Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13— 23 June 2019

PINK MON€Y

An ecstatic club night that shows how even within subcultures, power structures continue to operate uninterrupted. Money makes the queer world go around.

13.06.18 21:00 – 22:30 Tickets Schedule
16.06.18 21:30 – 23:00 Tickets Schedule

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Club
Language: English and German

Specials:
13.06. and 16.06.: Party with the PINK MON€Y Crew after the performance
14.06., 22:00: Concert A JOURNEY WITH ANNALYZER

© Suzy Bernstein
© Suzy Bernstein
© Suzy Bernstein
© Suzy Bernstein

PINK MON€Y is the currency used to buy tolerance. It is the money brought into a country by targeted lesbian, gay, bisexual, transsexual, intersexual and queer tourism. This performance by South Africa, German and Dutch artists explores the basis of this phenomenon: Who is spending this money? Who is receiving it – and for what price? 
‘PINK MON€Y’ is queer, loud and joyous. Club culture, fashion and dance meet hard facts and biographical accounts. The white European drag king with all his privileges meets a black gay man who reports of his experiences with white sex tourism; the black lesbian butch with her pronounced machismo meets a DJ who doesn’t want to be pigeonholed. Beats throb in the background and above it all hangs the question of who is allowed to live out their sexuality on what terms and who isn’t.  Race, class and sexual orientation appear as factors that are linked together in many ways, causing privilege, exclusion and violence. Not only in South Africa. ‘PINK MON€Y’ is a performance, a party and a protest all rolled into one.

Credits

By and with: Annalyzer, Djana Covic, Nico de Rooij, Kieron Jina, Mbali Mdluli, Antje Schupp
Idea: Antje Schupp
Performance: Annalyzer, Kieron Jina, Mbali Mdluli, Antje Schupp
Performing Vocalist: Anelisa Stuurman aka Annalyzer
Visuals, DJ: Mbali Mdluli aka Miz Buttons
Choreography: Kieron Jina
Scenography, Visual Dramaturgy: Djana Covic, Nico de Rooij
Costumes: Marie Fricout, Sithembiso Mngadi
Œil Extérieur: Johanna-Yasirra Kluhs
Production Management: Bernhard la Dous (born2perform), Thabiso Pule (Creative Tree)
Contact for touring enquiries: Bernhard la Dous, bernhard[a]produktionsdock.ch

Production

Eine born2perform-Produktion in Koproduktion mit Kaserne Basel, PATHOS München und Netzwerk Freier Theater (NFT). In Zusammenarbeit mit Soweto Dance Project, City of Johannesburg, University of Johannesburg Arts & Culture und Studio SIDF. Mit großzügiger Unterstützung durch Fachausschuss Tanz & Theater BS/BL, SüdKulturFonds, Fondation Nestlé pour l’Art und Jacqueline Spengler Stiftung.

Biographies

Antje Schupp studied Theatre, Film and Media Studies and Cultural Studies in Vienna and Directing for Theatre and Opera at the Bavarian Theatre Academy in Munich. She directs spoken and music theatre and develops her own performances and projects which are concerned with the relationship of the individual to her/his socio-political environment. In collaboration with Beatrice Fleischlin she has created ‘there's something about love’, ‘LOVE.STATE.KOSOVO’ and ‘Islam für Christen - Ein Crashkurs (Level A1)’; with Ariane Andereggen ‘trust us: don’t trust us’, and in 2014 the solo ‘REIN GOLD’. In March 2018 her production of the baroque opera ‘Montezuma’ by Antonio Vivaldi was premiered at Theater Ulm.

Annalyzer aka Anelisa Stuurman is a musician, singer, composer and actor.  She began as a gospel singer before studying opera music. Later she experimented with various styles of music from a range of cultures from which she evolved her own genre: Annalyzer combines the sound of her homeland South Africa with hip hop and singing.   

Djana Covic was born in Mostar, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and grew up in the Black Forest. She studied Film and Art with Harun Farocki at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna and Transmedia Art with Brigitte Kowanz at the University of the Applied Arts in Vienna. Djana Covic works as a dramaturg, performer, lighting designer and stage designer. She is a visiting lecturer at the Academy of Art and Design in Basel and a member of the Scenographic Infrastructure Development Foundation (SIDF).   

Nico de Rooij studied Theatre Studies in Amsterdam. His professional career spans an arc from popular events to advanced aesthetic installations and theatre works.  He has developed stage and lighting design concepts for Stage Entertainment, Netherlands Dance Theatre, Secret Cinema London, Ghent Light Festival, MS Dockville, Nationaloper Warschau, SpielArt, Landestheater Linz, Nationaltheater Kosovo, Music Beyond Mainstream, Freestate Art Festival and The Basel School of Design.

Kieron Jina was born in Durban. He uses performances, choreography, photography and video art to tell personal stories that explore themes of social relevance. In 2016 together with Marc Philipp Gabriel he created the dance performance ‘Shave that Gummi’ that was shown as part of the Foreign Affairs Festival at the Berliner Festspiele in ‘The Brother Moves On’. In 2017 he created the performance ‘Down To Earth’  in collaboration with Marc Philipp Gabriel for Tanzfabrik Berlin. Jina is co-founder and curator of Queer Art Night South Africa.

Mbali Mdluli was born in Soweto and studied photography at the Market Photo Workshop in Johannesburg. Her work has been presented in the group exhibition ‘Revamp’ (Dead Bunny Society, 2015), and the solo exhibitions ‘A City Reimagined’ (Parking Gallery, 2013) and ‘Unresolved’ (Room, 2015).

Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13.— 23. Juni 2019

PINK MON€Y

Ein Clubabend über das Geld der LGBTIQ-Gemeinde, der zeigt, dass selbst in Subkulturen Machtverhältnisse ungebrochen funktionieren.

13.06.18 21:00 – 22:30 Tickets Tagesprogramm
16.06.18 21:45 – 23:00 Tickets Tagesprogramm

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Club
Sprache: Englisch und Deutsch

Extras:
13.06. und 16.06.: Party mit der PINK MON€Y Crew im Anschluss an die Vorstellung
14.06., 22:00: Konzert A JOURNEY WITH ANNALYZER

© Suzy Bernstein
© Suzy Bernstein
© Suzy Bernstein
© Suzy Bernstein

PINK MON€Y ist die Währung, mit der man sich Toleranz erkauft. Es ist das Geld, das durch einen gezielten lesbischen, schwulen, bisexuellen, transsexuellen, intersexuellen und queeren Tourismus in ein Land gebracht wird. Die Performance der südafrikanischen, deutschen und niederländischen Künstler*innen geht diesem Phänomen auf den Grund: Wer gibt dieses Geld aus? Wer bekommt es – und zu welchem Preis? 
„PINK MON€Y“ ist queer, laut und lustvoll. Clubkultur, Fashion und Tanz treffen auf harte Fakten und biografische Berichte. Der weiße europäische Drag-King mit all seinen Privilegien trifft auf den schwarzen schwulen Mann, der von Erfahrungen mit weißem Sextourismus berichtet, die schwarze lesbische Butch mit ihrem markanten Machotum trifft auf eine DJ, die in keinerlei Schublade gesteckt werden will. Im Hintergrund wummern die Beats, und über alldem schwebt die Frage, wer unter welchen Bedingungen seine Sexualität ausleben darf und wer nicht. Rasse, Klasse und sexuelle Orientierung erscheinen als vielfach miteinander verknüpfte Faktoren, die Privilegien, Ausgrenzung und Gewalt erzeugen. Nicht nur in Südafrika. „PINK MON€Y“ ist Performance, Party und Protest in einem.

Credits

Von und mit: Annalyzer, Djana Covic, Nico de Rooij, Kieron Jina, Mbali Mdluli, Antje Schupp
Idee: Antje Schupp
Performance: Annalyzer, Kieron Jina, Mbali Mdluli, Antje Schupp
Performing Vocalist: Anelisa Stuurman aka Annalyzer
Visuals, DJ: Mbali Mdluli aka Miz Buttons
Choreografie: Kieron Jina
Szenografie, Bilddramaturgie: Djana Covic, Nico de Rooij
Kostüm: Marie Fricout, Sithembiso Mngadi
Œil Extérieur: Johanna-Yasirra Kluhs
Produktionsleitung: Bernhard la Dous (born2perform), Thabiso Pule (Creative Tree)
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Bernhard la Dous, bernhard[a]produktionsdock.ch

Produktion

Eine born2perform-Produktion in Koproduktion mit Kaserne Basel, PATHOS München und Netzwerk Freier Theater (NFT). In Zusammenarbeit mit Soweto Dance Project, City of Johannesburg, University of Johannesburg Arts & Culture und Studio SIDF. Mit großzügiger Unterstützung durch Fachausschuss Tanz & Theater BS/BL, SüdKulturFonds, Fondation Nestlé pour l’Art und Jacqueline Spengler Stiftung.

Biografien

Antje Schupp studierte Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft sowie Cultural Studies in Wien und Regie für Theater und Oper an der Bayerischen Theaterakademie in München. Sie inszeniert Sprechtheater, Musiktheater und entwickelt eigene Performances und Projekte, die sich mit dem Verhältnis des  Einzelnen zu seiner   gesellschaftlich-politischen Umwelt beschäftigen. In Zusammenarbeit mit Beatrice Fleischlin entstanden „there’s something about love“, „LOVE.STATE.KOSOVO“ und „Islam für Christen – Ein Crashkurs (Level A1)“; mit Ariane Andereggen entwickelte sie „trust us: don’t trust us“ und 2014 das Solo „REIN GOLD“. Im März 2018 hatte ihre Inszenierung der Barockoper „Motezuma“ von Antonio Vivaldi am Theater Ulm Premiere.  

Annalyzer aka Anelisa Stuurman ist Musikerin, Sängerin, Komponistin und Schauspielerin. Sie begann als Jugendliche mit Gospelmusik und studierte Opernmusik. Später experimentierte sie mit unterschiedlichen Musikstilen aus verschiedenen Kulturen, aus denen sie ein eigenes Genre entwickelte: Annalyzer verbindet den Sound ihrer Heimat Südafrika mit Hip-Hop und Gesang.  

Djana Covic wurde in Mostar, Bosnien-Herzegowina, geboren und wuchs im Schwarzwald auf. Sie studierte Film und Kunst bei Harun Farocki an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien und Transmediale Kunst bei Brigitte Kowanz an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien. Djana Covic arbeitet als Dramaturgin, Performerin, Lichtdesignerin und Bühnenbildnerin. Sie ist Gastlektorin an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst in Basel und Mitglied der Scenographic Infrastructure Development Foundation (SIDF).  

Nico de Rooij studierte in Amsterdam Theaterwissenschaft.
 In seiner Arbeit spannt er den Bogen von populären Veranstaltungsformaten bis zu avancierten ästhetischen Installationen und Theaterstücken. Er entwickelte und realisierte Bühnen- und Lichtkonzepte u. a. für Stage Entertainment, Netherlands Dance Theatre, Secret Cinema London, Ghent Light Festival, MS Dockville, Nationaloper Warschau, SpielArt, Landestheater Linz, Nationaltheater Kosovo, Music Beyond Mainstream, Freestate  Art Festival und The Basel School of Design .

Kieron Jina, geboren in Durban, erzählt in Performances, Choreografien, Fotografie und Videokunst persönliche Geschichten, die sich mit gesellschaftlich relevanten Fragestellungen auseinandersetzen. 2016 entwickelte er mit Marc Philipp Gabriel die Tanzperformance „Shave that Gummi“ und war im Rahmen des Festivals Foreign Affairs der Berliner Festspiele in „The Brother Moves On“ zu sehen. 2017 entstand die Performance „Down To Earth“, eine Zusammenarbeit mit Marc Philipp Gabriel für die Tanzfabrik Berlin. Kieron Jina ist Mitbegründer und Kurator der Queer Art Night South Africa.  

Mbali Mdluli, geboren in Soweto, studierte Fotografie am Market Photo Workshop in Johannesburg. Ihre Arbeiten waren zuletzt in der Gruppenausstellung „Revamp“ (Dead Bunny Society, Johannesburg, 2015) sowie in den Einzelausstellungen „A City Reimagined“ (Parking Gallery, Johannesburg, 2013) und „Unresolved“ (Room, Johannesburg, 2015) zu sehen.