Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13— 23 June 2019

Global Belly

Surrogate motherhood is a global business. An examination of an ethical dilemma from different perspectives.

15.06.18 18:00 – 19:30 Tickets Schedule
15.06.18 20:00 – 21:30 Tickets

SOLD OUT

Schedule
16.06.18 16:00 – 17:30 Tickets Schedule
16.06.18 20:00 – 21:30 Tickets Schedule
17.06.18 15:00 – 16:30 Tickets Schedule
17.06.18 19:00 – 20:30 Tickets Schedule

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Stage 2
Language: German on 16.06. and 17.06., English on 15.06.

Special after the performance on 17.06. at 15:00:
Audience discussion with the artists and Erwin Kress, Vice President of the German Humanist Association (Humanistischer Verband Deutschlands) and a spokesperson on the theme of autonomy at the end of life. Chaired by Katja Grawinkel-Claassen, FFT Düsseldorf

© Philine Rinnert
© Philine Rinnert
© Philine Rinnert
Global Belly Szenenfoto 4 C Philline Rinnert

The unfulfilled desire to have children drives couples abroad from Germany, Switzerland and many other countries. In India, the USA and Ukraine they commission surrogate mothers to bear them a child. By doing this, the would-be parents transgress legal boundaries and enter new moral territory.  Flinn Works has conducted research in five countries in order to get to the bottom of trans-national surrogate motherhood: is it a medical blessing or the exploitation of people’s bodies in the spirit of colonialism? Is bearing a stranger’s child work or loving thy neighbor? And what passport should the new-born receive?  
In the course of the performance’s several sections the audience is repeatedly addressed in new roles: by long-winded agency bosses, happy surrogate mothers, arguing feminists and desperate would-be parents – people who are on different sides of the trans-national trade in surrogate motherhood and see themselves confronted by insoluble ethical, emotional and legal issues. What perspective to take from this is left up to the audience. An experience between delicately calibrated intimacy, heated argument and the cool logic of the market.

Credits

Director: Sophia Stepf
Performance: Anne Hoffmann, Matthias Renger, Sonata, Lea Whitcher
Special Guest on video: Crystal Travis
Research: Flinn Works
Dramaturgy: Lisa Stepf
Specialist Advisor: Dr. Anika König
Design: Philine Rinnert
Music: Jörg-Martin Wagner
Assistant Director: Elisabeth Lindig
Assistant Stage Designer: Alice Harrison
Production Management: ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro and Helena Tsiflidis
Contact for touring enquiries: Helena Tsiflidis, helena[a]flinnworks.de

Production

A production by Flinn Works in co-operation with Sophiensaele Berlin and Tuchlaube Aarau. Funded by the Berlin Senate for Culture and European Affairs, the Fonds Darstellende Künste, the Hessian Ministry of Science and the Arts, the Cultural Department of the City of Kassel, the Gerhard-Fieseler-Stiftung and the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai.

Biography

Flinn Works was founded in Kassel in 1992 as Flinntheater. Since 2007 Sophia and Lisa Stepf have produced contemporary plays together as the core team, working with musicians, actors and performers: ‘a small small world’ (2011) was created as a co-production with the Goethe Instituts in Dhaka and Bangalore.  In ‘C sharp C blunt’ / ‘Shilpa – The Indian Singer App’ (2013) Flinntheater focussed on the professional lives of Indian women working as performers in the entertainment industry. ‘Songs of the T-shirt’ (2015 in co-production with the Sophiensæle) examined the textile industry in Bangladesh between emancipation and exploitation. Since 2016 under their new name Flinn Works they have created the lecture performance ‘Schädel X’ and ‘Maji Maji Flava’ (in co-production with Asedeva, Dar es Salaam, and in co-operation with Staatstheater Kassel).

Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13.— 23. Juni 2019

Global Belly

Leihmutterschaft als globales Geschäft. Eine Annäherung an ein ethisches Dilemma aus verschiedensten Perspektiven.

15.06.18 18:00 – 19:30 Tickets Tagesprogramm
15.06.18 20:00 – 21:30 Tickets

AUSVERKAUFT

Tagesprogramm
16.06.18 16:00 – 17:30 Tickets Tagesprogramm
16.06.18 20:00 – 21:30 Tickets Tagesprogramm
17.06.18 15:00 – 16:30 Tickets Tagesprogramm
17.06.18 19:00 – 20:30 Tickets Tagesprogramm

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Bühne 2
Sprache: Deutsch am 16.06. und 17.06., Englisch am 15.06.

Extra:
17.06. im Anschluss an die Vorstellung um 15:00 Publikumsgespräch mit den Künstlerinnen und Erwin Kress, Vizepräsident des Humanistischen Verbands Deutschlands sowie Sprecher zum Thema Autonomie am Lebensende. Moderation: Katja Grawinkel-Claassen, FFT Düsseldorf

© Philine Rinnert
© Philine Rinnert
© Philine Rinnert
© Philline Rinnert

Der unerfüllte Kinderwunsch treibt Paare aus Deutschland, der Schweiz und vielen anderen Ländern ins Ausland. In Indien, den USA und der Ukraine beauftragen sie Leihmütter, ein Kind für sie auszutragen. Die Wunscheltern umgehen dabei rechtliche Grenzen und betreten moralisches Neuland. Flinn Works hat in fünf Ländern recherchiert, um der transnationalen Leihmutterschaft auf den Grund zu gehen: Ist sie medizinischer Segen oder Ausbeutung von Körpern im Geiste des Kolonialismus? Ist das Austragen eines fremden Kindes Arbeit oder Nächstenliebe? Und welchen Pass erhält das Neugeborene?  
In einem mehrteiligen Parcours trifft das in immer neuen Rollen adressierte Publikum auf windige Agenturchef*innen, zufriedene Leihmütter, streitende Feminist*innen und verzweifelte Wunscheltern – Menschen, die im transnationalen Leihmutterschaftgeschäft auf verschiedenen Seiten stehen und sich mit schier unlösbaren ethischen, emotionalen und juristischen Fragen konfrontiert sehen. Dem Publikum bleibt überlassen, welche Perspektive es einnimmt. Eine Erfahrung zwischen fein justierter Intimität, heißen Debatten und der kühlen Logik des Marktes.

Credits

Regie: Sophia Stepf
Performance: Cornelia Dörr, Matthias Renger, Sonata, Lea Whitcher
Special Guest on video: Crystal Travis
Recherche: Flinn Works
Dramaturgie: Lisa Stepf
Inhaltliche Beratung: Dr. Anika König
Ausstattung: Philine Rinnert
Musik: Jörg-Martin Wagner
Regieassistenz: Elisabeth Lindig
Assistenz Bühne: Alice Harrison
Produktionsleitung: ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro und Helena Tsiflidis
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Helena Tsiflidis, helena[a]flinnworks.de

Produktion

Eine Produktion von Flinn Works in Kooperation mit Sophiensæle Berlin und Theater Tuchlaube Aarau. Gefördert durch Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, Fonds Darstellende Künste, Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst, Kulturamt der Stadt Kassel, Gerhard-Fieseler-Stiftung und Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai.

Biografie

Flinn Works wurde 1992 als Flinntheater in Kassel gegründet. Seit 2007 produzieren Sophia und Lisa Stepf als Kernteam gemeinsam mit Musiker*innen, Schauspieler*innen und Performer*innen zeitgenössische Stücke: „a small small world“ (2011) entstand in Koproduktion mit den Goethe-Instituten Dhaka und Bangalore. In „C sharp C blunt“ / „Shilpa – The Indian Singer App“ (2013) thematisierte Flinntheater das Berufsleben indischer Performerinnen in der Entertainment-Industrie. „Songs of the T-shirt“ (2015, in Koproduktion mit den Sophiensælen) beschäftigte sich mit der Textilindustrie in Bangladesch zwischen Emanzipation und Ausbeutung. Seit 2016 entstanden unter dem neuen Namen Flinn Works die Lecture-Performance „Schädel X“ und „Maji Maji Flava“ (in Koproduktion mit Asedeva, Dar es Salaam, und in Kooperation mit dem Staatstheater Kassel).