Impulse Theater Festival

Cologne, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4–14 June 2020

STRICKEN, DIE INSTALLATION


STRICKEN takes place online.

How do Afro-German women relate to the past lives of their white grandmothers? In STRICKEN we see video portraits of six granddaughters who talk about Nazism and deep-seated resentments, about love and favourite meals cooked by their grannies, about their family heritage and present-day racism.

Tanzfaktur, Studio 5
Language: German with English subtitles

Extra:
05.06. 16:00 Talk in German with the artist and Jennifer Teege, the author of ‘My Grandfather Would Have Shot Me’. Chaired by Wilma Renfordt, Dramaturg, Impulse Theater Festival

© Carolin Seeliger
© Carolin Seeliger
© Carolin Seeliger

Magda Korsinsky has interviewed six women about their families: what were the values passed down to you? Which ones did you practice, question, change or reject? The results are open and honest portraits — projected onto cloth banners made from textiles that these women found in their grandmothers’ wardrobes: bed sheets, tablecloths and towels, some of which they have known since they were children. For these women their family history is something that binds them and separates them at the same time because unlike their white grandparents, under the Nazis they would have been among the persecuted. So how do they react to the guilt of their ancestors?

STRICKEN was inspired by the book ‘My Grandfather would have shot me’ by Jennifer Teege, who found out at the age of 38 that she is the granddaughter of the concentration camp Kommandant Amon Göth. “Anyone who is related to Joseph Goebbels, Heinrich Himmler, Hermann Göring or Amon Göth is forced to confront their family history,” Teege writes. “But what about all the others, those many nameless people who went along or joined in with what they did?” Jennifer Teege will be one of the guests at an audience discussion on 5 June.

Credits

Director, Installation, Interview: Magda Korsinsky
Sound, Video: Stefan Korsinsky
Seamstresses: Kunji Baerwald, Sofia Vannini
Interviewees: Binta, Denise, Matti, Miriam, Shaheen, Stephanie
Contact for touring enquiries: Magda Korsinsky, contact@magdakorsinsky.com

Production

In co-operation with Ballhaus Naunynstraße and Savvy Contemporary e.V. By kind permission of DENGLER und DENGLER Galerie für Schöne Künste, Stuttgart. With the generous support of the Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, Berlin, and the Rudolf Augstein Stiftung.

Biographies

Magda Korsinsky is a visual artist, choreographer and lecturer with Czech and Eritrean roots. She studied Fine Art at UdK in Berlin, ENSBA in Paris and AVU in Prague and has presented her work in numerous exhibitions. In 2012 she graduated in Choreography from HZT Berlin. Her choreographic works have been shown at the Tanztage at the Sophiensæle, the Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin and Uferstudios. Since 2014, she has produced three dance pieces at Ballhaus Naunynstraße: ‘Gazes that Matter’ and two works, ‘STRICKEN’ and ‘PATTERNS’, in which she takes gestures along with how they are socialised and their stubbornness as the starting point for reflection on black identities in Germany.

Stefan Korsinsky holds a diploma in cultural studies and was a founding member of Expander Film Berlin. He studied Cultural Studies and Aesthetic Practice in Hildesheim and Sociology and German Literature in Bielefeld. Stefan Korsinsky works as a filmmaker and teaches at the Code University of Applied Sciences Berlin.

Impulse Theater Festival

Köln, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4.–14. Juni 2020

STRICKEN, DIE INSTALLATION


Wie gehen afrodeutsche Frauen mit der Vergangenheit ihrer weißen Großmütter um? In STRICKEN sind Video-Porträts von sechs Enkelinnen zu sehen, die über Nationalsozialismus und tiefsitzende Ressentiments sprechen, über Liebe und Leibgerichte aus Omas Küche, über familiäres Erbe und den Rassismus der Gegenwart.

04.06.20 18:00 – 24:00 Tagesprogramm
05.06.20 15:00 – 24:00 Tagesprogramm
06.06.20 18:00 – 24:00 Tagesprogramm
07.06.20 14:00 – 20:00 Tagesprogramm
11.06.20 18:00 – 22:00 Tagesprogramm
12.06.20 20:00 – 24:00 Tagesprogramm
13.06.20 18:00 – 24:00 Tagesprogramm

Tanzfaktur, Studio 5
Sprache: Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln

Extra:
05.06. 16:00-17:00 Gespräch in deutscher Sprache mit der Künstlerin und Jennifer Teege, Autorin von „Amon. Mein Großvater hätte mich erschossen“. Moderation: Wilma Renfordt, Dramaturgin Impulse Theater Festival

© Carolin Seeliger
© Carolin Seeliger
© Caroline Seeliger

Magda Korsinsky hat sechs Frauen zu ihren Familien befragt: Welche Werte wurden weitergegeben? Welche wurden übernommen, hinterfragt, verändert oder abgelehnt? Entstanden sind offene und ehrliche Porträts — projiziert auf Stoffbahnen aus Textilien, die die Frauen in den Schränken ihrer Großmütter gefunden haben: Bettlaken, Tischdecken und Handtücher, die sie teilweise schon seit ihrer Kindheit begleiten. Die Familiengeschichte ist für diese Frauen verbindend und trennend zugleich, denn anders als ihre weißen Großeltern hätten sie im Nationalsozialismus zu den Verfolgten gezählt. Wie also umgehen mit der Schuld der Vorfahr*innen?

Die Anregung für STRICKEN gab das Buch „Amon. Mein Großvater hätte mich erschossen“ von Jennifer Teege, die als 38-Jährige erfuhr, dass sie die Enkelin des KZ-Kommandanten Amon Göth ist. „Wer mit Joseph Goebbels, Heinrich Himmler, Hermann Göring oder Amon Göth verwandt ist, der ist gezwungen, sich mit seiner Familiengeschichte auseinanderzusetzen“, schreibt Teege. „Aber was ist mit all den anderen, den vielen namenlosen Mitläufern und Mittätern?“ Am 5. Juni ist Jennifer Teege für ein Publikumsgespräch zu Gast in der Tanzfaktur.

Credits

Regie, Installation, Interview: Magda Korsinsky
Sound, Video: Stefan Korsinsky
Nähassistenz: Kunji Baerwald, Sofia Vannini
Interviewpartnerinnen: Binta, Denise, Matti, Miriam, Shaheen, Stephanie
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Magda Korsinsky, contact@magdakorsinsky.com

Produktion

In Zusammenarbeit mit Ballhaus Naunynstraße und Savvy Contemporary e.V. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von DENGLER und DENGLER Galerie für Schöne Künste, Stuttgart. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, Berlin, und der Rudolf Augstein Stiftung.

Biografien

Magda Korsinsky ist bildende Künstlerin, Choreografin und Dozentin mit tschechisch-eriträischem Hintergrund. Sie studierte bildende Kunst an der UdK Berlin, der ENSBA Paris und der AVU Prag und präsentierte ihre Arbeiten in zahlreichen Ausstellungen. 2012 schloss sie ihr Choreografiestudium am HZT Berlin ab. Ihre choreografischen Arbeiten wurden u. a. zu den Tanztagen in den Sophiensælen eingeladen, im Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin und in den Uferstudios gezeigt. Seit 2014 hat sie drei Tanzstücke am Ballhaus Naunynstraße realisiert: „Gazes that Matter“ sowie mit STRICKEN und „PATTERNS“ zwei Arbeiten, in denen sie Gesten mit ihrer Sozialisiertheit und Eigensinnigkeit als Ausgangspunkt für eine Reflexion Schwarzer Identitäten in Deutschand nutzt.

Stefan Korsinsky ist Diplom-Kulturwissenschaftler und Gründungsmitglied von Expander Film Berlin. Er studierte Kulturwissenschaften und ästhetische Praxis in Hildesheim sowie Soziologie und Germanistik in Bielefeld. Stefan Korsinsky arbeitet als Filmemacher und unterrichtet an der Code University of Applied Sciences Berlin.