Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Cologne and Mülheim an der Ruhr

13— 23 June 2019

Alexandra Berlinger / Martin Wagner: SHE SHOOTS, HE SHOOTS (CONSUMPTION-FREE ZONE)

Installation
14.—23.06. 00:00–24:00

Relocation
14.—22.06. 12:00–12:30, 17:00–17:30
23.06. 12.00–12.30, last relocation: 18:00–19:00

Neumarkt, tram stop “Neumarkt”
Without language

The Neumarkt is Cologne’s main drug-dealing centre — in the middle of the central shopping zone. Last year the police presence was drastically increased and many of the hiding-places used to consume drugs were made inaccessible. Alexandra Berlinger and Martin Wagner make this repression visible by mapping the provisional architectures to prevent drug consumption and erecting a wooden box in the middle of the Neumarkt similar to those used elsewhere to cover up stairwells used to consume drugs. The box is flanked by an adapted version of an advertisement for Kölsch — an addictive substance that gives an entire city society its identity – that has protected monument status. This is an experiment about desire and addiction, intoxication, fear and repression and the question of why and how society distinguishes between legal and illegal consumption.

© Robin Junicke
© Robin Junicke
© Robin Junicke
© Robin Junicke

Alexandra Berlinger studied at the Universität für angewandte Kunst in Vienna. From 2002 to 2016 she constituted the company tat ort together with Wolfgang Fiel. tat ort engaged in the critical investigation of specific situations from which they developed artistic interventions using the widest possible range of media, methods and forms of collective participation. tat ort won the BMUKK Emerging Visual Artist Award in 2008. Alexandra Berlinger’s work has been shown most recently at the Palais Thurn und Taxis in Bregenz, the Südtiroler Künstlerbund in Bozen, at the Kunsthaus Vienna and at EXPO 2015 in Milan.

Martin Wagner studied at the Universität für angewandte Kunst in Vienna and the Universität Wien. He has been a founder member of the [ dy‘na:mo ] group of artists (since 1996) and the Vienna art and music club Fluc (since 2002). His artistic practice includes installations and performances with sound and light as well as projects in public spaces. He has curated numerous exhibitions at Fluc and in public spaces.

Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Köln und Mülheim an der Ruhr

13.— 23. Juni 2019

Alexandra Berlinger / Martin Wagner: SIE SPRITZT, ER SPRITZT (KONSUMFREIRAUM)

Installation
14.—23.06. 00:00–24:00

Verschiebung
14.—22.06. 12:00–12:30, 17:00–17:30
23.06. 12.00–12.30, letzte Verschiebung: 18:00–19:00

Neumarkt, Haltestelle „Neumarkt“
Ohne Sprache

Der Neumarkt ist Kölns wichtigster Drogenumschlagplatz — mitten in der zentralen Shoppingzone. Im vergangenen Jahr wurde die Polizeipräsenz massiv erhöht, und viele der Verstecke, die für den Konsum genutzt worden waren, wurden unzugänglich gemacht. Alexandra Berlinger und Martin Wagner machen diese Verdrängung sichtbar: Sie kartografieren die provisorischen Konsumverhinderungsarchitekturen und stellen mitten auf dem Neumarkt eine Holzbox auf, wie sie an anderer Stelle ehemals für den Drogenkonsum genutzte Treppenabgänge verdeckt. Flankiert wird die Box von der Adaption einer denkmalgeschützten Reklame für Kölsch — jenes Suchtmittel, das die Identität einer ganzen Stadtgesellschaft prägt. Ein Versuch über Lust und Sucht, Rausch, Angst und Verdrängung sowie die Frage, warum und wie die Gesellschaft zwischen legalem und illegalem Konsum unterscheidet.

© Robin Junicke
© Robin Junicke
© Robin Junicke
© Robin Junicke

Alexandra Berlinger studierte an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien. Von 2002 bis 2016 bildete sie gemeinsam mit Wolfgang Fiel die Gruppe tat ort. tat ort beschäftigten sich mit der kritischen Untersuchung konkreter Situationen, aus denen sie unter Verwendung unterschiedlichster Medien, Methoden und kollektiver Beteiligungsformen künstlerische Interventionen entwickelten. tat ort wurden 2008 mit dem Emerging Visual Artist Award des BMUKK ausgezeichnet. Alexandra Berlingers Arbeiten wurden zuletzt im Palais Thurn und Taxis in Bregenz, beim Südtiroler Künstlerbund in Bozen, im Kunsthaus Wien und bei der EXPO 2015 in Mailand gezeigt.

Martin Wagner studierte an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien und an der Universität Wien. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Künstlergruppe [ dyʼna:mo ] (seit 1996) und des Kunst- und Musikclubs Fluc in Wien (seit 2002). Seine künstlerische Arbeit umfasst Installationen und Performances mit Klang und Licht sowie Projekte im öffentlichen Raum. Er kuratierte zahlreiche Ausstellungen im Fluc und im öffentlichen Raum.