Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13— 23 June 2019

Enjoy Racism

Is it possible to enjoy racism? In this production it is, inside your own skin – as long as you’re prepared to pay the price of other people’s discrimination.

21.06.18 19:30 – 21:30 Tickets Schedule
22.06.18 19:30 – 21:30 Tickets Schedule
23.06.18 13:30 – 15:30 Tickets

Zusatzvorstellung

Schedule
23.06.18 17:30 – 19:30 Tickets Schedule

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, meeting point: Foyer
Language: English and German

© Linda Pollari
© Linda Pollari
© Linda Pollari
© Linda Pollari

Thom Truong have created a world where the colour of one’s skin is insignificant. In ENJOY RACISM people are discriminated against purely by the colour of their eyes. Directly, in person. Divided into two groups, the audience experiences the performances from very different perspectives. A pleasure for the privileged – but one that can only be enjoyed at the price of discrimination against the others.  
How much does this have in common with the everyday lives of those who consider themselves unprejudiced? Thom Throng’s thesis is that racism starts at a level that is subtle and implicit, with gestures, glances, a tone of voice and choice of words. And each of us reproduces racist behaviour consciously or unconsciously. ENJOY RACISM is the living proof. A performance that hurts.  

Credits

Concept, Direction: Thom Truong
Performance: Ntando Cele, Mbene Mwambene
Dramaturgy: Yves Regenass
Scenography: Susan Wäckerlin, Matthias Werner
Video: Oliver Eckert
Lighting Design: André Donzé
Direction and Production Assistants: Yan Balistoy, Antoinette Ullrich
Contact for touring enquiries: Monika Truong, Thom Reinhard, contact[a]thomtruong.com

Production

A production by the Verein Overseas in co-production with Fabriktheater Rote Fabrik and ROXY Birsfelden. Funded by City of Zürich Cultural Department, Department of Culture Canton Zürich, SOkultur Lotteriefonds Kanton Solothurn, Paul Schiller Stiftung, Migros-Kulturprozent, Pro Helvetia.

Biography

Monika Thruong is a sinologist, sociologist and theatre-maker. She was responsible for taking European artists to China for a production there and bringing Chinese artists to Europe for another production for the long-term interdisciplinary and intercultural project ‘Overseas’ (2008–2010).
After studying Economics, Thom Reinhard switched to the University of the Arts for a second degree. Since he graduated in 2010 he has worked as a management consultant and theatre-maker.
Monika Truong and Thom Reinhard joined forces in 2011 to become Thom Thruong. Their works consistently feature artists from different disciplines and experts.

Impulse Theater Festival

Mülheim an der Ruhr, Düsseldorf und Köln

13.— 24. Juni 2018

Enjoy Racism

Kann man Rassismus genießen? In dieser Aufführung durchaus, und zwar am eigenen Leib – wenn man bereit ist, dafür den Preis der Diskriminierung der anderen zu zahlen.

21.06.18 19:30 – 21:30 Tickets

AUSVERKAUFT

Tagesprogramm
22.06.18 19:30 – 21:30 Tickets

AUSVERKAUFT

Tagesprogramm
23.06.18 17:30 – 19:30 Tickets Tagesprogramm

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Treffpunkt: Foyer
Sprache: Englisch und Deutsch

© Linda Pollari
© Linda Pollari
© Linda Pollari
© Linda Pollari

Thom Truong haben eine Welt erschaffen, in der Hautfarbe keine Rolle spielt: In ENJOY RACISM werden Menschen einzig aufgrund ihrer Augenfarbe diskriminiert. Und das am eigenen Leib. In zwei Gruppen geteilt erlebt das Publikum die Aufführung aus grundverschiedenen Perspektiven. Ein Genuss für die Privilegierten – der allerdings nur um den Preis der Diskriminierung der anderen zu haben ist.  
Wie viel hat das mit dem Alltag auch jener zu tun, die sich für vorurteilsfrei halten? Die These von Thom Truong: Rassismus beginnt im Subtilen und Impliziten, bei Gesten, Blicken, Tonlage und Wortwahl. Und jede*r von uns reproduziert bewusst oder unbewusst rassistisches Verhalten. ENJOY RACISM ist der lebende Beweis. Eine Aufführung, die wehtut.

Credits

Konzept, Regie: Thom Truong
Performance: Ntando Cele, Mbene Mwambene
Dramaturgie: Yves Regenass
Szenografie: Susan Wäckerlin, Matthias Werner
Video: Oliver Eckert
Lichtdesign: André Donzé
Regie- und Produktionsassistenz: Yan Balistoy, Antoinette Ullrich
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Monika Truong, Thom Reinhard, contact[a]thomtruong.com

Produktion

Eine Produktion des Vereins Overseas in Koproduktion mit Fabriktheater Rote Fabrik und ROXY Birsfelden. Gefördert durch Stadt Zürich Kultur, Fachstelle Kultur Kanton Zürich, SOkultur Lotteriefonds Kanton Solothurn, Paul Schiller Stiftung, Migros-Kulturprozent Zürich, Pro Helvetia.

Biografie

Monika Truong ist Sinologin, Soziologin und Theaterschaffende. Für das interdisziplinäre und interkulturelle Langzeitprojekt „Overseas“ (2008–2010) brachte sie europäische Künstler*innen für eine Produktion nach China und holte chinesische Künstler*innen für eine weitere Produktion nach Europa.
Thom Reinhard wechselte nach seinem Wirtschaftsstudium für ein Zweitstudium an die Kunsthochschule. Seit seinem Studienabschluss im Jahr 2010 arbeitet er als Unternehmensberater und Theaterschaffender.
Monika Truong und Thom Reinhard haben sich 2011 zu Thom Truong zusammengeschlossen. In ihren Arbeiten wirken stets Künstler*innen unterschiedlicher Disziplinen und Expert*innen mit.