Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Cologne and Mülheim an der Ruhr

13— 23 June 2019

Jenseits der Natur — Volksherrschaft im Garten

Do away with nature and bring on politics! Club Real has established a community government in Vienna where all living creatures from snails to chestnut trees are equal members of a single political body. In Düsseldorf they will open the State Archive and present the work of the Parliament of Organisms.

14.06.19 17:00 – open end Schedule
15.06.19 16:00 – 22:00 Schedule
16.06.19 16:00 – open end Schedule
20.06.19 17:00 – open end Schedule
21.06.19 16:00 – 22:00 Schedule
22.06.19 16:00 – 22:00 Schedule

Brause
Language: German or English on request

Entry is free of charge.

Extras:
14.06. 22:00 Party with DJ Lenz
16.06. 16:00 Audience discussion in German with the artists and Dr. Hannes Anbelang, evolutionary biologist, University of Helsinki. Chaired by: Matthias Frense, Artistic director Ringlokschuppen Ruhr
16.06. 21:00 BBQ
20.06. 21:00 BBQ

© Michael Indenbaum
© Michael Indenbaum
© Club Real
© Florian Trendelenburg

A census of the Vienna community government on the site of a former greenhouse counted 450 different organisms. From these, 15 organisms were balloted, each to be represented in parliament by 1 human being — they range from bacteria and single cell organisms to vertebrates and organisms that have recently immigrated. The garden parliament voted on motions such as that of the stinging nettles who applied to take over the entire area, or that of the rye to force back shrubs and weeds by trimming them. The asylum lawyer advocated preserving the Pied Shield Beetle that is threatened by extinction in Lower Austria. By applying the results of the votes the community government continues to develop in a democratic process. Nature as a playground for human beings is abolished and transformed into part of the political community with equal rights.

In Düsseldorf Club Real invites the audience to explore archive material from the community government in Vienna together and to engage with politics in an unaccustomed and radical manner: what happens when living creatures that have been inaudible and invisible until nowassume power over their living space? How can I make policy for someone with whom I can only communicate in limited fashion? And how do representative politics actually work?

Credits

By and with: Club Real und Gästen
Contact for touring enquiries: Marianne Ramsay-Sonneck, m.ramsay-sonneck[a]clubreal.de

Production

A project by Club Real, funded by KÖR Kunst im öffentlichen Raum Wien in collaboration with brut Wien. Supported by Kulturabteilung and the district of Floridsdorf.

Biography

Club Real has been realising participatory site-specific projects since 2000. In installations, one-to-one encounters, political role play and participatory urban development projects they invite audiences to join in devising alternative constructs of reality. These include the performative installation ‘Der Berg’ (2005) and the cultural practice ‘Das Ahnenamt’ in the former Palast der Republik in Berlin as well as a museum of Islamic- Austrian relations in Vienna (‘Geliebter Feind’, 2010). In Plovdiv they transformed the ruins of a failed investment in a shopping centre into the location for a horror novel (2010). In Frankfurt an der Oder and Słubice Club Real devised practices for collective art production in the project ‘Folkstheater / Teatr Ludowy’ (2015–2017). And in 2018 they edited the book ‘Participation City Theatre’ for the Verlag Theater der Zeit.

Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Köln und Mülheim an der Ruhr

13.— 23. Juni 2019

Jenseits der Natur — Volksherrschaft im Garten


Weg mit der Natur — her mit der Politik! Club Real hat in Wien eine Volksherrschaft gegründet, in der alle Lebewesen von der Schnecke bis zur Kastanie gleichberechtigte Mitglieder einer politischen Gemeinschaft sind. In Düsseldorf wird das Staatsarchiv geöffnet und die Arbeit des Organismenparlaments vorgestellt.

14.06.19 17:00 – open end Tagesprogramm
15.06.19 16:00 – 22:00 Tagesprogramm
16.06.19 16:00 – open end Tagesprogramm
20.06.19 17:00 – open end Tagesprogramm
21.06.19 16:00 – 22:00 Tagesprogramm
22.06.19 16:00 – 22:00 Tagesprogramm

Der Eintritt ist frei.

Brause
Sprache: auf Wunsch Deutsch oder Englisch

Extras:
14.06. 22:00 Party mit DJ Lenz
16.06. 21:00 BBQ
20.06. 21:00 BBQ

© Michael Indenbaum
© Michael Indenbaum
© Club Real
© Florian Trendelenburger

In der Wiener Volksherrschaft auf der Fläche eines ehemaligen Gewächshauses wurden bei der Volkszählung 450 Organismen erfasst. Daraus wurden 15 Organismen ausgelost, die im Parlament durch je eine menschliche Person repräsentiert werden — von Bakterien und Einzellern bis hin zu Wirbeltieren und neu zugewanderten Organismen. Das Gartenparlament stimmte über Anträge wie den der Brennnessel ab, die gesamte Fläche zu übernehmen, oder den des Roggen, Gehölze und Wildpflanzen durch Beschnitt zurückzudrängen. Die Asylanwältin sprach sich dafür aus, der Schattenbrust-Erdwanze Asyl zu gewähren, die in Niederösterreich vom Aussterben bedroht ist. Mit der Umsetzung der Abstimmungsergebnisse entwickelt sich die Volksherrschaft in einem demokratischen Prozess stetig fort. Die Natur wird als Spielwiese des Menschen abgeschafft und in einen gleichberechtigten Teil der politischen Gemeinschaft verwandelt.

In Düsseldorf lädt Club Real das Publikum dazu ein, gemeinsam das Archivmaterial aus der Volksherrschaft in Wien zu erkunden und sich auf ungewohnte und radikale Weise mit Politik auseinanderzusetzen: Was passiert, wenn Lebewesen, die bisher unhör- und unsichtbar waren, die Macht über ihren Lebensraum übernehmen? Wie kann ich für jemanden Politik machen, mit dem ich mich nur bedingt austauschen kann? Und wie funktioniert repräsentative Politik überhaupt?

Credits

Von und mit: Club Real und Gästen
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Marianne Ramsay-Sonneck, m.ramsay-sonneck[a]clubreal.de

Produktion

Ein Projekt von Club Real, gefördert von KÖR Kunst im öffentlichen Raum Wien und in Koproduktion mit brut Wien. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und des Bezirks Floridsdorf.

Biografie

Club Real verwirklicht seit 2000 partizipative, ortsspezifische Projekte. Mit Installationen, 1:1-Begegnungen, politischen Rollenspielen und partizipativen Stadtentwicklungsprojekten laden sie die Besucher*innen dazu ein, alternative Realitätsentwürfe mitzugestalten. Dazu zählen u. a. die performative Installation „Der Berg“ (2005) und die kulturelle Praxis „Das Ahnenamt“ im ehemaligen Berliner Palast der Republik sowie ein Museum der islamisch-österreichischen Beziehungen in Wien („Geliebter Feind”, 2010); in Plovdiv verwandelten sie die Investmentruine eines Einkaufszentrums in den Schauplatz eines Horrorromans (2010). In Frankfurt an der Oder und Słubice entwickelte Club Real im Projekt „Folkstheater / Teatr Ludowy“ Praktiken zur kollektiven Kunstproduktion (2015–2017). 2018 gaben sie im Verlag Theater der Zeit das Buch „Partizipation Stadt Theater“ heraus.