Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13— 23 June 2019

Mothers of Steel

An ironic lament for the glorification of history, eastern European national myths and present day right-wing populism.

14.06.18 21:00 – 22:00 Tickets

Sold out

Schedule
16.06.18 18:30 – 19:30 Tickets Schedule
15.06.18 20:00 Tickets

Extra Performance

Schedule

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Stage 4
Language: not language-based

Special on 16.06. after the performance:
Audience discussion with the artists and Rebecca Großmann, doctoral candidate at the History Institute of Cologne University, working in the Department of Eastern European History and Programme Director in the European Division of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. Chaired by Christoph Rech, FFT Düsseldorf

© Jakub Wittchen
© Jakub Wittchen

When and where do people cry in public? Are they overcome by honest emotions? Or are they weeping out of political cunning? Are we culturally programmed to be moved? Don’t believe “tears don’t lie”! In the performance MOTHERS OF STEEL Agata Siniarska and Mădălina Dan weep for their memories of the mood of change after the fall of Communism in their homelands of Poland and Romania.  
In iconic tv images such as the shooting of the Ceaușescus and abbreviated written signs, historically significant events, places and agents meet the yawning gaps in a writing of history whose main interest is in constructing a stable national myth – from the Ottoman Empire through Communism to the European Union.  
What are the two performers here showing when they spend an hour sobbing uninterruptedly: great emotions, slapstick or irony?  With biting humour Siniarska and Dan tell the story of eastern Europe from the perspective of the victims – just as the right-wing populists in their current governments like to do. And in doing so, they raise the question of what thoughts lie behind telling this story of collective victimhood.  

Credits

Concept, Performance: Mădălina Dan, Agata Siniarska
Dramaturgical Consultants: Mila Pavicevic, Siegmar Zacharias
Sound, Video, Grafic Design: Diego Agulló
Contact for touring enquiries: Mădălina Dan, madalina_d1[a]yahoo.com

Production

Produced by Grażyna Kulczyk of the Art Stations Foundation in co-production with Konfrontacje Teatralne Festival Lublin, Fabrik Potsdam and Alfred ve Dvoře Prag.

Biographies

Mădălina Dan completed the Master’s programme at HZT Berlin in Solo/Dance/Authorship in 2016 having previously studied Choreography and Screenwriting/New Drama in Bucharest. From 1998 to 2002 she was a member of the Oleg Danovski Romanian State Ballet. Mădălina Dan was active in the contemporary dance scene in Romania for many years. She has recently worked with Sergiu Matis, Agata Siniarska, Tahni Holt, Mihaela Dancs and Alexandra Pirici. She lives in Berlin.

Agata Siniarska studied at HZT Berlin and works in a wide range of forms including performance, events, lectures and video. She is a founder member of female trouble, a collective dedicated to themes including identity, feminism and love. Driven by fundamental theoretical indecision she approaches each of her appointed tasks with fascination and passion – at least in the company of many special adventurers. She lives in Berlin.

Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13.— 23. Juni 2019

Mothers of Steel

Ein ironisches Klagelied über Geschichtsverklärung, osteuropäische Nationalmythen und den Rechtspopulismus der Gegenwart.

14.06.18 21:00 – 22:00 Tickets

AUSVERKAUFT

Tagesprogramm
16.06.18 18:30 – 19:30 Tickets

AUSVERKAUFT

Tagesprogramm
15.06.18 20:00 Tickets

Zusatzvorstellung

Tagesprogramm

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Bühne 4
Sprache: nicht sprachbasiert

Extra:
16.06. im Anschluss an die Vorstellung Publikumsgespräch mit den Künstlerinnen und Rebecca Großmann, Doktorandin am Historischen Institut der Universität zu Köln, Abteilung für Osteuropäische Geschichte sowie Referentin im Referat Europa, Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung. Moderation: Christoph Rech, FFT Düsseldorf

© Jakub Wittchen
© Jakub Wittchen

Wann und warum weinen Menschen in der Öffentlichkeit? Sind sie von ehrlichen Gefühlen überwältigt? Oder weinen sie aus politischem Kalkül? Sind wir kulturell auf Ergriffenheit programmiert? Von wegen „Tränen lügen nicht“! In der Performance MOTHERS OF STEEL beweinen Agata Siniarska und Mădălina Dan ihre Erinnerungen an die Aufbruchstimmung nach der Wende in ihren Heimatländern Polen und Rumänien.  
In ikonischen TV-Bildern wie etwa jenen von der Erschießung der Ceaușescus und stichwortartigen Schrifttafeln treffen historisch bedeutsame Ereignisse, Orte und Akteure auf die Abgründe einer Geschichtsschreibung, die sich vor allem dafür interessiert, einen stabilen Nationalmythos zu konstruieren – von den Ottomanen über den Kommunismus bis zur Europäischen Union.  
Was zeigen die beiden Performerinnen hier, wenn sie eine Stunde lang pausenlos schluchzen: große Gefühle, Slapstick oder Ironie? Mit bissigem Humor erzählen Siniarska und Dan die Geschichte Osteuropas aus der Opferperspektive, so wie es auch die Rechtspopulist*innen in den gegenwärtigen Regierungen gerne tun. Und stellen damit die Frage in den Raum, mit welchem Hintergedanken diese Geschichte von der kollektiven Opferrolle erzählt wird.

Credits

Konzept, Performance: Mădălina Dan, Agata Siniarska
Dramaturgische Beratung: Mila Pavicevic, Siegmar Zacharias
Sound, Video, Grafikdesign: Diego Agulló
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Mădălina Dan, madalina_d1[a]yahoo.com

Produktion

Eine Produktion der Art Stations Foundation von Grażyna Kulczyk in Koproduktion mit Konfrontacje Teatralne Festival Lublin, Fabrik Potsdam und Alfred ve Dvoře Prag.

Biografien

Mădălina Dan schloss 2016 den Master Solo/Dance/Authorship am HZT Berlin ab, zuvor studierte sie Choreografie und Drehbuch/Neue Dramatik in Bukarest. Von 1998 bis 2002 war sie Mitglied des Rumänischen Staatsballetts Oleg Danovski. Mădălina Dan war über viele Jahre in der zeitgenössischen Tanzszene in Rumänien aktiv. Zuletzt arbeitete sie mit Sergiu Matis, Agata Siniarska, Tahni Holt, Mihaela Dancs und Alexandra Pirici. Sie lebt in Berlin.  

Agata Siniarska studierte am HZT Berlin und arbeitet in ganz unterschiedlichen Formaten wie Performance, Event, Vortrag und Video. Sie ist Gründungsmitglied von female trouble, einem Kollektiv, das sich Themen wie Identität, Feminismus und Liebe widmet. Getrieben von einer grundlegenden theoretischen Unschlüssigkeit begegnet sie jeder gestellten Aufgabe mit Faszination und Leidenschaft – zumeist in Gesellschaft vieler besonderer Abenteurer*innen. Sie lebt in Berlin.