Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13— 23 June 2019

The Guardians of Sleep

Who watches over us while we sleep? David Weber-Krebs creates a space where the sensory overload we are exposed to by the media leads to a shared experience of sleep.

22.06.18 20:00 – 21:10 Tickets

SOLD OUT

Schedule
22.06.18 22:30 – 23:40 Tickets

SOLD OUT

Schedule
23.06.18 18:00 – 19:10 Tickets Schedule
23.06.18 20:30 – 21:40 Tickets Schedule

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Stage 1
Language: simple English

Special after the performance on 23.06.:
Audience discussion with the artist and Dr. Corinna Frohn, Head of the Psychiatric Sleep Clinic at LWL University Hospital Bochum. Chaired by Sebastian Brohn, Ringlokschuppen Ruhr

© Luca Mattei
© Luca Mattei
© Luca Mattei

Once again the audience finds itself taking on a special role in this performance: it becomes a guard and protector. Everyone here is responsible for what happens next. All the performers produce is silence – and with it an atmosphere that has become rare at the present time.  
THE GUARDIANS OF SLEEP also begins with a flood of sensory impressions. The performers invite the audience to share an overwhelming cosmos of personal stories and images with them. When they fall silent and the displays are switched off, the audience is left to its own devices. It observes itself in the act of observation. And this gives it the chance to experience theatre in its purest form: an assembly of bodies shares a space in the mutual promise to direct their attention for a specified time towards what the hosts have produced for them. In THE GUARDIANS OF SLEEP they create a space in their sleep, in which every sound is heard and every movement is seen.  In the silence everything has meaning and this shared time becomes a precious gift.

Credits

Concept, Director: David Weber-Krebs
Performance: Julien Bruneau, Luanda Casella, Alondra Castellanos Arreola, Matthew Day, Zoë Demoustier, Irena Radmanovic

Lighting Design: 
Martin Kaffarnik, Jan Fedinger  

Costumes: Anne-Catherine Kunz
Dramaturgical Consultants: Sébastien Hendrickx, Lara Staal
Artistic Consultant: Marie Urban
Sound Advisor: David Helbich
Illustration: Eva le Roi
Production Manager: Leonie Persyn
Production: Infinite Endings
Contact for touring enquiries: Elisabeth Hirner, elisabeth.hirner[a]gmail.com

Production

Thanks to: Loes van der Pligt, Hidde Aans-Verkade, Ayrton Fraenk, Len Pillen, Dennis Tiecken, Jurriaan de Vos, Luuk Weers, Vincent van Woerkom, Annemie Boonen, Lahja Demoustier, Misha Demoustier, Klaas De Somer, Nicola Arthen, Carol Quintanilha, Olivia Casella Heytens, Anouk Llaurens, Valère Bruneau, Sabine Demannez, Nikolaus Gansterer, Xavier Gorgol, Aurore Dal Mas, Réjean Dorval, Fridolin Weber-Krebs.

A co-production with the Kaaitheater Brussels, Kunstencentrum BUDA, zeitraumexit. With support from the Government of Flanders. With thanks to Pianofabriek Amsterdam, Mime Opleiding Amsterdam. David Weber-Krebs is affiliated as a doctoral artistic researcher to KASK & Conservatory / School of Arts, Ghent (B).

Biographies

David Weber-Krebs is a performer, theatre and film director based in Brussels. He studied at the University of Fribourg in Switzerland and at the Amsterdam School of the Arts. In his works between (lecture) performances, film and installations he questions the traditional relationship between the work of art and its public. His recent works include the performances ‘Tonight, lights out!’ (2011/2013) and ‘Balthazar’ with Maximilian Haas (2013) and the installation ‘Immersion’ (2014) at the Weltkulturen Museum, Frankfurt. He regularly works together with other artists and theoreticians and is currently a doctoral candidate and artistic assistant the the HoGent School of Arts.

Alondra Castellanos Arreola was born in Mexico and is a theatremaker who lives and works in Amsterdam. She graduated from the Mime School in Amsterdam (AHK) in 2015. Her practice lies at the intersection of choreography and visual arts and focuses on the use of space and questions of materiality. She is interested in the interaction of bodies and objects and the affective relationships created between them.

Matthew Day studied dance and performance at the University of Western Sydney and the Victorian College of the Arts and graduated from the Master’s programme in Choreography at the University of the Arts in Amsterdam in 2016. The artists he has collaborated with include Phillip Adams BalletLab, Tim Darbyshire, Luke George, Helen Grogan, Xavier Leroy, Donna Miranda, Noha Ramadan and Brooke Stamp.

Luanda Casella is a Brazilian writer and lecturer at the LUCA School of Arts. She studied at the University of São Paulo, at HoGent School of Arts and a.pt/a.pass in Brussels. Her artistic research examines contemporary storytelling with particular reference to its use in the media.  

Julien Bruneau is a dancer, choreographer and visual artist. He studied at La Cambre in Brussels and graduated from the Master’s programme in Choreography at the School of Arts in Amsterdam. Julien Bruneau develops performances and dance pieces, and devises discursive formats as well as in situ-installations. He has been collaborating with various artists since 2010 including Sonia Si Ahmed, Anouk Llaurens and Maya Dalinsky.

Irena Radmanovic is a Serbo-Croat artist born in Belgrade. For her training she moved to Bologna, where she took part in numerous theatre, film and art projects, She currently lives and works in Brussels.   

Zoë Demoustier, performer and choreographer, studied at the Mime School in Amsterdam. She is currently completing a Master’s degree in Directing at the Royal Institute for Theatre, Cinema and Sound (RITCS) in Brussels. She has worked with Danielle van Vree, Marcello Evelin, Seppe Baeyens, Lisbeth Gruwez, Rob List, Kabinet K and Shila Anarak.

Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13.— 23. Juni 2019

The Guardians of Sleep

Wer wacht über unseren Schlaf? David Weber-Krebs schafft einen Raum, in dem die mediale Reizüberflutung der Gegenwart in ein gemeinschaftliches Schlaferlebnis mündet.

22.06.18 20:00 – 21:10 Tickets

AUSVERKAUFT

Tagesprogramm
22.06.18 22:30 – 23:40 Tickets

AUSVERKAUFT

Tagesprogramm
23.06.18 18:00 – 19:10 Tickets Tagesprogramm
23.06.18 20:30 – 21:40 Tickets Tagesprogramm

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Bühne 1
Sprache: einfaches Englisch

Extra:
23.06. im Anschluss an die Vorstellung Publikumsgespräch mit dem Künstler und Dr. Corinna Frohn, Leiterin der Psychiatrischen Schlafsprechstunde im LWL-Universitätsklinikum Bochum. Moderation: Sebastian Brohn, Ringlokschuppen Ruhr

© Luca Mattei
© Luca Mattei
© Luca Mattei

Das Publikum findet sich in dieser Performance in einer besonderen Rolle wieder: Es wird zum Wächter und Beschützer. Jede*r hier ist verantwortlich für das, was als Nächstes geschieht. Die Performer*innen produzieren derweil nur Stille – und damit eine Atmosphäre, die in der Gegenwart selten geworden ist.
Auch THE GUARDIANS OF SLEEP beginnt mit einer Flut von Sinneseindrücken. Die Performer*innen laden das Publikum ein, einen überbordenden Kosmos privater Erzählungen und Bilder mit ihnen zu teilen. Wenn sie verstummen und die Displays erlöschen, ist das Publikum auf sich selbst zurückgeworfen. Es beobachtet sich selbst beim Beobachten. Und hat damit die Chance, Theater in seiner reinsten Form zu erfahren: Körper versammeln sich in einem Raum, den sie im gegenseitigen Versprechen teilen, für eine gegebene Zeit ihre Aufmerksamkeit auf das zu richten, was die Gastgeber*innen für sie inszeniert haben. In THE GUARDIANS OF SLEEP schaffen sie schlafend einen Raum, in dem jeder Ton gehört, jede Bewegung gesehen wird. In der Stille wird alles bedeutsam, die geteilte Zeit zum kostbaren Geschenk.

Credits

Konzept, Regie: David Weber-Krebs
Performance: Julien Bruneau, Luanda Casella, Alondra Castellanos Arreola, Matthew Day, Zoë Demoustier, Irena Radmanovic

Lichtdesign: 
Martin Kaffarnik, Jan Fedinger  

Kostüme: Anne-Catherine Kunz
Dramaturgische Beratung: Sébastien Hendrickx, Lara Staal
Künstlerische Beratung: Marie Urban
Beratung Ton: David Helbich
Illustration: Eva le Roi
Produktionsleitung: Leonie Persyn
Produktion: Infinite Endings
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Elisabeth Hirner, elisabeth.hirner[a]gmail.com

Produktion

Dank an: Loes van der Pligt, Hidde Aans-Verkade, Ayrton Fraenk, Len Pillen, Dennis Tiecken, Jurriaan de Vos, Luuk Weers, Vincent van Woerkom, Annemie Boonen, Lahja Demoustier, Misha Demoustier, Klaas De Somer, Nicola Arthen, Carol Quintanilha, Olivia Casella Heytens, Anouk Llaurens, Valère Bruneau, Sabine Demannez, Nikolaus Gansterer, Xavier Gorgol, Aurore Dal Mas, Réjean Dorval, Fridolin Weber-Krebs   

Eine Koproduktion mit Kaaitheater Brüssel, Kunstencentrum BUDA, zeitraumexit. Mit Unterstützung durch die flämischen Behörden. Dank an Pianofabriek Amsterdam, Mime Opleiding Amsterdam. David Weber-Krebs ist als doktorierender künstlerischer Assistent an KASK & Konservatorium / School of Arts in Gent (B) verbunden.

Biografien

David Weber-Krebs lebt als Performer, Theater- und Filmregisseur in Brüssel. Er studierte an der Universität Freiburg/Schweiz und an der Kunsthochschule in Amsterdam. In seinen Arbeiten zwischen (Lecture-)Performance, Film und Installation hinterfragt er das traditionelle Verhältnis zwischen Kunstwerk und Öffentlichkeit. Zu seinen letzten Arbeiten zählen die Performances „Tonight, lights out!“ (2011/2013), „Balthazar“ mit Maximilian Haas (2013) und die Installation „Immersion“ (2014) am Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt. David Weber-Krebs arbeitet regelmäßig mit anderen Künstler*innen und Theoretiker*innen zusammen und ist gegenwärtig Doktorand und künstlerischer Assistent an der Hogeschool Gent.  

Alondra Castellanos Arreola, geboren in Mexiko, lebt und arbeitet als Theatermacherin und Performerin in Amsterdam. 2015 machte sie ihren Abschluss an der Mime Opleiding  Amsterdam (AHK). In ihren Arbeiten an der Schnittstelle zwischen Choreografie und bildender Kunst beschäftigt sie sich mit der Nutzung von Räumen und Fragen der Materialität. Sie interessiert sich für die Interaktion von Körper und Objekt und die affektiven Beziehungen, die daraus entstehen.  

Matthew Day studierte Tanz und Performance an der University of Western Sydney und am Victorian College of the Arts  und schloss 2016 den Masterstudiengang Choreografie an der Kunstuniversität in Amsterdam ab. Er hat u. a. mit Phillip Adams BalletLab, Tim Darbyshire, Luke George, Helen Grogan, Xavier Leroy, Donna Miranda, Noha Ramadan und Brooke Stamp zusammengearbeitet.  

Luanda Casella ist eine brasilianische Schriftstellerin und Dozentin an der LUCA School of Arts. Sie studierte an der Universität São Paulo, an der Hogeschool Gent und bei der a.pt/a.pass in Brüssel. In ihrer künstlerischen Forschung beschäftigt sie sich mit zeitgenössischem Storytelling, vor allem mit dessen Gebrauch in den Medien.  

Julien Bruneau ist Tänzer, Choreograf und bildender Künstler. Er studierte am La Cambre in Brüssel und absolvierte den Masterstudiengang in Choreografie an der Kunsthochschule in Amsterdam. Julien Bruneau entwickelt Performances und Tanzstücke, konzipiert diskursive Formate ebenso wie In-situ-Installationen. Seit 2010 arbeitet er mit verschiedenen Künstler*innen und Tänzer*innen zusammen, darunter Sonia Si Ahmed, Anouk Llaurens und Maya Dalinsky.  

Irena Radmanovic, geboren in Belgrad, ist eine serbokroatische Künstlerin. Für ihre Ausbildung zog sie nach Bologna, wo sie an verschiedenen Theater-, Film- und Kunstprojekten mitwirkte. Derzeit lebt und arbeitet sie in Brüssel.  

Zoë Demoustier, Performerin und Choreografin, studierte an der Mime Opleiding Amsterdam (AHK). Derzeit absolviert sie einen Regie-Masterstudiengang am Royal Institute for Theatre, Cinema and Sound (RITCS) in Brüssel. Sie arbeitete mit Danielle van Vree, Marcello  Evelin, Seppe Baeyens, Lisbeth Gruwez, Rob List, Kabinet K und Shila Anarak.