9 – 19 June 2022 in Mülheim an der Ruhr, Cologne and Düsseldorf
DE / EN
Programm-PDF
Newsletter
Contact

Body of Knowledge (at home)

Theatre visits the audience at home! The listeners are connected with each other and eight teenagers from Australia by phone. In physical isolation a touching dialogue ensues between generations – about intimacy, sexuality, fears for the future and grief.

05.06.21 22:30–23:45

SOLD OUT

06.06.21 13:00–14:15

SOLD OUT

11.06.21 22:30–23:45

SOLD OUT

13.06.21 11:00–12:15

SOLD OUT

13.06.21 13:00–14:15

SOLD OUT

Phone call + video conference
Language: English

© Pier Carthew
© Pier Carthew
© Pier Carthew

The original version of this piece successfully toured the stages of Australia and Europe in 2019. Against the background of the pandemic Samara Hersch has devised a new version of her work that enables members of the audience to participate from home. Connected by digital signals, young people and grown ups exchange knowledge and experiences and, protected by anonymity, accept the uncertain terms of an encounter with strangers.

To participate in the performance, you need a computer and a telephone with access to WhatsApp. You will also receive a package of props by post. To ask for the number that you can be contacted on by WhatsApp and your postal address, we will send you an email after you have bought your ticket. If necessary, please check your spam folder.

Credits

Lead Artist: Samara Hersch

Creative Technology: Fred Rodrigues, Nathan Fain
Artistic Associate: Cassandra Fumi
Dramaturgy: Maria Rößler
Production Support: Bec Reid
Photography: Pier Carthew

Production

BODY OF KNOWLEDGE was produced as part of Be SpectACTive! in co-production with the SICK! Festival, Liveworks Festival of Experimental Art and Carriageworks. The “At Home” version is a co-production by the International Summer Festival Kampnagel, Hamburg and the Zurich Theater Spektakel.

Biography

Samara Hersch is a theatre-maker, director and artist whose practice explores the intersections of contemporary performance and social engagement. She recently completed her Masters degree at Das Theatre in Amsterdam. She has a particular interest in cross-generational discourse and non-hierarchical forms of exchanging knowledge. Her work WE ALL KNOW WHAT’S HAPPENING, created with Lara Thoms and seven children from Melbourne, won the ZKB Encouragement Award and the Audience Prize at the Zürcher Theater Spektakel 2019 as well as the Green Room Award for the best contemporary and experimental performance in Melbourne.

9.–19. Juni 2022 in Mülheim an der Ruhr, Köln und Düsseldorf
DE / EN
Programm-PDF
Newsletter
Kontakt

Body of Knowledge (at home)

Das Theater kommt zum Publikum nach Hause! Per Telefon sind die Zuhörer*innen untereinander und mit acht Teenagern aus Australien verbunden. In körperlicher Vereinzelung entsteht ein berührender Dialog zwischen den Generationen – über Nähe, Sexualität, Zukunftsängste und Trauer.

05.06.21 22:30–23:45

AUSVERKAUFT

06.06.21 13:00–14:15

AUSVERKAUFT

11.06.21 22:30–23:45

AUSVERKAUFT

13.06.21 11:00–12:15

AUSVERKAUFT

13.06.21 13:00–14:15

AUSVERKAUFT

Telefongespräch + Videokonferenz

Sprache: Englisch

© Pier Carthew
© Pier Carthew
© Pier Carthew

Die ursprüngliche Version des Stücks tourte 2019 erfolgreich auf den Bühnen Australiens und Europas. Vor dem Hintergrund der Pandemie hat Samara Hersch eine Version ihrer Arbeit entworfen, die es den Zuschauer*innen ermöglicht, von zu Hause aus teilzunehmen. Über digitale Signale verbunden tauschen Jugendliche und Erwachsene Wissen und Erfahrungen untereinander aus und lassen sich im Schutz der Anonymität auf die unsicheren Gefilde einer Begegnung mit Unbekannten ein.

Um an der Performance teilnehmen zu können, benötigen Sie einen Computer sowie ein Telefon mit WhatsApp-Zugang. Außerdem erhalten Sie per Post ein Päckchen mit Requisiten. Zur Abfrage der Nummer, unter der Sie bei WhatsApp zu erreichen sind, sowie Ihrer Postadresse senden wir Ihnen nach dem Ticketkauf eine E-Mail. Bitte schauen Sie ggf. auch in Ihrem Spam-Ordner nach.

Credits

Künstlerische Leitung: Samara Hersch

Creative Technology: Fred Rodrigues, Nathan Fain
Künstlerische Mitarbeit: Cassandra Fumi
Dramaturgie: Maria Rößler
Produktionsassistenz: Bec Reid
Photos: Pier Carthew

Produktion

BODY OF KNOWLEDGE wurde realisiert im Rahmen von Be SpectACTive! in Koproduktion mit SICK! Festival, Liveworks Festival of Experimental Art und Carriageworks. Die „At Home“-Version ist eine Koproduktion von Internationales Sommerfestival Kampnagel, Hamburg, und Zürcher Theater Spektakel.

Biografie

Samara Hersch ist Theatermacherin, Regisseurin und Künstlerin, deren Praxis die Intersektionen von zeitgenössischer Performance und gesellschaftlichem Engagement erforscht. Sie schloss kürzlich ihren Master am DAS Theatre in Amsterdam ab. Ihr Interesse gilt dem generationenübergreifenden Diskurs und nichthierarchischen Formen des Wissensaustauschs. Ihre Arbeit WE ALL KNOW WHAT’S HAPPENING, die sie gemeinsam mit Lara Thoms und sieben Kindern aus Melbourne realisierte, wurde mit dem ZKB Förderpreis und dem Publikumspreis des Zürcher Theater Spektakel 2019 sowie mit dem Green Room Award für die beste zeitgenössische und experimentelle Performance in Melbourne ausgezeichnet.