Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Cologne and Mülheim an der Ruhr

13— 23 June 2019

HAPPYOLOGY – TEARS OF JOY


Can theatre make people happy? In HAPPYOLOGY you can try this out! Three performers join the audience for an expedition into the shallows of life coaching, well-being courses and positive psychology.

20.06.19 21:00 – 22:15 Tickets

SOLD OUT

Schedule
21.06.19 19:00 – 20:15 Tickets

Additional performance (SOLD OUT)

Schedule
21.06.19 21:00 – 22:15 Tickets

SOLD OUT

Schedule

tanzhaus nrw
Language: English

Special on 21.06. after the second performance:
Audience discussion in English and German with the artist and Bianca Liebrand, psychological counsellor for Sekten-Info Nordrhein-Westfalen e.V. Chaired by: Katja Grawinkel-Claassen, dramaturg FFT Düsseldorf

© Dorothea Tuch
© Dorothea Tuch
© Dorothea Tuch

In a high performance society it is not a private matter whether one faces the world optimistically or not. Because only people who are full of positive energy can deliver performance and free the solidary community from the task of cushioning potential failure. This social pressure has given rise to a hige array of workshops, training and coaching sessions that sell physical work and auto suggestion as the key to happiness. In the logic of these techniques a successful life is the direct result of invidual effort and is never the responsibility of others and certainly not that of the system as a whole.

Dragana Bulut and her two performers take to the stage as coaches and trainers and together with the audience try out various techniques to increase the well-being of both body and soul, for example the ‘power stand’: spend several minutes every day in a Superman pose, and see how it increases your self-confidence! A show about the ideology of self-improvement and how happiness has been instrumentalised.

Credits

Concept, artistic direction, choreography, performance: Dragana Bulut
By and with: Andrew Hardwidge, Kareth Schaffer (replaced in the performances for the Impulse Theater Festival by Dani Brown)
Dramaturgy: Ana Vujanović
Lighting design: Joseph Wegmann
Sound design: Neda Sanai
Artistic assistance: Helen Schröder
Press and production: björn & björn
Contact for touring enquiries: björn & björn, hello[a]bjoernundbjoern.de; Dragana Bulut, draganabulut[a]gmail.com

Production

A production by Dragana Bulut. Co-produced by HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Funded by the Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. With support from PACT Zollverein Essen and Station Service for Contemporary Dance Belgrade.

Biographies

Dani Brown was born and raised in Rochester, NY, USA. After various, shall we say, cultural exchanges Dani completed her Bachelor of Dance, specialization Dance Maker at the ArtEZ College of Art in Arnhem in the Netherlands. Today she calls Berlin home and works internationally as a choreographer, performer, researcher and teacher. Her work and collaborations have been presented worldwide. She likes her job.

Dragana Bulut graduated with an MA in Solo/Dance/Authorship at the Hochschulübergreifendes Zentrum Tanz of the Universität der Künste Berlin. Since 2005 she has developed her own choreographic work, in which she questions different configurations of aesthetics, labour and economics through the staging of social choreographies. For her playful, yet critical pieces she won the Prix Jardin d’Europe 2010 European Prize for Young Choreographers. In 2013/15 she was Artist-in-Residence at Akademie Schloss Solitude.

Andrew Hardwidge works predominately with dancing and choreography. His works entangle different stories, processes and embodiments through a parasitic practice of performance making, collaboration, interpretation, hosting, research, video, performing and writing. As a performer Andrew currently works with Dragana Bulut, Joe Moran, Stav Yeni, Adam Linder and Ligia Lewis and previously with a. o. Tino Sehgal, Arcade Fire, Dan Graham, Choy Ka Fai and Jose Luis Vidal.

Neda Sanai is a DJ & and producer who moves in the queer underground scene of Europe. With their mixing of different club genres, including rap, R&B, bass music, Jersey club, 2 step, all mixed up in an ocean of twisted pop acappella, the vibe is always intense-warped-sexy. They are a resident DJ for ByteFM Female:Pressure radio show and has hosted several shows at Berlin Community Radio. As Nedalot they have opened for acts like DIPLO, A.G Cook and Zebra Katz and also arrange underground queer club nights in Berlin where usually music, art and politics meet. They have worked for artists such as CocoRosie on the album ‘Grey Ocean’, Massimiliano Pagliara’s EP ‘Toxic Love’ and on the debut album ‘Tessa’ by DJ tINI.

Kareth Schaffer is a choreographer and performer. Her works include a. o. a diptych about the tragic heroine Cassandra (‘Cassandra Has Turned ½’, 2017/18), an examination of foley as a choreographic tool (‘Unheard Of’, 2016) and a conceptual mudwrestling tournament with 100,000 views on YouTube. She was named “New Talent 2016” and nominated for “Female Dancer of the Year 2018” in the yearbook of ‘tanz’ magazine. In 2018 she was awarded the Pina Bausch Fellowship in cooperation with Mekar Bhuana Center in Denpasar, Bali. She has worked with and for artists such as deufert&plischke, Tino Sehgal, Stefanie Wenner, Christian Falsnaes, Dragana Bulut and Roni Katz.

Joseph Wegmann studied directing and design at New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts. He worked as a lighting and media designer in collaboration with various companies and developed work that sought to break down narrative theatrical forms, telling stories instead through visuals, the sensory and rhythm. Currently, he works as a designer with Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends, Kareth Schaffer, Ligia Lewis and Dragana Bulut, and as a production manager under the label björn & björn. He developed showings at English Theatre Berlin, and most recently, ‘dissociate’ was shown as a work-in-progress as part of Dirty Debüt at Sophiensaele Berlin.

Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Köln und Mülheim an der Ruhr

13.— 23. Juni 2019

HAPPYOLOGY – TEARS OF JOY


Kann Theater glücklich machen? In HAPPYOLOGY können Sie es ausprobieren! Drei Darsteller*innen begeben sich gemeinsam mit dem Publikum auf eine Expedition in die Untiefen von Life-Coachings, Well-being-Kursen und positiver Psychologie.

20.06.19 21:00 – 22:15 Tickets Tagesprogramm
21.06.19 21:00 – 22:15 Tickets Tagesprogramm

tanzhaus nrw
Sprache: Englisch

Extra:
21.06. im Anschluss an die Vorstellung: Publikumsgespräch in englischer und deutscher Sprache mit der Künstlerin und Bianca Liebrand, psychologische Beraterin bei Sekten-Info Nordrhein-Westfalen e.V. Moderation: Katja Grawinkel-Claassen, Dramaturgin FFT Düsseldorf

© Dorothea Tuch
© Dorothea Tuch
© Dorothea Tuch

In der Leistungsgesellschaft ist es keine Privatsache, ob man der Welt optimistisch gegenübertritt oder nicht. Denn nur wer voller positiver Energie ist, kann Leistung bringen und die Solidargemeinschaft von der Aufgabe befreien, ein mögliches Scheitern abzufedern. Aus diesem sozialen Zwang ist ein riesiges Angebot an Workshops, Trainings und Coachings entstanden, die Körperarbeit und Autosuggestion als Schlüssel zum Glück verkaufen. Ein gelingendes Leben ist in der Logik dieser Techniken das direkte Resultat individueller Anstrengung und liegt niemals in der Verantwortung anderer, schon gar nicht in der des Systems.

Dragana Bulut und ihre beiden Performer*innen treten als Coaches und Trainer*innen auf die Bühne und erproben mit dem Publikum verschiedene Techniken zur Steigerung des körperlichen wie seelischen Wohlbefindens, zum Beispiel den power stand: Stellen Sie sich täglich mehrere Minuten hin wie Superman, und schon steigt Ihr Selbstbewusstsein! Eine Show über die Ideologie der Selbstoptimierung und die Instrumentalisierung des Glücks.

Credits

Konzept, künstlerische Leitung, Choreografie, Performance: Dragana Bulut
Von und mit: Andrew Hardwidge, Kareth Schaffer (für die Aufführungen beim Impulse Theater Festival ersetzt durch Dani Brown)
Dramaturgie: Ana Vujanović
Lichtdesign: Joseph Wegmann
Sounddesign: Neda Sanai
Künstlerische Mitarbeit: Helen Schröder
Presse und Produktion: björn & björn
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: björn & björn, hello[a]bjoernundbjoern.de; Dragana Bulut, bulutdragana[a]gmail.com

Produktion

Eine Produktion von Dragana Bulut. In Koproduktion mit HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Unterstützt durch PACT Zollverein Essen und Station Service for Contemporary Dance Belgrade.

Biografien

Dani Brown stammt aus Rochester im Staat New York (USA). Nach einigen, man könnte sagen „kulturellen Austauscherfahrungen“ schloss sie ihr Tanzstudium mit der Spezialisierung „Dance Maker“ am ArtEZ Institute of the Arts in Arnheim mit einem Bachelor ab. Mittlerweile ist sie in Berlin zu Hause und arbeitet international als Choreografin, Performerin, Forscherin und Dozentin. Ihre eigenen Arbeiten und ihre Projekte mit anderen Künstler*innen werden weltweit gezeigt. Sie mag ihre Arbeit.

Dragana Bulut studierte Solo/Dance/Authorship am Hochschulübergreifenden Zentrum Tanz Berlin der Universität der Künste Berlin. Seit 2005 entwickelt sie eigene choreografische Arbeiten, in denen sie durch die Aneignung gesellschaftlicher Choreografien verschiedene Konfigurationen von Ästhetik, Arbeit und Ökonomie hinterfragt. Für ihre spielerischen und gleichzeitig kritischen Arbeiten wurde sie mit dem Prix Jardin d’Europe 2010 European Prize for Young Choreographers ausgezeichnet. In der Generation 2013/15 war sie Stipendiatin der Akademie Schloss Solitude.

Andrew Hardwidge arbeitet v. a. mit Tanz und Choreografie. Seine Arbeiten verbinden verschiedene Geschichten, Prozesse und Verkörperungen in einer Praxis, die Performancemachen, Kollaborieren, Interpretieren, Gastgeben, Recherchieren, Videomachen, Performen und Schreiben umfasst. Als Performer arbeitet er zurzeit mit Dragana Bulut, Joe Moran, Stav Yeni, Adam Linder und Ligia Lewis, zuvor war er an Projekten von u. a. Tino Sehgal, Arcade Fire, Dan Graham, Choy Ka Fai und Jose Luis Vidalbeteiligt.

Neda Sanai ist DJ und Produzentin und bewegt sich im queeren Underground Europas. Sie mixt verschiedene Clubgenres wie Rap, R&B, Bass Music, Jersey Club und 2 Step zu einem Ozean von getwistetem Pop-Acapella — mit intensiven sexy Vibes. Als Nedalot ist sie Resident-DJ bei ByteFMs „female:pressure“ und war Gastgeberin verschiedener Sendungen beim Berlin Community Radio. Sie war Opener für Acts wie DIPLO, A.G. Cook und Zebra Katz und organisiert in Berlin queere Underground-Clubnächte, bei denen Musik, Kunst und Politik aufeinandertreffen. Sanai hat an CocoRosies Album „Grey Ocean“ mitgewirkt sowie an Massimiliano Pagliaras EP „Toxic Love“ und DJ tINIs Debüt „Tessa“.

Kareth Schaffer ist Choreografin und Performerin. Zu ihren Arbeiten zählen u. a. ein Diptychon über die tragische Heldin Kassandra („Cassandra Has Turned 1/2“, 2017/18), ein Stück über das Geräuschemachen als choreografisches Werkzeug („Unheard Of“, 2016) und ein konzeptueller Schlammwrestling-Wettbewerb mit 100.000 YouTube-Views. Das Jahrbuch Tanz nannte sie als „Neues Talent 2016“ und nominierte sie als „Tänzerin des Jahres 2018“. 2018 erhielt sie das Pina Bausch-Stipendium des Mekar Bhuana Center in Denpasar, Bali. Sie arbeitet mit und für Künstler*innen wie deufert&plischke, Tino Sehgal, Stefanie Wenner, Christian Falsnaes, Dragana Bulut und Roni Katz.

Joseph Wegmann studierte Regie und Design an der Tisch School of the Arts der New York University. Er arbeitete als Licht- und Mediendesigner für verschiedene Künstler*innen und entwickelte Arbeiten, die versuchten, narrative Theaterformen aufzubrechen und Geschichten stattdessen durch Visuals, das Sensorische und Rhythmus zu erzählen. Zurzeit arbeitet er als Designer für Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends, Kareth Schaffer, Ligia Lewis und Dragana Bulut sowie als Produktionsleiter bei björn & björn. Am English Theatre Berlin zeigte er verschiedene Showings und bei Dirty Debüt in den Sophiensælen das Work-in-Progress „dissociate“.