Impulse Theater Festival

Cologne, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4–14 June 2020

ABOLIREA FAMILIEI / DIE ABSCHAFFUNG DER FAMILIE


What does “family” mean in the 21st century? Seven stories from the post-Soviet Republic of Moldova dispel all the idyllic clichés and instead show the reality of poverty and oppression. A theatrical exorcism of capitalism and patriarchy.

studiobühneköln, Bühne
Language: Moldovan Romanian, Russian, Romany with German and English surtitles

© Dorothea Tuch
© Dorothea Tuch
© Dorothea Tuch

At the beginning of the 1990s the Republic of Moldova declared its independence from the Soviet Union. However, the newly-created state was unable to provide for the welfare of its citizens. Many left their homeland to work abroad. Parents had to leave their children behind, couples became strangers, families fell apart. The government offered no help and unflinchingly maintained its Christian-influenced rhetoric about the superiority of the traditional family. ABOLIREA FAMILIEI dispels such idyllic clichés of care, love and support. The performers tell very different family stories. They tell of mothers and fathers both absent and present, of women deprived of their rights, of illness and death, of domestic violence and of a life full of sacrifices, but also of families that go beyond those created by a married heterosexual couple and of those who succeed in escaping discrimination and poverty.

And the performers repeatedly come together as a chorus whose collective voice evokes a different future. They savagely curse monogamy, the patriarchy, the state, private property and capitalism. In their roles as modern witches, as children, parents and siblings, as a solidary community.

Credits

A performance by: Nicoleta Esinencu, Antosea Darca and Elena Anmeghichean, Cătălina Bucos, Doina-Romanța Dochitan, Nora Dorogan, Ciprian Marinescu, Kira Semionov, Elena Sîrbu, Doriana Talmazan, Artiom Zavadovsky
Performers: Elena Anmeghichean, Cătălina Bucos, Doina-Romanța Dochitan, Nicoleta Esinencu, Elena Sîrbu, Doriana Talmazan, Artiom Zavadovsky
Lighting Design: Ulrich Kellermann
Sound Design: Janis Klinkhammer
Dramaturgical Consultant: Aenne Quiñones
Production Management: Anna Krauß
Technical Direction: Annette Becker
Contact for touring enquiries: Anna Krauß, a.krauss@hebbel-am-ufer.de

Production

A performance by: Nicoleta Esinencu, Antosea Darca and Elena Anmeghichean, Cătălina Bucos, Doina-Romanța Dochitan, Nora Dorogan, Ciprian Marinescu, Kira Semionov, Elena Sîrbu, Doriana Talmazan, Artiom Zavadovsky
Performers: Elena Anmeghichean, Cătălina Bucos, Doina-Romanța Dochitan, Nicoleta Esinencu, Elena Sîrbu, Doriana Talmazan, Artiom Zavadovsky
Sound Design: Janis Klinkhammer
Dramaturgical Consultant: Aenne Quiñones
Production Management: Anna Krauß
Technical Direction: Annette Becker
Contact for touring enquiries: Anna Krauß, a.krauss[a]hebbel-am-ufer.de

Biography

Nicoleta Esinencu is a writer and director who lives and works in Chișinău. After a scholarship at Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart she became internationally renowned with ‘FUCK YOU, Eu.ro.Pa!’ and won the Romanian dramAcum Theatre Prize. In 2010 Esinencu co-founded the independent initiative teatru-spălătorie for an alternative arts space in Chișinău. Her theatre projects consider social reality in the republic of Moldova and the associated contradictions of the post-Soviet era from a critical perspective on the whole of European history. Since 2012 Nicoleta Esinencu has consistently collaborated with the HAU Berlin, and in 2019/20 she was a guest of the DAAD’s Berlin Artist in Residence programme.

Impulse Theater Festival

Köln, Düsseldorf, Mülheim an der Ruhr

4.–14. Juni 2020

ABOLIREA FAMILIEI / DIE ABSCHAFFUNG DER FAMILIE


Was bedeutet „Familie“ im 21. Jahrhundert? Sieben Geschichten aus der postsowjetischen Republik Moldau räumen auf mit idyllischen Klischees, zeigen stattdessen die Realität von Armut und Unterdrückung. Eine theatrale Austreibung von Kapitalismus und Patriarchat.

10.06.20 20:00 – 22:00 Tagesprogramm
13.06.20 19:00 – 21:00 Tagesprogramm

studiobühneköln, Bühne
Sprache: moldauisches Rumänisch, Russisch, Romani mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

© Dorothea Tuch
© Dorothea Tuch
© Dorothea Tuch

Anfang der 1990er-Jahre erklärt die Republik Moldau ihre Unabhängigkeit von der Sowjetunion. Doch dem neu geschaffenen Staat gelingt es nicht, für das Wohl seiner Bürger*innen zu sorgen. Viele verlassen ihre Heimat, um im Ausland zu arbeiten. Eltern müssen ihre Kinder zurücklassen, Paare entfremden sich, Familien fallen auseinander. Die Regierung bietet keine Hilfe an und setzt unbeirrt ihre christlich geprägte Rhetorik von der traditionellen Familie als höchstem Gut fort. ABOLIREA FAMILIEI räumt auf mit idyllischen Vorstellungen von Sorge, Liebe und Unterstützung. Die Darsteller*innen erzählen andere Familiengeschichten. Sie erzählen von an- und abwesenden Müttern und Vätern, von entrechteten Frauen, von Krankheit und Tod, von häuslicher Gewalt und von einem entbehrungsreichen Leben, aber auch von Familien jenseits der, die aus einem verheirateten heterosexuellen Paar entsteht, und von der gelungenen Flucht aus Diskriminierung und Armut.

Und immer wieder erklingt eine kollektive Stimme, finden die Darsteller*innen sich zu einem Chor zusammen, der eine andere Zukunft heraufbeschwört. Kämpferisch verfluchen sie Monogamie, Patriarchat, den Staat, Privateigentum und Kapitalismus. Als moderne Hexen, als Kinder, Eltern und Geschwister, als solidarische Gemeinschaft.

Credits

Eine Performance von: Nicoleta Esinencu, Antosea Darca und Elena Anmeghichean, Cătălina Bucos, Doina-Romanța Dochitan, Nora Dorogan, Ciprian Marinescu, Kira Semionov, Elena Sîrbu, Doriana Talmazan, Artiom Zavadovsky
Performer*innen: Elena Anmeghichean, Cătălina Bucos, Doina-Romanța Dochitan, Nicoleta Esinencu, Elena Sîrbu, Doriana Talmazan, Artiom Zavadovsky
Lichtdesign: Ulrich Kellermann
Sounddesign: Janis Klinkhammer
Dramaturgische Beratung: Aenne Quiñones
Produktionsleitung: Anna Krauß
Technische Leitung: Annette Becker
Kontakt für Gastspielanfragen: Anna Krauß, a.krauss[a]hebbel-am-ufer.de

Produktion

Produktion: HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Koproduktion: FFT Düsseldorf, teatru-spălătorie. Gefördert im Rahmen des Bündnisses internationaler Produktionshäuser von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien und dem Goethe-Institut. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins (n.b.k.) und des Freundeskreises des HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Nicoleta Esinencu ist Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.

Biografie

Nicoleta Esinencu lebt und arbeitet als Autorin und Regisseurin in Chișinău. Nach einem Stipendium an der Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart wurde sie mit „FUCK YOU, Eu.ro.Pa!“ international bekannt und gewann den rumänischen dramAcum-Theaterpreis. 2010 war Esinencu Mitbegründerin der unabhängigen Initiative teatru-spălătorie für einen alternativen Kunstraum in Chișinău. Ihre Theaterprojekte betrachten die gesellschaftliche Realität in der Republik Moldau und die damit verbundenen Widersprüche der postsowjetischen Zeit unter einem kritischen Blickwinkel auf die gesamteuropäische Geschichte. Seit 2012 arbeitet Nicoleta Esinencu kontinuierlich mit dem HAU Berlin zusammen, 2019/20 als Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.