Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Cologne and Mülheim an der Ruhr

13— 23 June 2019

Great Depressions


Rocky crags, a mammoth, swaths of mist: the opulent stage design transports the audience to the cave in the Neandertal, where the skeleton of an early human was found in 1865. Here a fur-clad actor reveals the vulnerability of his soul in a touching monologue and searches for an answer to the question of whether — and, if yes, then how — we want to live together.

20.06.19 19:00 – 20:10 Tickets

SOLD OUT

Schedule
22.06.19 20:00 – 21:10 Tickets

SOLD OUT

Schedule

FFT Juta
Language: German with English surtitles

Special on 20.06. after the performance:
Audience discussion in German with the artists and Rüdiger Jähne, advisor to the SKM Bundesverband on working with boys and men. Chaired by: Wilma Renfordt, dramaturg, Impulse Theater Festival

© Jakob Engel
© Jakob Engel
© Jakob Engel

GREAT DEPRESSIONS links the story of the performer Malte Scholz’s personal experience of depression with the historical narrative of the discovery of Neandertal man, who, contrary to previous assumptions, was not an aggressive loner but lived in a caring and solidary community. Scholz expresses his thoughts on a high performance society, depression and masculinity. He searches for the emotion behind a controlled façade. He asks how it is that he is still alive and able to share this evening with the audience. Meanwhile the musician Jacob Bussmann sits at the organ in a mammoth costume singing extremely tender versions of hits from the baroque to the present day.

A show that does not try to be anything more than an individual portrait yet creates an image of universal beauty: here it can be enough for a person simply to be present and to have withstood the rigours of the world.

Credits

With: Jacob Bussmann and Malte Scholz plus Elias Bollinger, Špela Mastnak and Sebastian Weygold
Director: Jan Philipp Stange
Stage design: Jakob Engel
Dramaturgy: Kris Merken
Costumes: Maylin Habig
Light design: Simon Möllendorf
Technical director: Nils Wildegans
Music: Jacob Bussmann
Text: Kris Merken, Malte Scholz, Jan Philipp Stange
Assistant stage design: Sean Mullan
Production management: Carmen Salinas
Contact for touring enquiries: Carmen Salinas, salinas[a]janphilippstange.com

Production

A project by Stange Produktionen supported by studioNAXOS, Kulturamt der Stadt Frankfurt, Kulturfonds Rhein-Main and Naspa Stiftung.

Biographies

Elias Bollinger trained as a state-approved chorus and ensemble leader and since 2016 has studied percussion at the Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Frankfurt am Main. Alongside his classical training, which covers the entire spectrum of percussion, he is very interested in jazz and popular music and the drum set playing that goes with them. He can be seen with the HR Rundfunkorchester and the Neue Philharmonie Frankfurt, among others.

Jacob Bussmann works as a musician and performer. He studied Piano at the Musikhochschule Frankfurt and the Sibelius Akademie in Helsinki and then Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen. He works on theatrical, performative and musical projects in a variety of groupings: in collaboration with Rahel Kesselring he created ‘The Living Theatrograph’ and ‘Sophisticated Songs’ and as part of the company ScriptedReality performances including ‘Macchia’, ‘Unser Arm gegen Uns!’ and ‘Wie wir es wollen’. As a performer and musician Bussmann worked most recently with Friederike Thielmann and Julia Krause, Zaungäste and Caroline Creutzburg.

Jakob Engel studied Fine Art at the HfbK Hamburg and Film at the Kunsthochschule für Medien in Cologne. He works as a stage designer, director, filmmaker and photographer. Engel was awarded scholarships by the BMBF and the HfbK Circle of Friends and is a winner of the LICHTER Art Award. His film works have been exhibited at venues including the Kunsthalle Hamburg.

Siria Celine Ertel studies Cultural Anthropology and Philosophy at the Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. For several years she has been a member of the Youth Club at Schauspiel Frankfurt and active in a company at the Schools’ Theatre Studio. She has completed an internship in scene painting at Stadttheater Ulm and a six-month placement at studioNAXOS in Frankfurt.

Maylin Habig studied Art in the Department of Stage and Costume Design at the Hochschule für Gestaltung in Offenbach and Time and Space Art at the Academy of Fine Arts Helsinki. She lives and works as a freelance artist in Frankfurt, creating stage and costume designs for theatre and performance. She is a member of studioNAXOS and the group of artists Eleganz aus Reflex.

Kris Merken studied Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen. Since 2009 he has worked internationally as a freelance dramaturg with directors such as Boris Nikitin, Anna-Sophie Mahler, Corinne Maier, Zuleikha Chaudhuri and in collaboration with theatre collectives and artists including Monster Truck, SKART, Infinite Souls and Mithu Sen. In 2015 he was awarded a scholarship to the KHOJ International Artists Association Residency in New Delhi, and in 2016 the Goethe-Institut Bangalore’s bangaloREsidency. He is currently working with Malte Scholz on the project ‘How my father transformed into a cyborg’.

Simon Möllendorf is a freelance director and lighting designer and a co-founder of studioNAXOS, where he has premiered his own works since 2014. After graduating from high school he worked in films and studied Theology, Philosophy and Theatre Studies in Berlin and Vienna before switching to the directing course at the Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Frankfurt am Main. Since 2013 he has devised stage performances with young people in interdisciplinary projects that are part of their cultural education.

Carmen Salinas is a freelance production manager and dramaturg. She studied Art History at the Universitat de Barcelona and Dramaturgy at the Goethe Universität in Frankfurt. In 2018 she took part in the Association of Independent Theatre Venues’ Academy for Performing Arts Producers. She has worked for various institutions and companies in Frankfurt (Tanzplattform Rhein-Main, Ensemble Modern) and for theatremakers such as Felix Kracke, Simon Möllendorf, ravvina/veit and Caroline Creutzburg gearbeitet. She has worked together with Jan Philipp Stange since 2017.

Malte Scholz is a freelance writer, speaker and actor. He studied Theatre, Film and Media Studies in Frankfurt and Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen. His principal interest is in the grey zone where the biographical, the sexual and fiction merge. His last production ‘Production of a False Sermon on Death’ (together with Boris Nikitin) was presented at Staatstheater Nürnberg. Their previous productions ‘Woyzeck’, ‘F is for Fake’ and ‘Martin Luther Propaganda Play’ were presented at the Impulse Theater Festival and numerous other festivals in Europe and beyond. ‘Great Depressions’ is his first collaboration with Jan Philipp Stange.

Jan Philipp Stange is a director, writer and performer. He studied Literature, Philosophy, Directing and Theatre Studies. His productions operate around a theatre of failure. In 2014 he co-founded studioNAXOS in Frankfurt, and has been part of its Leading Team ever since. His most recent productions include ‘Combina’, an adaptation of Bertolt Brecht’s ‘Messingkauf’ (2015, Ringlokschuppen Ruhr), ‘Daily News’ (2016, studioNAXOS), the operetta ‘Blue Mask’ (2017, Theater Osnabrück), the spacewalk ‘All in All’ (2017, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Frankfurt) and ‘The Weather’ (2018, Thalia Theater, Hamburg).

Impulse Theater Festival

Köln, Mühlheim an der Ruhr, Düsseldorf

Save the date: 14.–24. Juni 2020

Great Depressions


Schroffe Felsen, ein Mammut, Nebelschwaden: Das opulente Bühnenbild versetzt das Publikum in jene Höhle im Neandertal, in der 1865 das Skelett eines frühen Menschen gefunden wurde. Hier zeigt ein Schauspieler im Fellgewand in einem berührenden Monolog die Verwundbarkeit seiner Seele und sucht nach einer Antwort auf die Frage, ob und, wenn ja, wie wir zusammenleben wollen.

20.06.19 19:00 – 20:10 Tickets

AUSVERKAUFT

Tagesprogramm
22.06.19 20:00 – 21:10 Tickets

AUSVERKAUFT

Tagesprogramm

FFT Juta
Sprache: Deutsch mit englischen Übertiteln

Extra:
20.06. im Anschluss an die Vorstellung: Publikumsgespräch in deutscher Sprache mit den Künstlern und Rüdiger Jähne, Referent für Jungen- und Männerarbeit beim SKM Bundesverband. Moderation: Wilma Renfordt, Dramaturgin Impulse Theater Festival

© Jakob Engel
© Jakob Engel
© Jakob Engel

GREAT DEPRESSIONS verknüpft die individuelle Geschichte von der Depressionserkrankung des Darstellers Malte Scholz mit der historischen Erzählung von der Entdeckung des Neandertalers, der, anders als lange angenommen, kein aggressiver Einzelgänger war, sondern in einer fürsorglichen Solidargemeinschaft lebte. Scholz äußert seine Gedanken zu Leistungsgesellschaft, Depression und Männlichkeit. Er sucht nach dem Gefühl hinter der kontrollierten Fassade. Er fragt sich, wie es dazu kam, dass er noch am Leben ist und diesen Abend mit dem Publikum teilen kann. Der Musiker Jacob Bussmann im Mammutkostüm singt dazu an der Orgel mit maximaler Zärtlichkeit barocke bis zeitgenössische Hits.

Eine Show, die nicht mehr zu sein versucht als ein individuelles Porträt, aber doch ein Bild von universeller Schönheit zeichnet: Ein Mensch kann schon darin genug sein kann, dass er einfach da ist und nicht an der Welt zugrunde gegangen.

Credits

Mit: Jacob Bussmann und Malte Scholz sowie Elias Bollinger, Špela Mastnak und Sebastian Weygold
Regie: Jan Philipp Stange
Bühne: Jakob Engel
Dramaturgie: Kris Merken
Kostüm: Maylin Habig
Lichtdesign: Simon Möllendorf
Technische Leitung: Nils Wildegans
Musik: Jacob Bussmann
Text: Kris Merken, Malte Scholz, Jan Philipp Stange
Bühnenbild Assistenz: Sean Mullan
Produktionsleitung: Carmen Salinas
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen / Contact for touring enquiries: Carmen Salinas, salinas[a]janphilippstange.com

Produktion

Ein Projekt von Stange Produktionen mit freundlicher Unterstützung von studioNAXOS, des Kulturamts der Stadt Frankfurt, des Kulturfonds Rhein-Main und der Naspa Stiftung.

Biografien

Elias Bollinger machte eine Ausbildung zum staatlich geprüften Chor- und Ensembleleiter und studiert seit 2016 Schlagzeug an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main. Neben seiner klassischen Ausbildung, die die komplette Bandbreite des Schlagwerks abdeckt, hat er großes Interesse an der Jazz- und Popularmusik und dem damit verbundenen Drum-Set-Spiel. Er ist u. a. mit dem HR-Rundfunkorchester und der Neuen Philharmonie Frankfurt zu sehen.

Jacob Bussmann arbeitet als Musiker und Performer. Er studierte Klavier an der Musikhochschule Frankfurt und der Sibelius Akademie Helsinki sowie Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen. In unterschiedlichen Konstellationen erarbeitet er theatrale, performative und musikalische Projekte: In Zusammenarbeit mit Rahel Kesselring entstanden „The Living Theatrograph“ und „Sophisticated Songs“ und als Teil des Kollektivs ScriptedReality u. a. „Macchia“, „Unser Arm gegen Uns!“ und „Wie wir es wollen“. Als Performer und Musiker arbeitete Bussmann zuletzt mit Friederike Thielmann und Julia Krause, Zaungäste und Caroline Creutzburg.

Jakob Engel studierte bildende Kunst an der HfbK Hamburg sowie Film an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln. Er arbeitet als Bühnenbildner, Regisseur, bildender Künstler, Filmemacher und Fotograf. Engel war Stipendiat des BMBF und des Freundeskreises der HfbK und ist Gewinner des LICHTER Art Awards. Seine filmischen Arbeiten wurden u. a. in der Kunsthalle Hamburg gezeigt.

Siria Celine Ertel studiert an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt Kulturanthropologie und Philosophie. Seit mehreren Jahren ist sie im Jugendclub des Schauspiels Frankfurt und in einem Ensemble des Schultheaterstudios aktiv. Sie absolvierte ein Schülerpraktikum im Ulmer Stadttheater im Bereich Bühnenmalerei und ein halbjähriges Praktikum im Frankfurter studioNAXOS.

Maylin Habig studierte Kunst in der Fachrichtung Bühnen- und Kostümbild an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach und Time and Space Art an der Academy of Fine Arts Helsinki. Als freischaffende Künstlerin lebt und arbeitet sie in Frankfurt und entwirft Bühnen- und Kostümbilder für Theater und Performance. Sie ist Mitglied von studioNAXOS und der Künstlergruppe Eleganz aus Reflex.

Kris Merken studierte Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen. Seit 2009 arbeitet er als freier Dramaturg international mit Regisseur*innen wie Boris Nikitin, Anna-Sophie Mahler, Corinne Maier, Zuleikha Chaudhuri und in Kollaboration mit Theaterkollektiven und Künstler*innen wie Monster Truck, SKART, Infinite Souls und Mithu Sen. 2015 war er Stipendiat der KHOJ International Artists Association Residency in Neu-Delhi, 2016 der bangaloREsidency des Goethe-Instituts Bangalore. Zurzeit arbeitet er mit Malte Scholz an dem Projekt „How my father transformed into a cyborg“.

Simon Möllendorf ist freier Regisseur und Lichtdesigner sowie Mitbegründer von studioNAXOS, wo er seit 2014 auch seine eigenen Arbeiten uraufführt. Nach dem Abitur arbeitete er beim Film und studierte Theologie, Philosophie und Theaterwissenschaft in Berlin und Wien, bevor er für das Regiestudium an die Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main wechselte. Seit 2013 erarbeitet er in interdisziplinären Projekten in der kulturellen Bildung mit Jugendlichen Bühnenperformances.

Carmen Salinas ist freie Produktionsleiterin und Dramaturgin. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte an der Universitat de Barcelona und Dramaturgie an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. 2018 nahm sie an der Akademie für Performing Arts Producer des Bündnisses freier Theaterhäuser e.V. teil. Sie hat für verschiedene Institutionen und Gruppen in Frankfurt (Tanzplattform Rhein-Main, Ensemble Modern) und für Theaterschaffende wie Felix Kracke, Simon Möllendorf, ravvina/veit und Caroline Creutzburg gearbeitet. Mit Jan Philipp Stange arbeitet sie seit 2017 zusammen.

Malte Scholz ist freier Autor, Sprecher und Schauspieler. Er studierte Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft in Frankfurt und Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen. Sein Hauptinteresse gilt der Grauzone, in der das Biografische, das Geschlechtliche und die Fiktion ineinander übergehen. Seine letzte Inszenierung „Aufführung einer gefälschten Predigt über das Sterben“ (gemeinsam mit Boris Nikitin) wurde am Staatstheater Nürnberg gezeigt. Die früheren Produktionen „Woyzeck“, „F wie Fälschung“ und „Martin Luther Propagandastück“ waren beim Impulse Theater Festival und zahlreichen anderen Festivals innerhalb und außerhalb Europas zu Gast. GREAT DEPRESSIONS ist die erste Zusammenarbeit mit Jan Philipp Stange.

Jan Philipp Stange ist Regisseur, Autor und Performer. Er studierte Literatur, Philosophie, Regie und Theaterwissenschaft. Seine Inszenierungen arbeiten an einem Theater des Scheiterns. 2014 hat er das Frankfurter studioNAXOS mitbegründet, dessen Leitungsteam er seither angehört. Zuletzt inszenierte er u. a. „Combina“, eine Adaption des „Messingkaufs“ von Bertolt Brecht (2015, Ringlokschuppen Ruhr), „Tagesschau“ (2016, studioNAXOS), die Operette „Maske in Blau“ (2017, Theater Osnabrück), den Spacewalk „All in All“ (2017, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Frankfurt) und „Das Wetter“ (2018, Thalia Theater, Hamburg).