Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Cologne and Mülheim an der Ruhr

13— 23 June 2019

All Inclusive


Suffering can be turned into art and therefore money. ALL INCLUSIVE uses this insight to develop a cutting satire on how easily a Western audience may consume war and violence.

14.06.19 21:00 – 22:30 Tickets Schedule
16.06.19 19:30 – 21:00 Tickets Schedule

FFT Kammerspiele
Language: English with simultaneous translation into German (14.06.) and Arabic (16.06.)

Special on 16.06. after the performance:
Audience discussion in German with the artists and Dr. Gregor Jansen, Artistic director Kunsthalle Düsseldorf. Chaired by Kathrin Tiedemann, Artistic director FFT Düsseldorf

© Julian Hetzel
© Helena Verheye
© Helena Verheye
© Rolf Arnold

The audience looks at an exhibition space in which a guide shows a group of visitors art works that are concerned with the aestheticisation of violence. What can be seen are realistic representations of violence and abstractions, objects that are turned into art by acts of violence on the part of visitors to the exhibition as well as remnants of actual violence. Who has the right to make use of these works? The artist who thought them up or the people who actually experienced the violence that is being referred to here and have even paid for it with their own lives?

ALL INCLUSIVE uses its own example to show how in art even the greatest horror can be commercialised. Art appears to be a medium that transposes gruesome reality into clever concepts and uses these to find answers to the big questions – if Julian Hetzel’s guide is to be believed. The theatre audience is free to do so. But does the same apply to the group of visitors on stage – who appear to come from Syria? And why are they here? An evening where there are no simple answers.

Credits

Director: Julian Hetzel
Performers: Kristien de Proost, Edoardo Ripani, Geert Belpaeme and Rahaf Al Wattar, Majd Assassa, Mortaza Husseini, Hanni Kayali, Barbra Mekhail (14.06.) / Rahaf Al Wattar, Rami Lazkani, Ajmal Mayel, Barbra Mekhail, Omar Mohamad (16.06.)
Dramaturg: Miguel Angel Melgares
Artistic advice: Sodja Lotker
Costumes: Anne-Catherine Kunz
Production assistance: Sabine Mangeleer
Technical: Anne Meeussen & Piet Depoorter
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Marijke Vandersmissen, marijke.vandersmissen[a]campo.nu

Production

Produced by CAMPO in collaboration with Ism & Heit. Co-produced by Frascati Productions, Schauspiel Leipzig, Münchner Kammerspiele. Thanks to Grace Al-Ahmar & Liam Alzafari (rubble art), Hannes Waldschütz (design spin art machine), Niklas Hamman (3 art design) & Printstudio 868

Special thanks to Ahmad Alhaj-Karim, Ahmed M I Soboh, Alaa Howija, Babak Tolouei, Ban Al-Shaikhli, Dubravko Butina, Emad Khazal, Fadi Rajab, Ghassan Al Najjar, Mina Ahmadyaar, Mohannad F Khalaf, Nadia Alhassanat, Nasrudin Alham, Nazila Bahador, Patrick Debyser, Yara Ward a. o.

Biography

Julian Hetzel was born in the Black Forest and now lives in the Netherlands. He studied Visual Communications at the Bauhaus Universität Weimar and Theatre at DasArts in Amsterdam. Hetzel devises works that operate between theatre, music and media, often with a political dimension and a fictional documentary approach. These are produced and presented internationally. In 2017 he won the VSCD Mime Award for ‘The Automated Sniper’, that was presented in the Impulse Showcase in 2018. Since 2018 he has been an associate artist at the CAMPO Arts Centre in Ghent.

Impulse Theater Festival

Düsseldorf, Köln und Mülheim an der Ruhr

13.— 23. Juni 2019

All Inclusive


Aus Leid kann Kunst und damit Geld werden. ALL INCLUSIVE entwickelt aus dieser Erkenntnis eine böse Satire über die Leichtigkeit, mit der ein westliches Publikum Krieg und Gewalt konsumiert.

14.06.19 21:00 – 22:30 Tickets Tagesprogramm
16.06.19 19:30 – 21:00 Tickets Tagesprogramm

FFT Kammerspiele
Sprache: Englisch mit deutscher (14.06.) und arabischer (16.06.) Simultanübersetzung

Extra:
16.06. im Anschluss an die Vorstellung Publikumsgespräch in deutscher Sprache mit dem Künstler und Dr. Gregor Jansen, Künstlerischer Leiter Kunsthalle Düsseldorf. Moderation: Kathrin Tiedemann, Künstlerische Leiterin FFT Düsseldorf

© Julian Hetzel
© Helena Verheye
© Helena Verheye
© Rolf Arnold

Das Publikum schaut auf einen Ausstellungsraum, in dem eine Kunstvermittlerin einer Gruppe von Besucher*innen Kunstwerke zeigt, die sich mit der Ästhetisierung von Gewalt auseinandersetzen. Zu sehen sind realistische Darstellungen von Gewalt und Abstraktionen, Objekte, die erst durch Gewaltakte der Ausstellungsbesucher*innen zu Kunst werden, sowie Überbleibsel realer Gewalt. Wer hat das Recht, diese Werke zu verwerten? Der Künstler, der sie sich ausgedacht hat, oder die Menschen, die die Gewalt, auf die hier Bezug genommen wird, real erfahren oder sogar mit dem Leben bezahlt haben?

ALL INCLUSIVE zeigt am eigenen Beispiel, wie in der Kunst auch der größte Horror kommerzialisiert werden kann. Kunst erscheint als Medium, das die grausame Realität in kluge Konzepte überführt und darüber Antworten auf die großen Fragen findet — wenn man Julian Hetzels Kunstvermittlerin Glauben schenken mag. Dem Theaterpublikum steht dies frei. Gilt dies auch für die Besucher*innengruppe auf der Bühne — die angeblich aus Syrien stammt? Und warum ist sie hier? Ein Abend, der keine einfachen Antworten gibt.

Credits

Regie: Julian Hetzel
Performer: Kristien de Proost, Edoardo Ripani, Geert Belpaeme und N. N.
Dramaturg: Miguel Angel Melgares
Künstlerische Beratung: Sodja Lotker
Kostüme: Anne-Catherine Kunz
Produktionsassistenz: Sabine Mangeleer
Technik: Anne Meeussen & Piet Depoortere
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Marijke Vandersmissen, marijke.vandersmissen[a]campo.nu

Produktion

Produziert von CAMPO in Zusammenarbeit mit Ism & Heit. Koproduziert von Frascati Productions, Schauspiel Leipzig, Münchner Kammerspiele. Dank an Grace Al-Ahmar & Liam Alzafari (rubble art), Hannes Waldschütz (design spin art machine), Niklas Hamman (3 art design) & Printstudio 868

Besonderer Dank an Ahmad Alhaj-Karim, Ahmed M I Soboh, Alaa Howija, Babak Tolouei, Ban Al-Shaikhli, Dubravko Butina, Emad Khazal, Fadi Rajab, Ghassan Al Najjar, Mina Ahmadyaar, Mohannad F Khalaf, Nadia Alhassanat, Nasrudin Alham, Nazila Bahador, Patrick Debyser, Yara Ward u. a.

Biografie

Julian Hetzel wurde im Schwarzwald geboren und lebt zurzeit in den Niederlanden. Er studierte Visuelle Kommunikation an der Bauhaus Universität Weimar und Theater bei DasArts in Amsterdam. Hetzel entwickelt Arbeiten zwischen Theater, Musik und Medien, häufig mit politischer Dimension und dokufiktionalem Ansatz. Seine Arbeiten werden international produziert und präsentiert. 2017 erhielt er für „The Automated Sniper“, das 2018 im Impulse-Showcase zu sehen war, den VSCD Mime Award. Seit 2018 ist er assoziierter Künstler des Kunstencentrum CAMPO in Gent.