Impulse Theater Festival

Cologne, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4–14 June 2020

GRANMA. TROMBONES FROM HAVANA


Cuba has repeatedly featured in romantic dreams of a just society. But aside from such idealisation, what is it like to live there in a socialist reality? Four young Cubans report on the Revolution’s past and present through dialogues with their grandparents.

11.06.20 20:00 – 22:00 Schedule
12.06.20 19:00 – 21:00 Schedule

Schauspiel Köln, Depot 1
Language: Spanish with German and English surtitles

Special on 11.06. after the performance:
Post-show talk in Spanish with the performers (with German translation). Chaired by Sebastian Brohn, dramaturg, Ringlokschuppen Ruhr

© Ute Langkafel Maifoto
© Ute Langkafel Maifoto
© Ute Langkafel Maifoto
© Ute Langkafel Maifoto
© Christophe Raynaud De Lage
© Ute Langkafel Maifoto

Faustino Pérez landed in Cuba with Fidel Castro on the motor yacht ‘Granma’ and became the first Minister for Distribution after the revolution. His grandson Daniel still owns the catalogue from an auction in which confiscated tiaras and beach houses were sold off. Beside him stands the 24-year-old computer programmer Christian, whose grandfather went to fight in the civil war in Angola. History student Milagro tries to understand why the revolution that enabled her to study will barely be able to feed her if she becomes a Professor. 31-year-old Diana was able to study music but her grandfather was not because he was poor and black. Nevertheless he was able to perform for the troops of fellow socialist countries around the world with the Orquesta Maravillas de Florida.

In GRANMA. TROMBONES FROM HAVANA these young Cubans travel in time through several generations. They offer us glimpses of their photo archives, let us hear their grandparents in videos and interweave their family histories with social and political questions from a present in which Cuba is changing: does the young generation want to modernise the country? To conform? To emigrate? Or to continue the revolution? The answer remains open. However, on stage these four young people practice revolutionary action: together they learn something they had never previously thought possible — playing the trombone.

Credits

With: Milagro Álvarez Leliebre, Daniel Cruces-Pérez, Christian Paneque Moreda, Diana Sainz Mena
Concept, Director: Stefan Kaegi
Stage Design: Aljoscha Begrich
Video: Mikko Gaestel
Music: Ari Benjamin Meyers
Sound Design: Tito Toblerone, Aaron Ghantus
Dramaturgy: Aljoscha Begrich, Yohayna Hernández
Costumes: Julia Casabona
Technical Direction, Light Design: Sven Nichterlein
Production Management: Maitén Arns
Video Associate: Marta María Borrás
Dramaturgy Associate: Ricardo Sarmiento
Assistant Director: Noemi Berkowitz
Assistant Stage Design: Julia Casabona
Production Assistants: Federico Schwindt, Dianelis Diéguez
Interns: Joana Falkenberg (Stage Design), Ignacia González (Direction), Lenna Stam (Costumes)
Tourmanagement: Maitén Arns, Federico Schwindt (on tour)
Contact for touring enquiries: Maitén Arns, arns[a]rimini-protokoll.de

Production

A production by Rimini Apparat and Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin in co-production with Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione, Festival TransAmériques (Montréal), Kaserne Basel, Onassis Cultural Centre — Athens, Théatre Vidy-Lausanne, LuganoInscena-Lac, Zürcher Theater Spektakel, Festival d’Avignon. Funded by Kulturstiftung des Bundes, Pro Helvetia, Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. In co-operation with Goethe-Institut Havanna.

Biography

Stefan Kaegi studied Philosophy in Basel, Art in Zürich and Applied Theatre Studies in Gießen. He directs documentary theatre plays, urban environmental works and audio plays in a range of configurations that are usually produced under the label he founded together with Helgard Haug and Daniel Wetzel in 2000 Rimini Protokoll. Rimini Protokoll often devise their stage plays, interventions, scenic installations and audio dramas together with experts who have proved their knowledge and abilities outside the theatre. Rimini Protokoll have received numerous awards including the German Theatre Prize Faust, the European Theatre Prize and the Silver Lion at the Venice Theatre Biennale.

Impulse Theater Festival

Köln, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4.–14. Juni 2020

GRANMA. POSAUNEN AUS HAVANNA


Kuba war immer wieder Projektionsfläche für sozialromantische Träume. Wie aber lebt es sich in der sozialistischen Realität, jenseits aller Verklärung? Vier junge Kubaner*innen berichten im Dialog mit ihren Großeltern über Vergangenheit und Gegenwart der Revolution.

11.06.20 20:00 – 22:00 Tagesprogramm
12.06.20 19:00 – 21:00 Tagesprogramm

Schauspiel Köln, Depot 1
Sprache: Spanisch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

Extra:
11.06. im Anschluss an die Vorstellung Publikumsgespräch in spanischer Sprache (mit deutscher Übersetzung) mit den Darsteller*innen. Moderation: Sebastian Brohn, Dramaturg Ringlokschuppen Ruhr

© Ute Langkafel Maifoto
© Ute Langkafel Maifoto
© Ute Langkafel Maifoto
© Ute Langkafel Maifoto
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
© Ute Langkafel Maifoto

Faustino Pérez landete mit Fidel Castro auf der Motorjacht „Granma“ in Kuba und wurde nach der Revolution erster Minister für Umverteilung. Sein Enkel Daniel besitzt noch heute den Katalog einer Auktion, bei der enteignete Haarspangen und Strandvillen versteigert wurden. Neben ihm steht der 24-jährige Programmierer Christian, dessen Großvater in den Bürgerkrieg nach Angola zog. Die Geschichtsstudentin Milagro versucht zu verstehen, warum die Revolution, dank der sie studieren konnte, sie als Professorin kaum ernähren können wird. Die 31-jährige Diana konnte Musik studieren, ihr Großvater nicht, denn er war arm und Schwarz. Mit dem Orquesta Maravillas de Florida trat er trotzdem weltweit vor den Truppen sozialistischer Brüderstaaten auf.

In GRANMA. POSAUNEN AUS HAVANNA gehen diese jungen Kubaner*innen auf eine Zeitreise durch mehrere Generationen. Sie geben Einblick in ihre Fotoarchive, lassen ihre Großeltern in Videos zu Wort kommen und verflechten ihre Familiengeschichten mit den gesellschaftspolitischen Fragen einer Gegenwart, in der sich Kuba verändert: Will die junge Generation das Land modernisieren? Sich anpassen? Auswandern? Oder die Revolution fortsetzen? Die Antwort bleibt offen. Auf der Bühne jedoch üben sich die vier in revolutionärem Handeln: Gemeinsam lernen sie etwas, von dem man vorher nicht dachte, dass es möglich ist — Posaunenspiel.

Credits

Mit: Milagro Álvarez Leliebre, Daniel Cruces-Pérez, Christian Paneque Moreda, Diana Sainz Mena
Konzept, Regie: Stefan Kaegi
Bühne: Aljoscha Begrich
Video: Mikko Gaestel
Komposition: Ari Benjamin Meyers
Sounddesign: Tito Toblerone, Aaron Ghantus
Dramaturgie: Aljoscha Begrich, Yohayna Hernández
Kostüm: Julia Casabona
Technische Leitung, Lichtdesign: Sven Nichterlein
Produktionsleitung: Maitén Arns
Mitarbeit Video: Marta María Borrás
Mitarbeit Dramaturgie: Ricardo Sarmiento
Regieassistenz: Noemi Berkowitz
Bühnenbildassistenz: Julia Casabona
Produktionsassistenz: Federico Schwindt, Dianelis Diéguez
Hospitanz: Joana Falkenberg (Bühne), Ignacia González (Regie), Lenna Stam (Kostüm)
Tourmanagement: Maitén Arns, Federico Schwindt (on tour)
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Maitén Arns, arns[a]rimini-protokoll.de

Produktion

Eine Produktion von und Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin in Koproduktion mit Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione, Festival TransAmériques (Montréal), Kaserne Basel, Onassis Cultural Centre — Athens, Théatre Vidy-Lausanne, LuganoInscena-Lac, Zürcher Theater Spektakel, Festival d’Avignon. Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, Pro Helvetia, Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Havanna.

Biografie

Stefan Kaegi hat in Basel Philosophie, in Zürich Kunst und in Gießen Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft studiert. Er inszeniert in verschiedenen Konstellationen dokumentarische Theaterstücke, Stadtrauminszenierungen und Hörspiele, die meistens unter dem von ihm gemeinsam mit Helgard Haug und Daniel Wetzel im Jahr 2000 begründeten Label Rimini Protokoll veröffentlicht werden. Rimini Protokoll entwickeln ihre Bühnenstücke, Interventionen, szenischen Installationen und Hörspiele oft mit Expert*innen, die ihr Wissen und Können jenseits des Theaters erprobt haben. Rimini Protokoll wurden u. a. mit dem Deutschen Theaterpreis Faust, dem Europäischen Theaterpreis und dem Silbernen Löwen der Theaterbiennale Venedig ausgezeichnet.