Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13— 23 June 2019

Consumption As A Cause of Coming Into Being

A humorous and edgy play with sadomasochistic elements, tender intimacy and a meditation on one’s own genitals. Two men in search of a new masculinity.

20.06.18 21:00 – 22:00 Tickets Schedule
22.06.18 21:30 – 22:30 Tickets

SOLD OUT

Schedule

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Stage 3
Language: English with German surtitles

Special after the performance on 20.06.:
Audience discussion with the artists and Rüdiger Jähne, Advisor on working with boys and men to the SKM Bundesverband. Chaired by Dietmar Kobboldt, studiobühneköln 
Followed by: HOMING-PARTY

© Emilia Milewska
© Emilia Milewska
© Zoe Opratko

The visual artist Roland Rauschmeier and the performer Alex Bailey distance themselves from the pressure to be strong and autonomous, explore desire beyond social norms and question the generally prevailing concepts of gender and sexuality. How can men now enter a fulfilling relationship with themselves and the world around them? The Rotenburg cannibal attempted to do this by consuming another man. His story lies at the centre of our work. Would he have found a different way to fulfil his desire in another world?  
The two performers look for alternatives in sadomasochistic games and a new type of meditation practice: while S & M appears as an affectionate way of venting fantasies of dominance and power, HOMing™ promises liberation from all the cultural expectations directed at male genitalia and their owners. Rauschmeier and Bailey report a completely new approach to the self – with a wink of the eye.  
CONSUMPTION AS A CAUSE OF COMING INTO BEING is an uncompromising survey of male vulnerability, failed communication and the experience of simply being a dick.

Credits

Performance: Alex Bailey, Roland Rauschmeier
Set Design, Costumes, Props: Alex Bailey, Roland Rauschmeier
Sound Design: Pasi Antero Mäkelä
Dramaturgical Consultants: Camille Chanel, Richard John Jones
Management: Alexander Matthias Kosnopfl
Technician: Andreas Lendais
Contact for touring enquiries: office[a]wtkb.org

Production

With thanks to: Elizabeth Ward, Krõõt Juurak, Anne Juren, Karin Seidel, Gerhard und Regina Schiefer, Phillip Schweiger, Christian Stoppacher, Lise Lendais, Susanne Bytyqi-Lawson, Dr. Matthias Berkemeyer, Viktor Schlosser, Tellervo Kalleinen, Oliver Kalleinen-Kochta, Christoph Bruckner, Fouad Asfour, Manfred Unger

A co-production between Wiener Tanz- und Kunstbewegung and brut Vienna. With generous support from the Cultural Department of the City of Vienna.

Biographies

Roland Rauschmeier is a German conceptual artist living in Austria. Alongside his work with digital media he has recently concentrated on performances and a series of events ‘2nd Thursdays’ in which he invites artists to present their work in the studio of the Wiener Tanz- und Kunstbewegung. He collaborates with the German filmmaker Ulu Braun under the artistic pseudonym BitteBitteJaJa and with the French choreographer Anne Juren. He has had an affinity for acting since he was a young man. 

The British artist Alex Bailey (Pony) lives and works in Vienna and since 2015 has concentrated primarily on the field of dance and performance. After graduating in Photography, he studied at the Sandberg Institut in Amsterdam, where he met Krõõt Juurak. Together they conceived the project ‘Performances for Pets’ in 2014. Since 2016 Alex Bailey has regularly been involved in dance and performance productions.

Pasi Antero Mäkelä is a Finnish performer, choreographer and musician. His performances are largely based on the Butoh dance form. Mäkelä himself has developed a Finnish version of Butoh. In recent years he has worked on performance and music projects in Finland, the Czech Republic, Germany and Austria.

Camille Chanel was born in Paris and studied in Berlin, writing her Master’s dissertation on the discomfort of the audience. She currently also works with Lise Lendais, Fanni Futterknecht, Elisabeth B. Tambwe and Sarah Blumenfeld and translates plays by young Austrian writers into French. She lives in Vienna.

Richard John Jones is a graduate of Central Saint Martin School of Art. His work explores the formation of community and strategies for autonomy, a history of anti-assimilationist queer movements, practices of witchcraft and neo-paganism. He lives in Marseille.

Alexander Matthias Kosnopfl was born in Salzburg and studied Theatre Studies, Dramaturgy and Economics. He has worked in the education departments of the Vienna Burgtheater and the Theater an der Wien and was subsequently dramaturg for the Israeli-British company A2.

Andreas Lendais, born in Hallein, is a trained sculptor. He lives in Vienna and has been working as a freelance light technician and designer for Wiener Festwochen, Viennale, Tanzquartier Wien, Salzburger Festspiele and steirischen herbst, amongst others.

Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13.— 23. Juni 2019

Consumption As A Cause of Coming Into Being

Ein witziges und grenzwertiges Schauspiel mit Sadomaso-Elementen, zärtlicher Zweisamkeit und einer Meditation über das eigene Geschlechtsorgan. Zwei Männer auf der Suche nach einer neuen Männlichkeit.

20.06.18 21:00 – 22:00 Tickets Tagesprogramm
22.06.18 21:30 – 22:30 Tickets

AUSVERKAUFT

Tagesprogramm

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Bühne 3
Sprache: Englisch mit deutschen Übertiteln

Extra:
20.06. im Anschluss an die Vorstellung Publikumsgespräch mit den Künstlern und Rüdiger Jähne, Referent für Jungen- und Männerarbeit beim SKM Bundesverband. Moderation: Dietmar Kobboldt, studiobühneköln. Danach: HOMING-PARTY

© Emilia Milewska
© Emilia Milewska
© Zoe Opratko

Der bildende Künstler Roland Rauschmeier und der Performer Alex Bailey distanzieren sich vom Zwang, stark und autonom zu sein, untersuchen Begehren außerhalb der gesellschaftlichen Norm und hinterfragen die allgemein vorherrschenden Konzepte von Geschlecht und Sexualität. Wie können Männer heute in eine erfüllte Beziehung zu sich selbst und ihrer Umwelt treten? Der Kannibale von Rotenburg hat es mit dem Verzehr eines anderen Mannes versucht. Seine Geschichte steht im Zentrum dieser Arbeit. Hätte er in einer anderen Welt einen anderen Weg gefunden, um sein Begehren zu erfüllen?
In Sadomaso-Spielen und einer neuartigen Meditationspraxis suchen die beiden Performer nach Alternativen: Während SM als liebevolles Ventil für Dominanz- und Machtfantasien erscheint, verspricht HOMing™ die Befreiung von all den kulturellen Erwartungen, die an das männliche Geschlechtsorgan und seine Besitzer gerichtet werden. Rauschmeier und Bailey berichten von einem völlig neuen Zugang zum eigenen Selbst – Augenzwinkern inklusive. 
CONSUMPTION AS A CAUSE OF COMING INTO BEING ist ein kompromissloser Blick auf männliche Verletzbarkeit, auf gescheiterte Kommunikation und auf die Erfahrung, einfach nur ein Schwanz zu sein.

Credits

Performance: Alex Bailey, Roland Rauschmeier
Setdesign, Kostüme, Requisiten: Alex Bailey, Roland Rauschmeier
Sounddesign: Pasi Antero Mäkelä
Dramaturgische Beratung: Camille Chanel, Richard John Jones
Management: Alexander Matthias Kosnopfl
Technik: Andreas Lendais
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: office[a]wtkb.org

Produktion

Dank an: Elizabeth Ward, Krõõt Juurak, Anne Juren, Karin Seidel, Gerhard und Regina Schiefer, Phillip Schweiger, Christian Stoppacher, Lise Lendais, Susanne Bytyqi-Lawson, Dr. Matthias Berkemeyer, Viktor Schlosser, Tellervo Kalleinen, Oliver Kalleinen-Kochta, Christoph Bruckner, Fouad Asfour, Manfred Unger

Eine Koproduktion von Wiener Tanz- und Kunstbewegung und brut Wien. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien.

Biografien

Roland Rauschmeier ist ein in Österreich lebender deutscher Konzeptkünstler. Außer auf seine Arbeit mit digitalen Medien hat er sich zuletzt auf Performances und die Veranstaltungsreihe „2nd Thursdays“ konzentriert, bei der er Künstler*innen einlädt, ihre Arbeiten im Atelier der Wiener Tanz- und Kunstbewegung zu präsentieren. Roland Rauschmeier arbeitet mit dem deutschen Filmemacher Ulu Braun unter dem künstlerischen Pseudonym BitteBitteJaJa und mit der französischen Choreografin Anne Juren zusammen. Bereits seit seiner Jugend hat er eine Affinität zur Schauspielerei.  

Der britische Künstler Alex Bailey (Pony) lebt in Wien und arbeitet seit 2015 vorwiegend im Bereich Tanz und Performance. Nach einem Abschluss in Fotografie studierte er am Sandberg Instituut in Amsterdam, wo er Krõõt Juurak kennenlernte. Gemeinsam konzipierten sie 2014 das Projekt „Performances for Pets“. Seit 2016 ist Alex Bailey immer wieder an Tanz- und Performanceproduktionen beteiligt.  

Pasi Antero Mäkelä ist ein finnischer Performer, Choreograf und Musiker. Seine Performances basieren großteils auf Butoh-Tanz. Mäkelä selbst hat eine finnische Version des Butoh entwickelt. In den letzten Jahren arbeitete er an Performance- und Musikprojekten in Finnland, Tschechien, Deutschland und Österreich.  

Camille Chanel, geboren in Paris, studierte in Berlin und Paris und schrieb ihre Masterarbeit über das Unbehagen des Zuschauers. Aktuell arbeitet sie auch mit Lise Lendais, Fanni Futterknecht, Elisabeth B. Tambwe und Sarah Blumenfeld und übersetzt Theaterstücke junger österreichischer Dramatiker*innen ins Französische. Sie lebt in Wien.  

Richard John Jones ist Absolvent des Central Saint Martins College of Art in London. In seinen Arbeiten befasst er sich mit der Bildung von Gemeinschaften, Strategien von Autonomie, der Geschichte antiassimilatorischer queerer Bewegungen, Praktiken der Hexenkunst und des Neuheidentums. Er lebt in Marseille.  

Alexander Matthias Kosnopfl, geboren in Salzburg, studierte Theaterwissenschaft, Dramaturgie und Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Er arbeitete am Burgtheater Wien und am Theater an der Wien in der Kunstvermittlung und später als Dramaturg für die israelisch-britische A2 Company.  

Andreas Lendais, geboren in Hallein, ist ausgebildeter Bildhauer. Er lebt in Wien und arbeitet als freier Lichttechniker und -designer u. a. für die Wiener Festwochen, die Viennale, das Tanzquartier Wien, die Salzburger Festspiele und den steirischer herbst Graz.