Impulse Theater Festival

Cologne, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4–14 June 2020

TANZ


The grace and harmony of romantic ballet come up against crude jokes featuring artificial intestines, motor bikes and butcher’s hooks. In her critically acclaimed “masterpiece”, a lavish work that defies all taboos, Florentina Holzinger criticises and revels in the brutal treatment of the female body.

Schauspiel Köln, Depot 2
Language: English
Suitable for ages 18 and above

© Eva Würdinger
© Eva Würdinger
© Nada Žgank
© Eva Würdinger

TANZ is framed by a ballet class led by Beatrice Cordua, who was the first ballerina to dance ‘The Rite of Spring’ naked in 1972. In her soft but unrelenting voice she guides her students through a strict training in “action ballet”: “sylphic studies”. In a series of collective rituals they learn how to control their bodies and minds and to assume supernatural powers: ranging from mentalists’ tricks to flying. Bodies float through the air, seemingly weightless, hanging from their hair or butcher’s hooks.

And a great deal of blood flows. In the third part of her trilogy about spectacular bodies and how they are disciplined, Florentina Holzinger directs brutal parodies of scenes made up of ballet, slapstick shows and horror movies. Not for the faint hearted. But what is being shocked and disgusted compared with the pain of an entire life as a ballerina?

Credits

Concept, Performance, Choreography: Florentina Holzinger
Performance by and with: Renée Copraij, Trixie Cordua, Evelyn Frantti, Lucifire, Annina Machaz, Maria Netti Nüganen, Suzn Payson, Laura Stokes, Veronica Thompson, Lydia Darling
Video Design, Live camera: Josefin Arnell
Sound Design, Live sound: Stefan Schneider
Lighting Design, Technical Direction: Anne Meeussen
Stage Design: Nikola Knezevic
Assistant Stage Design: Camilla Smolders
Dramaturgy: Renée Copraij, Sara Ostertag
Outside Eye: Michele Rizzo, Fernando Belfiore
Theory, Research: Anna Leon
Coaching: Btissame Amadour, Ghani Minne, Dave Tusk
Music Coach: Almut Lustig
Stunt Support: Haeger Stunt & Wireworks
Stunt Instructors: Stunt Cloud GmbH (Leo Plank, Phong Giang, Sandra Barger)
Management: Something Great & DANSCO
Distribution: Something Great
Production: Spirit
Executive Production: Laura Andreß
Financial Administration: Julia Haas/SMART
Contact for touring enquiries: Katharina Wallisch, katharina[a]somethinggreat.de

Production

Co-produced by Tanzquartier Wien, Spring Festival, Productiehuis Theater Rotterdam, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Arsenic, Münchner Kammerspiele, Take Me Somewhere Festival, deSingel, Beursschouwburg, Sophiensæle, Frascati Productions, Asphalt Festival, Theater im Pumpenhaus. Supported by O Espaço do Tempo, Fondation LUMA, De Châtel Award

Thanks to CAMPO Gent, ImPulsTanz, Eva Beresin, Stefanie Leitner, Tanz-Archiv MUK Wien, Stimuleringsfonds Creative Industries.

Funded by Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien, Bundeskanzleramt für Kunst und Kultur (BKA), Performing Arts Fund NL, Norma Fonds NL.

Further performances can be seen at the Asphalt Festival in Düsseldorf.

Biography

Florentina Holzinger is regarded as one of the most provocative new choreographers in Europe. In her works she investigates different ways of representing the feminine and the potential of female physicality. Here she deliberately plays on shifting boundaries between high culture and entertainment, pop and trash. Several collaborations with Vincent Riebeek from 2011 onwards were followed by the solo ‘Recovery’, and ‘Apollon’. In 2012 Florentina Holzinger was awarded the Prix Jardin d’Europe at ImPulsTanz for her solo ‘Silk’. She is currently Artist in Residence at ICK in Amsterdam. From 2021/22 she will work at the Volksbühne in Berlin under its new Artistic Director René Pollesch and elsewhere.

Impulse Theater Festival

Köln, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4.–14. Juni 2020

TANZ


Anmut und Harmonie des romantischen Balletts treffen auf derbe Späße mit künstlichem Gedärm, Motorrädern und Fleischerhaken. Opulent und tabulos zelebriert Florentina Holzinger in ihrem von der Presse gefeierten „Meisterwerk“ Kritik und Freude an der Zurichtung des weiblichen Körpers.

06.06.20 20:00 – 22:10 Tagesprogramm
07.06.20 20:00 – 22:10 Tagesprogramm
08.06.20 20:00 – 22:10 Tagesprogramm

Schauspiel Köln, Depot 2
Sprache: Englisch
Altersfreigabe: ab 18 Jahren

© Eva Würdinger
© Eva Würdinger
© Nada Žgank
© Eva Würdinger

Den Rahmen von TANZ bildet eine Ballettklasse unter der Leitung von Beatrice Cordua, die 1972 als erste Ballerina „Le Sacre du printemps“ nackt tanzte. Mit sanfter, aber unerbittlicher Stimme leitet sie ihre Schülerinnen durch eine strenge Ausbildung in „Aktionsballett“, die „Sylphic Studies“. In gemeinsamen Ritualen lernen sie, Körper und Geist zu beherrschen, und eignen sich übernatürliche Kräfte an: von Mentalistentricks bis hin zum Fliegen. Körper schweben durch die Lüfte, scheinbar schwerelos, an Haaren oder Fleischerhaken aufgehängt.

Und dabei fließt auch jede Menge Blut. Im dritten Teil ihrer Trilogie über spektakuläre Körper und deren Disziplinierung inszeniert Florentina Holzinger brutale Parodien auf Szenen aus Ballett, Slapstick-Shows und Horrorfilm. Nichts für schwache Nerven. Aber was ist schon etwas Schock und Ekel gegen den Schmerz eines ganzen Ballerinalebens?

Credits

Konzept, Performance, Choreografie: Florentina Holzinger
Performance von und mit: Renée Copraij, Trixie Cordua, Evelyn Frantti, Lucifire, Annina Machaz, Maria Netti Nüganen, Suzn Payson, Laura Stokes, Veronica Thompson, Lydia Darling
Videodesign, Livekamera: Josefin Arnell
Sounddesign, Livesound: Stefan Schneider
Lichtdesign, technische Leitung: Anne Meeussen
Bühne: Nikola Knezevic
Bühnenbildassistenz: Camilla Smolders
Dramaturgie: Renée Copraij, Sara Ostertag
Außenblick: Michele Rizzo, Fernando Belfiore
Theorie, Recherche: Anna Leon
Coaching: Btissame Amadour, Ghani Minne, Dave Tusk
Musik-Coach: Almut Lustig
Stunt-Unterstützung: Haeger Stunt & Wireworks
Stunt-Unterricht: Stunt Cloud GmbH (Leo Plank, Phong Giang, Sandra Barger)
Management: Something Great & DANSCO
Distribution: Something Great
Produktion: Spirit
Produktionsleitung: Laura Andreß
Finanzadministration: Julia Haas/SMART
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Katharina Wallisch, katharina[a]somethinggreat.de

Produktion

Koproduziert vonTanzquartier Wien, Spring Festival, Productiehuis Theater Rotterdam, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Arsenic, Münchner Kammerspiele, Take Me Somewhere Festival, deSingel, Beursschouwburg, Sophiensæle, Frascati Productions, Asphalt Festival, Theater im Pumpenhaus. Unterstützt von /O Espaço do Tempo, Fondation LUMA, De Châtel Award

Dank an CAMPO Gent, ImPulsTanz, Eva Beresin, Stefanie Leitner, Tanz-Archiv MUK Wien, Stimuleringsfonds Creative Industries.

Gefördert von Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien, Bundeskanzleramt für Kunst und Kultur (BKA), Performing Arts Fund NL, Norma Fonds NL.

Weitere Aufführungen sind beim Asphalt Festival in Düsseldorf zu sehen.

Biografie

Florentina Holzinger gilt als eine der provokantesten neuen Choreografinnen Europas. In ihren Arbeiten erkundet sie verschiedene Darstellungsweisen des Weiblichen und das Potenzial weiblicher Körperlichkeit. Dabei spielt sie bewusst mit Grenzverschiebungen zwischen Hochkultur und Unterhaltung, Pop und Trash. Auf mehrere Zusammenarbeiten mit Vincent Riebeek ab 2011 folgten das Solo „Recovery“, sowie „Apollon“. 2012 wurde Florentina Holzinger bei ImPulsTanz für ihr Solo „Silk“ mit dem Prix Jardin d’Europe ausgezeichnet. Zurzeit ist sie Artist in Residence am ICK in Amsterdam, ab 2021/22 wird sie u. a. an der von René Pollesch geleiteten Volksbühne in Berlin arbeiten.