Impulse Theater Festival

Cologne, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4–14 June 2020

ES IST ZU SPÄT

ES IST ZU SPÄT takes place online.

A camera, a microphone, screens: a YouTuber’s studio. In front of a live audience he films a monologue about the disaster that the world is heading towards and the theatre that can do nothing about it. Are online videos a more effective medium? Or is it time to stop altogether?

Tanzfaktur, Bühne
Language: German with simultaneous translation into English

© Loris Rizzo
© Loris Rizzo
© Loris Rizzo

“Hello. Hi. It’s nice to see you,” says Arne and beams into the camera. In his video he looks back for his followers on five years of theatre work on political material. Five years of documenting radical social change, five years of clarification, five years of working out his position, five years of living on the poverty line. He talks about the extinction of species, climate change, water shortages, forced migration, poverty, injustice, fortress Europe, war and fascism.

What else can anyone do but repeat this narrative of disaster? In the theatre we repeat everything all the time anyway. “The whole world’s a stage,” says Arne. “And watching it collapse is a pleasure.” So now he is trying this YouTube channel. A new kind of stage is opened.

Credits

Text and Performance: Arne Vogelgesang
Outside Eye: Marina Miller Dessau
Story: internil
Contact for touring enquiries: internil, interface[a]internil.net

Production

Produced by Theaterdiscounter Berlin as part of the Monologue Festival 2019.

Biographies

internil is a label for research-based and intermedia theatre and performance projects that was founded in 2005. For many years they have worked almost exclusively with material from the internet that they adapt for live events with the aid of digital hard- and software. As a result of their many years investigating post-political phenomena online, internil also operate as consultants. The group’s principal working method is live re-enactments using copy and paste dramaturgies. The presence of an audience is always included as part of the performance in one way or another.

Arne Vogelgesang studied Directing at the Max Reinhardt Seminar in Vienna and is a founder member of internil. Alongside his projects with internil he also works as a video artist, gives lectures and workshops on the aesthetics of radical internet propaganda, publishes literary texts and works in cultural education. He experiments with various composites of documentary material, new media and performance. Key themes of his work include political radicalisation, deviant practices and the digitisation of what is human. Since 2020 he has been a fellow at the Academy for Theatre and Digitality in Dortmund.

Impulse Theater Festival

Köln, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4.–14. Juni 2020

ES IST ZU SPÄT


Kamera, Mikro, Bildschirme: das Studio eines YouTubers. Live vor Publikum filmt er einen Monolog über die Katastrophe, auf die die Welt zusteuert, und das Theater, das nichts dagegen tun kann. Sind Videos im Netz das wirksamere Medium? Oder ist es Zeit, ganz aufzuhören?

13.06.20 22:00 – 23:00 Tagesprogramm

Tanzfaktur, Bühne
Sprache: Deutsch mit englischer Simultanübersetzung

© Loris Rizzo
© Loris Rizzo
© Loris Rizzo

„Hallo. Hi. Schön, dich zu sehen“, sagt Arne und strahlt in die Kamera. In seinem Video blickt er für seine Follower*innen auf fünf Jahre Theaterarbeit mit politischem Material zurück. Fünf Jahre Dokumente eines gesellschaftlichen Umbruchs, fünf Jahre Aufklärung, fünf Jahre Positionsbestimmung, fünf Jahre Leben an der Armutsgrenze. Er spricht über das Artensterben, den Klimawandel, Wasserknappheit, Flucht, Armut, Ungerechtigkeit, die Festung Europa, Kriege und Faschismus.

Was soll man da anderes machen, als die Erzählung von der Katastrophe zu wiederholen? Im Theater wiederholt man ja sowieso ständig alles. „Die ganze Welt ist unsere Bühne“, sagt Arne. „Und ihr Kollaps ist ein Genuss.“ Und so versucht er es jetzt mit diesem YouTube-Kanal. Eine neue Bühne ist eröffnet.

Credits

Text und Performance: Arne Vogelgesang
Außenblick: Marina Miller Dessau
Geschichte: internil
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: internil, interface[a]internil.net

Produktion

Produziert vom Theaterdiscounter Berlin im Rahmen des Monologfestivals 2019.

Biografien

internil ist ein 2005 gegründetes Label für recherchebasierte und intermediale Theater- und Performanceprojekte. Seit mehreren Jahren arbeiten sie fast ausschließlich mit Material aus dem Internet, das sie mithilfe digitaler Hard- und Software für Live-Events aufbereiten. Dank mehrjähriger Untersuchung postpolitischer Phänomene im Netz sind internil auch beratend tätig. Hauptarbeitsmethode der Gruppe sind Live-Reenactments in Copy-and-Paste-Dramaturgien. Die Anwesenheit des Publikums ist dabei immer auf die eine oder andere Art Teil der Aufführung.

Arne Vogelgesang studierte Regie am Max Reinhardt Seminar Wien und ist Gründungsmitglied von internil. Neben den Projekten mit internil arbeitet er als Videokünstler, hält Vorträge und Workshops zur Ästhetik radikaler Internet-Propaganda, veröffentlicht literarische Texte und arbeitet in der kulturellen Bildung. Dabei experimentiert er mit verschiedenen Zusammensetzungen von dokumentarischem Material, neuen Medien und Performance. Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte seiner Arbeit sind politische Radikalisierung, deviante Praktiken und die Digitalisierung des Menschlichen. Seit 2020 ist er Fellow an der Akademie für Theater und Digitalität in Dortmund.