreografie, Hörspiel und Installation. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des feministischen Performancekollektivs Swoosh Lieu. Von 2015 bis 2017 war Pelosi mit ihrem künstlerischen Promotionsprojekt zu „Sound als erinnerungskulturellem Medium im postkolonialen Hamburg“ Mitglied im Graduiertenkolleg Performing Citizenship. 2021 ist sie Stipendiatin an der Casa Baldi in Rom, 2022 an der Kulturakademie Tarabya in Istanbul.

Jones Seitz ist gelernte*r Mediengestalter*in Bild und Ton und hat Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen und Porto studiert. Neben eigenen künstlerischen Recherchen zu Widerstand übernimmt sie*er die technische Leitung freier Projekte wie Licht- und Videodesign, so z. B. für Simone Dede Ayivi, Helge Schmidt, Quast&Knoblich oder Swoosh Lieu. Jones ist Mitglied und Mitbegründer*in der Gruppe LUKAS UND, die am FFT Düsseldorf eigene Bühnenstücke produziert. Seit 2017 lebt und arbeitet Seitz hauptsächlich in Berlin.

Theresa Reiwer studierte Film-/Theaterwissenschaft und Bühnen-/Kostümbild in Berlin und Istanbul. Als Szenografin und Kostümbildnerin arbeitet sie in der Freien Szene und für Spielfilmproduktionen. In ihren eigenen Arbeiten entwickelt Reiwer VR-Filme oder experimentiert mit Augmented Reality. SLOW ROOMS, ihre narrative Rauminstallation mit AR-Komponente, erhielt 2019 den Mart Stam Preis und verhalf ihr außerdem zum Elsa-Neumann-Stipendium 2020/21.

Selma Böhmelmann studierte Kulturwissenschaften und Politikwissenschaft an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg. Sie absolvierte Assistenzen in diversen Bereichen, u. a. an der Schaubühne Berlin, beim Festival Augenblick mal! oder an der Volksbühne Berlin. Im April 2020 begann sie ihr Masterstudium der Theaterwissenschaft an der FU Berlin. Seit 2020 unterstützt sie Simone Dede Ayivi als Produktionsassistentin und dramaturgische Mitarbeiterin.