Impulse Theater Festival

Cologne, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4–14 June 2020

HATE ME, TENDER. SOLO FOR FUTURE FEMINISM


Purity, innocence and perfectio — these are the attributes of the Virgin Mary. In a solo filled with humour and sensuality Teresa Vittucci searches for the feminist potential in this icon. She shows how the myth of a woman being sealed until she first has sex continues to influence notions of femininity to this day.

05.06.20 19:00 – 20:00 Schedule
06.06.20 21:00 – 22:00 Schedule
10.06.20 19:00 – 20:00 Schedule
13.06.20 21:00 – 22:00 Schedule

studiobühneköln, Probebühne
Language: English
Suitable for ages 18 and above

© Yushiko Kusano
© Yushiko Kusano
© Yushiko Kusano

In Christianity, Mary is seen as the ideal woman — because she unites what cannot be united, as both a virgin and a mother. Real women can never live up to this ideal. For them, the cult of Mary presents them with an impossible challenge. This makes Mary a source of self-hatred and of misogyny.

But Mary is also merciful, vulnerable and filled with love. Teresa Vittucci creates images that respectfully grant space to these qualities — while unsparingly highlighting all the lies and false expectations that surround female virginity. A single silent image grows into a furious indictment. Vittucci sweeps away the story of the virgin’s hymen as a seal that guarantees freshness until it is pierced the first time she has sex. The icon empowers herself.

Credits

Concept and Performance: Teresa Vittucci
Dramaturgical Advice: Benjamin Egger, Veza Fernández, Rafał Pierzyński
Stage: Jasmin Wiesli, Teresa Vittucci
Production Management: groundworkers // Kira Koplin
Production: OH DEAR Zürich
Contact for touring enquiries: Kira Koplin, kira[a]groundworkers.at

Production

Co-production: Tanzhaus Zürich, Zürcher Theater Spektakel. Developed as part of the PREMIO Prize for Emerging Artists in Theatre and Dance. Funded by Migros-Kulturprozent, Pro Helvetia, Ernst Göhner Stiftung.

With special thanks to Julia Haenni, Gina Gurtner and Simone Aughterlony.

Biography

Teresa Vittucci is a choreographer and performer. She is a graduate of the Conservatoire in Vienna, the Ailey School and the Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance (SEAD) and completed her M.A. at the Academy of Fine Arts in Berne. Since 2013 she has worked as a solo performer and has devised such pieces as ‘UNLEASH’ (2012), ‘LUNCHTIME’ (2015), ‘ALL EYES ON’ (2017) and ‘HATE ME, TENDER’ (2018). She has collaborated with numerous artists including Simone Aughterlony, Marie-Caroline Hominal, Trajal Harrell and Nils Amadeus Lange. Teresa Vittucci is the Young Associate Artist (YAA!) at Tanzhaus Zürich for 2019/20. In 2019 she won the Swiss Dance Prize for HATE ME, TENDER.

Impulse Theater Festival

Köln, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4.–14. Juni 2020

HATE ME, TENDER. SOLO FOR FUTURE FEMINISM


Reinheit, Unschuld, Perfektion — das sind die Attribute der Jungfrau Maria. In einem lust- und humorvollen Solo sucht Teresa Vittucci nach dem feministischen Potenzial dieser Ikone und zeigt, wie der Mythos der bis zum ersten Sex versiegelten Frau bis heute Vorstellungen von Weiblichkeit beeinflusst.

05.06.20 19:00 – 20:00 Tagesprogramm
06.06.20 21:00 – 22:00 Tagesprogramm
10.06.20 19:00 – 20:00 Tagesprogramm
13.06.20 21:00 – 22:00 Tagesprogramm

studiobühneköln, Probebühne
Sprache: Englisch
Altersfreigabe: ab 18 Jahren

© Yushiko Kusano
© Yushiko Kusano
© Yushiko Kusano

Maria gilt im Christentum als die ideale Frau. Denn sie vereinbart das Unvereinbare, sie ist Jungfrau und Mutter zugleich. Reale Frauen können diesem Ideal niemals gerecht werden. Der Marienkult stellt sie vor eine unerfüllbare Herausforderung. Damit ist Maria eine der Quellen von Selbsthass und Hass auf Frauen.

Aber Maria ist auch barmherzig, verletzlich und voller Liebe. Teresa Vittucci schafft Bilder, die diesen Eigenschaften andächtig Raum geben — und zeigt schonungslos auf all die Lügen und falschen Vorstellungen rund um die jungfräuliche Frau. Aus einem stillen Bild erwächst eine wütende Anklage. Vittucci räumt auf mit der Geschichte vom Jungfernhäutchen als einem Verschluss mit Frischegarantie, der beim ersten Sex durchstoßen wird. Die Ikone ermächtigt sich.

Credits

Konzept und Performance: Teresa Vittucci
Dramaturgische Beratung: Benjamin Egger, Veza Fernández, Rafał Pierzyński
Bühne: Jasmin Wiesli, Teresa Vittucci
Produktionsmanagement: groundworkers // Kira Koplin
Produktion: OH DEAR Zürich
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Kira Koplin, kira[a]groundworkers.at

Produktion

Koproduktion: Tanzhaus Zürich, Zürcher Theater Spektakel. Entwickelt im Rahmen des PREMIO-Nachwuchspreises für Theater und Tanz, Espacio do Tempo Montemor. Gefördert von Migros-Kulturprozent, Pro Helvetia, Ernst Göhner Stiftung.

Mit besonderem Dank an Julia Haenni, Gina Gurtner und Simone Aughterlony.

Biografie

Teresa Vittucci ist Choreografin und Performerin. Sie absolvierte das Konservatorium in Wien, die Ailey School sowie die Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance (SEAD) und machte ihren M.A. an der Hochschule der Künste Bern. Seit 2013 arbeitet sie als Soloperformerin und entwickelt Stücke wie „UNLEASH“ (2012), „LUNCHTIME“ (2015), „ALL EYES ON“ (2017) und HATE ME, TENDER (2018). Sie kollaborierte mit zahlreichen Künstler*innen, darunter Simone Aughterlony, Marie-Caroline Hominal, Trajal Harrell und Nils Amadeus Lange. 2019/20 ist Teresa Vittucci Young Associate Artist (YAA!) des Tanzhaus Zürich. Mit HATE ME, TENDER gewann sie 2019 den Schweizer Tanzpreis.