Impulse Theater Festival

Save the date

13— 23 June 2019

Apollon

Six women empower themselves through radical body art. A spectacle of physical virtuosity, both beautiful and spine-tingling, featuring black humour and circus arts.

15.06.18 21:30 – 23:10 Tickets Schedule
16.06.18 20:00 – 21:40 Tickets Schedule

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Stage 1
Language: not language-based

Special on 15.06. after the performance:
Party: APOLLON X CALAMITY GIRL

© Radovan Dranga
© Radovan Dranga
© Radovan Dranga
© Radovan Dranga
© Radovan Dranga

The works of Florentina Holzinger are characterized by uncompromising bodies. Kick boxing, ballet, weightlifting and acrobatics: in a never-ending tour de force she acquires challenging physical skills that she both masters and destroys on stage.
In APOLLON Holzinger dissects the genre of the freak show and lets it collide with neoclassical ballet, the body art of the 60s and all kinds of trash and pop culture. Where are we here? In an occult fitness studio? At a fairground? Or in the heavenly kingdom, populated by divine muses? Armed with pointe shoes and huge dumbbells Holzinger and her performers create radical body images of rapturous beauty – and use feminist humour that knows no taboos and daring tricks to deconstruct the myth of the perfect woman.

Credits

Concept and Performance: Florentina Holzinger
With: Renée Copraij, Evelyn Frantti, Florentina Holzinger, Annina Lara Maria Machaz, Xana Novais, Maria Netti Nüganen
Sound Design: Stephan Schneider
Dramaturgy: Sara Ostertag, Michele Rizzo
Stage Design: Nikola Knežević
Coaching: Btissame Amadour
Consultants: Manu Scheiwiller, Fernando Belfiore
Technical Direction: Bram Geldhof, Anne Meeussen, Maarten Van Trigt
Contact for touring enquiries: Marijke Vandersmissen, marijke.vandersmissen[a]campo.nu

Production

A CAMPO production in co-production with Münchner Kammerspiele, La Bâtie – Festival de Genève, Frascati Producties Amsterdam, steirischer herbst Graz, Sophiensaele Berlin,  Künstlerhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt. With support from the Cultural Department of the City of Vienna.

Biography

Florentina Holzinger studied Choreography at the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. In all her works she consciously plays on shifting boundaries between high culture and entertainment. From 2011 to 2015 she produced four works together with Vincent Riebeek that won them both a reputation as “the most provocative emerging choreographers”. In her solo piece ‘Recovery’ (2015) Holzinger processed the trauma of a severe on stage accident. Since then Holzinger has also offered martial arts training for artists.

Impulse Theater Festival

Mülheim an der Ruhr, Düsseldorf und Köln

13.— 24. Juni 2018

Apollon

Sechs Frauen üben Selbstermächtigung durch radikale Körperkunst. Ein Spektakel physischer Virtuosität zwischen Schönheit und Schauder, schwarzem Humor und Zirkuskunst.

15.06.18 21:30 – 23:10 Tickets Tagesprogramm
16.06.18 20:00 – 21:40 Tickets Tagesprogramm

Ringlokschuppen Ruhr, Bühne 1
Sprache: nicht sprachbasiert

Extra:
15.06. im Anschluss an die Vorstellung Party: APOLLON X CALAMITY GIRL

© Radovan Dranga
© Radovan Dranga
© Radovan Dranga
© Radovan Dranga
© Radovan Dranga

Die Arbeiten von Florentina Holzinger sind geprägt durch kompromisslose Körper. Kickboxen, Ballett, Gewichtheben und Akrobatik: In einer nicht enden wollenden Tour de Force eignet sie sich herausfordernde Körpertechniken an, die sie auf der Bühne zugleich meistert und zerstört.  
In APOLLON seziert Holzinger das Genre der Freakshow und lässt es mit Verweisen auf neoklassisches Ballett, die Body Art der 60er-Jahre und allerlei Trash und Popkultur kollidieren. Wo sind wir hier: in einem okkulten Fitness-Studio? Auf einem Jahrmarkt? Oder in einem himmlischen Reich, bevölkert von göttlichen Musen? Bewaffnet mit Spitzenschuhen und massiven Hanteln erzeugen Holzinger und ihre Performerinnen radikale Körperbilder von entrückter Schönheit – und dekonstruieren mit tabulosem feministischem Witz und waghalsigen Tricks den Mythos von der perfekten Frau.

Credits

Konzept und Performance: Florentina Holzinger
Mit: Renée Copraij, Evelyn Frantti, Florentina Holzinger, Annina Lara Maria Machaz, Xana Novais, Maria Netti Nüganen
Sounddesign: Stephan Schneider
Dramaturgie: Sara Ostertag, Michele Rizzo
Bühnenbild: Nikola Knežević
Coaching: Btissame Amadour
Beratung: Manu Scheiwiller, Fernando Belfiore
Technische Leitung: Bram Geldhof, Anne Meeussen, Maarten Van Trigt
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Marijke Vandersmissen, marijke.vandersmissen[a]campo.nu

Produktion

Eine Produktion von CAMPO in Koproduktion mit Münchner Kammerspiele, La Bâtie – Festival de Genève, Frascati Producties Amsterdam, steirischer herbst Graz, Sophiensæle Berlin, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt am Main. Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien.

Biografie

Florentina Holzinger studierte Choreografie an der School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. In all ihren Arbeiten spielt sie bewusst mit der Grenzverschiebung zwischen Hochkultur und Entertainment. Von 2011 bis 2015 realisierte sie vier Arbeiten mit Vincent Riebeek, die den beiden auf Anhieb den Ruf als „provokanteste Nachwuchschoreograf*innen“ einbrachten. In ihrer Soloarbeit „Recovery“ (2015) verarbeitete Florentina Holzinger das Trauma eines schweren Bühnenunfalls. Seitdem bietet sie auch Martial-Arts-Training für Künstler*innen an.