Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13— 23 June 2019

Dorf Theater

Grüezi everyone! This Impulse opening will produce some unlikely encounters. Amateur theatre meets the avant-garde, a play in Swiss dialect meets politicians’ speeches of welcome. And the buffet waits temptingly at the side of the stage.

13.06.18 19:00 – 21:00 Schedule

Entry is free of charge.
To register please e-mail eroeffnung@impulsefestival.de. Limited seats.

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr
Language: Swiss German, German, English with German and English surtitles

© Frieda Schneider
© Frieda Schneider
© Frieda Schneider
© Frieda Schneider
© Frieda Schneider
© Frieda Schneider

Amateur theatre in Switzerland is booming. Over 120 associations in central Switzerland alone are clear proof of this. As a “living tradition” since 2008 it has been included as part of the immaterial world cultural heritage that is officially protected by a UNESCO convention. But what is actually being preserved here? For two years Corsin Gaudenz has researched the strangely alien yet familiar world of Swiss village theatre. In sports halls, barns and clubhouses he has experienced evenings in the theatre where the socializing before and afterwards is sometimes more important than what happens on stage.  
His production is a temporary museum of this living tradition: professional actors put the diversity and peculiarities of village theatre on stage, present its characters and themes, and give its practitioners, their biographies and their motives a voice.  At the same time there is a lot of room to meet people – at the buffet over Kägifret and a glass of schnaps. 
The version that has been adapted for Impulse plays with the conventions of an opening night: speeches and welcomes are as much part of the performance as the get-together that follows. ‘Dorf Theater’ shows to what a large extent the why, what for and how of theatre are determined by the social and geographical context in which it is taking place. Here the local world of the village appears considerably more foreign than art from faraway countries that originates in a familiar cultural context. The performance is largely in Swiss German with German and English surtitles.

Credits

A project by Corsin Gaudenz
Actors: Evelyne Gugolz, Dominique Jann, Kotomi Nishiwaki, Andri Schenardi, Giulin Stäubli
Music, Piano: Vera Kappeler

Choirmaster, Painter, Countertenor: Philipp Caspari
Choir: Bettina Biasio, Alice Meier, Eleonore Strehler, Jane Rippin Wagner, Linda Feichtinger, Ewa Raznikiewicz, Sophie Wolf, Ernst Aebi, Thomas Rüdisühli, Gabor Doka
Stage design: Frieda Schneider
Costume design: Božena Čivić
Publicity, education work: Carmen Beyer
Artistic consultant: Martin Schick
Intern: Yan Balistoy
Contact for touring enquiries: Corsin Gaudenz, corsingaudenz[a]gmx.ch

Production

A project in co-production with the Gessnerallee Zürich, the Festival Belluard Bollwerk International Fribourg and the Heitere Fahne in Berne in collaboration with the Theatergesellschaft Rothenburg, Theaterverein Menzingen, Theatervereinigung Muotathal, Theatergruppe Isenthal and Theaterverein Stansstad. With support from the City of Zürich Cultural Department, Canton of Zürich Culture Department, Pro Helvetia, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Avina Stiftung, Georges und Jenny Block Stiftung and in partnership with Fondation Nestlé pour l’Art.

Biographies

Corsin Gaudenz studied Acting, Art History and the Master’s programme in Solo/Dance/Authorship at HZT Berlin. He works as a director, choreographer and dramaturg in the fields of performance, dance and music theatre – with a preference for processes with open and unconventional narrative structures. He most recently realised the opera ‘Tell’ (2015); ‘Dingdonggrüezi’, a HausBauSchau (2014); the exhibition ‘abstract animals’ (2014) and the circus piece ‘Time Is On My Side’ (2013). In 2013 he wrote the libretto for the opera project ‘l’homme qui rit’ by the Gruppe Freie Oper Zürich.  

Frieda Schneider began studying architecture and then changed to stage and costume design. She has worked as an assistant to Anna Viebrock and Christoph Marthaler and as a stage and costume designer for artists including Chris Kondek, Erik Altorfer, Katja Gaub and Michel Schröder. She teaches model-making and technical drawing at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. ‘Dorf Theater’ is her fourth collaboration with Corsin Gaudenz.  

Božena Čivić is a freelance costume designer and scenographer for theatre and film productions. She regularly works together with Triad Produktionen, Ives Thuwis, Markus Wolff, Sabine Harbeke, Stefan Bachmann, Eveline Ratering and others. Her diploma work ‘identity©’ was awarded the Swiss Federal Design Award and received considerable international recognition.  

Andri Schenardi completed his training as an actor at the Zurich University of the Arts. His first full-time engagement took him to the Konzert Theater in Berne in 2007, where he played a number of leading roles from the classical and modern theatre repertoires. He works as a freelance actor in film and television and since the 2015/16 season has been a guest performer at Schauspielhaus Graz. He also records radio drama.  

Evelyne Gugolz worked as a freelance actor in theatre and film after graduating from the Zurich University of the Arts, among others with Christoph Frick at Stadttheater Bern, with Wolfgang Küppel for the Schlachthaustheater in Berne, with Karin Arnold in Zürich and with Bettina Glaus at the Südpol in Lucerne. She can be seen in almost all Corsin Gaudenz’s plays.    

Dominique Jann studied Acting at the Zurich University of the Arts.  He has had guest engagements at  Schauspielhaus Zürich and has also been a member of the artistic directorate of the company vorOrt. In 2009 Dominique Jann won the Swiss Film Prize for Best Actor in the film ‘Luftbusiness’.  

Kotomi Nishiwaki studied Dance in Zürich and at P.A.R.T.S. in Brussels. She has also trained in Butoh. She has appeared as a dancer in works by Pé Vermeersch, Gisela Rocha, João Fiadeiro and Corsin Gaudenz. Since 2005 she has worked on numerous productions with Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods.  

Giulin Stäubli is a freelance performer and musician. He has made appearances with and been a regular company member of deRothfils and the company vorOrt, appeared in Robert Wilson’s production of the ‘Sonnets’ at the Berliner Ensemble in 2009 and worked with Jürg Halter in Lucerne and at the Neumarkt Theater in Zürich as a percussionist and performer.

Vera Kappeler studied the piano at Winterthur Conservatoire and also took lessons at the Basel Jazz School. She has been engaged as a theatre musician at Freie Oper Zürich and the Theater Neumarkt. She makes concert appearances with solo programmes and a range of projects both in Switzerland and abroad.

Impulse Theater Festival

Mülheim an der Ruhr, Düsseldorf und Köln

13.— 24. Juni 2018

Dorf Theater

Grüezi mitenand! Diese Impulse-Eröffnung schafft unerwartete Begegnungen. Laientheater trifft auf Theateravantgarde, Schweizer Mundartspiel auf Grußworte aus der Kulturpolitik. Und am Bühnenrand lockt das Büffet.

13.06.18 19:00 – 21:00 Tagesprogramm

Eintritt frei
Verbindliche Anmeldung zur Eröffnung unter eroeffnung@impulsefestival.de an. Die Plätze sind begrenzt.

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Bühne 1
Sprache: Schwyzerdütsch, Deutsch, Englisch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

© Frieda Schneider
© Frieda Schneider
© Frieda Schneider
© Frieda Schneider
© Frieda Schneider
© Frieda Schneider

Das Laientheater in der Schweiz lebt. Über 120 Vereine allein in der Zentralschweiz sind ein deutlicher Beweis dafür. Als „lebendige Tradition“ zählt es seit 2008 zum immateriellen Weltkulturerbe, offiziell durch ein UNESCO-Abkommen geschützt. Doch was wird da eigentlich bewahrt? Zwei Jahre lang hat Corsin Gaudenz die merkwürdig fremd-vertraute Welt des Schweizer Dorftheaters erforscht. In Turnhallen, Scheunen und Schützenhallen hat er Theaterabende erlebt, bei denen die Geselligkeit im Drumherum manchmal wichtiger ist als das Bühnengeschehen.   
Gaudenz’ Inszenierung ist ein temporäres Museum dieser lebendigen Tradition: Professionelle Schauspieler*innen bringen Vielfalt und Eigenheiten des Dorftheaters auf die Bühne, zeigen dessen Figuren und Themen, verleihen dessen Akteur*innen, ihren Biografien und Beweggründen eine Stimme. Gleichzeitig bleibt viel Raum für Begegnungen – am Büffet bei Kägifret und einem Gläsli Schnaps.  
Die für die Impulse adaptierte Fassung spielt mit den Konventionen eines Eröffnungsabends: Grußworte und Reden werden ebenso Teil der Inszenierung wie das anschließende Get-together. „Dorf Theater“ zeigt, wie sehr das Warum, Wofür und Wie des Theaters davon bestimmt wird, in welchem sozialen und geografischen Kontext es stattfindet. Dabei erscheint die heimische Dorfwelt mitunter wesentlich fremder als Kunst aus fernen Ländern, die einem wohlvertrauten kulturellen Kontext entstammt. Gespielt wird überwiegend auf Schwyzerdütsch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln.

Credits

Ein Projekt von Corsin Gaudenz
Spiel: Evelyne Gugolz, Dominique Jann, Kotomi Nishiwaki, Andri Schenardi, Giulin Stäubli
Musik, Klavier: Vera Kappeler
Chorleitung, Maler, Countertenor: Philipp Caspari
Chor: Bettina Biasio, Alice Meier, Eleonore Strehler, Jane Rippin Wagner, Linda Feichtinger, Ewa Raznikiewicz, Sophie Wolf, Ernst Aebi, Thomas Rüdisühli, Gabor Doka
Bühne: Frieda Schneider
Kostüme: Božena Čivić
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Vermittlung: Carmen Beyer
Künstlerische Beratung: Martin Schick
Hospitanz: Yan Balistoy
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Corsin Gaudenz, corsingaudenz[a]gmx.ch

Produktion

Ein Projekt in Koproduktion mit Gessnerallee Zürich, Festival Belluard Bollwerk International Fribourg und Heitere Fahne Bern in Zusammenarbeit mit der Theatergesellschaft Rothenburg, dem Theaterverein Menzingen, der Theatervereinigung Muotathal, der Theatergruppe Isenthal und dem Theaterverein Stansstad. Mit Unterstützung von Stadt Zürich Kultur, Fachstelle Kultur Kanton Zürich, Pro Helvetia, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Avina Stiftung, Georges und Jenny Block Stiftung und in Partnerschaft mit Fondation Nestlé pour l’Art.

Biografien

Corsin Gaudenz studierte Schauspiel und Kunstgeschichte sowie im Masterprogramm Solo/Dance/Authorship am HZT Berlin. Er arbeitet als Regisseur, Choreograf und Dramaturg in den Bereichen Performance, Tanz und Musiktheater – mit einer Vorliebe für Prozesse des Unabgeschlossenen und eigenwillige narrative Strukturen. Zuletzt realisierte er die Oper „Tell“ (2015), „Dingdonggrüezi“, eine HausBauSchau  (2014), die Ausstellung „abstract animals“ (2014) und das Zirkusstück „Time Is On My Side“ (2013). 2013 schrieb er das Libretto für das Opernprojekt „l’homme qui rit“ der Gruppe Freie Oper Zürich.   

Frieda Schneider studierte erst Architektur, später Bühnen- und Kostümbild. Sie arbeitete als Assistentin für Anna Viebrock und Christoph Marthaler und als Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin u. a. für Chris Kondek, Erik Altorfer, Katja Gaub und Michel Schröder. Frieda Schneider unterrichtet Modellbau und technisches Zeichnen an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. „Dorf Theater“ ist ihre vierte Zusammenarbeit mit Corsin Gaudenz.  

Božena Čivić ist freie Kostümbildnerin und Ausstatterin für Theater- und Filmproduktionen. Sie arbeitet regelmäßig u. a. mit TRIAD Produktionen, Ives Thuwis, Markus Wolff, Sabine Harbeke, Stefan Bachmann und Eveline Ratering zusammen. Ihre Diplomarbeit „identity©“ wurde mit dem „Eidgenössischen Preis für Gestaltung“ ausgezeichnet und erhielt verschiedene internationale Würdigungen.  

Andri Schenardi absolvierte seine Schauspielausbildung an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste. Sein erstes Festengagement führte ihn 2007 an das Konzert Theater Bern, wo er diverse Hauptrollen der klassischen und modernen Theaterliteratur spielte. Er ist als freier Schauspieler für Theater und Film tätig und seit der Spielzeit 2015/2016 als Gast am Schauspielhaus Graz engagiert. Daneben nimmt er Hörspiele auf.  

Evelyne Gugolz arbeitete nach dem Studium an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Zürich als freie Schauspielerin für Theater und Film, u. a. mit Christoph Frick am Stadttheater Bern, mit Wolfgang Küppel  für das Schlachthaustheater in Bern, mit Karin Arnold in Zürich und mit Bettina Glaus im Südpol Luzern. Sie ist in fast allen Stücken von Corsin Gaudenz zu sehen.  

Dominique Jann studierte Schauspiel an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Zürich. Er hatte u. a. ein Gastengagement am Schauspielhaus Zürich und war Teil der Künstlerischen Leitung der Gruppe vorOrt . 2009 gewann Dominique Jann den Schweizer Filmpreis als bester Darsteller für den Film „Luftbusiness“.  

Kotomi Nishiwaki studierte Tanz in Zürich und bei P.A.R.T.S. in Brüssel, des Weiteren nahm sie Butoh-Unterricht. Sie war als Tänzerin in Arbeiten von Pé Vermeersch, Gisela Rocha, João Fiadeiro und Corsin Gaudenz zu sehen. Ab 2005 arbeitete sie in verschiedenen Produktionen mit Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods zusammen.  

Giulin Stäubli ist freischaffender Performer und Musiker. Er hatte Auftritte und Engagements mit deRothfils und mit der Gruppe vorOrt , war 2009 in Robert Wilsons Inszenierung „Sonette “ am Berliner Ensemble zu sehen und trat in zwei Projekten von und mit Jürg Halter in Luzern und am Theater Neumarkt in Zürich als Schlagzeuger und Performer auf.   

Vera Kappeler studierte Klavier am Konservatorium Winterthur und nahm Unterricht an der Jazzschule Basel. Engagements als Theatermusikerin führten sie u. a. an die Freie Oper Zürich und an das Theater Neumarkt. Sie konzertiert mit Soloprogrammen und verschiedenen Projekten im In- und Ausland.